Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smothered Turkey Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smothered Turkey Wings

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2012

      Sooo good and easy!!!! Halfed the recipe, but not the spices. For the gravy, I used 1-1/2 cans of chicken broth with about 5T of flour. Perfect consistency. Used only 1/4 cup of milk. Wow! This was

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      I am a keenly critical soul food lover and many recipes are trash which appear to be part of the genre. However, this recipe is the gospel. I didn't use the milk at all and I didn't add a thing to the gravy. I did have to make a bit more seasoning for the turkey legs but I just followed the instructions as directed.I poured most of the stock out when I put the gravy in the pot with the turkey legs. And I only cooked the turkey legs for an hour and a half (maybe 1 hour 45 minutes as I did not want the turkey to dry out. When I finally pulled this dish from the oven and served it....OMG!!! The company raved over it....The family raved. And there I was looking like a master chef with such and easy recipe to follow. Try it and I don't see how you can be disappointed. Company begged me for the recipe. It was crazy! Will DEFINITELY do this again. And don't listen to comments of people who say they will do this without the gravy next time. The gravy is what makes this work. Just keep adding your flour and make the gravy to your liking in terms of thickness. If you follow the gravy recipe as printed it will probably be too thin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      I founf a faster way to make the sauce. Use a can of cream celery, can of cream of mushroom and 1 cup chicken stock with 2 cups milk. follow the rest of the ingredients for the sauce. The thyme is what makes the sauce pop. If you want more of a gravy, don't add as much milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      I followed the recipe and it turned out amazing!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      The only one thing I changed in this recipe was using a hand blender and breaking down the celery and onions, keeping them in the sauce. I also added another pinch of poultry seasoning and sage for further flavor to my sauce, excellent! Turn your turkey wings into a classic dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

    • on July 20, 2012

      WOW this recipe really rocks! Boy howdy.. this one goes into our permanent "Tried and True" recipe favorites! Thanks so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      These turkey wings are FANTASTIC! My house smelled so good--like Thanksgiving or mama's cooking. I followed the recipe to a "T" with an exception for the onion powder, which I didn't have, and which I substituted by sprinkling fried onions over the tops. It turned out so delicious--just as tender as one could hope. I made a mushroom risotto to accompany it and added fresh mushrooms to that. The gravy then went well into the risotto. The turkey/mushroom risotto/gravy bites blended just perfectly together. Yes!!! Baked turkey smells so much more exciting than chicken. I am hooked. Thanks for this recipe. I'm pregnant and now feel I have an official mama recipe under my belt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      I didn't care for this recipe. I was expecting more of a gravy instead of a sauce. I followed the recipe exactly except I added two more tablespoons of flour prior to adding the milk and after adding the milk I still thought it was a bit runny. I also thought that there was too much butter because there was plenty on the top of the dish when I took it out of the oven. Probably will not be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      This was sooo good! The sauce was soo delicious! but the sauce was too thin so it did need about 4 more tablespoons of flour. My only problem was that the turkey was kinda dry, i thought it would have been falling off the bone. But other than that the flavor was amazing! i will def be makin this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      FANTASTIC!!! The only change I made was to use Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Mix in place of the flour because I have Celiac. Oh, and I forgot to strain the mixture, but that didn't seem to matter to use. Will ABSOLUTELY make this again! Very frugal meal, super tasty and easy to make!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      We enjoyed this recipe. The flavor was wonderful and the turkey cooked just right. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Excellant! Reciepe came out Great. Taste really Good. Wife loved it. I will make it again on those special occasions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Excellent recipe. We used this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. My mom said that they were the tastiest turkey wings that she ever ate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      I made this recipe last night. As a southern girl, my friends all assumed I knew how to make this dish. I love smothered turkey wings, but had always left that up to my mom and grandmom to make. So of course I searched for a recipe I thought I could pull off and fool my friends with, and boy did I hit the jackpot with this one! My friends all wanted some to take home, there wasn't enough!!! Most of the reviews have their own little things they switched or did differently, but since it was my first time making it, I followed it to a tee, just so I could see how good the original recipe was. It was DELICIOUS!!! I have already been asked to make this again next week for a pot luck. The only advice I will give, is, if you like a thicker gravy, put about 2-3 more tablespoons of flour. And please feel free to add salt and pepper to suit your taste buds, but the recipe is really quite good on its on. The extra gravy went very well over rice. I'm going to go with mashed potatoes next week! Thanks for the great recipe and good eats to all those who try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This recipie is full of flaver and the turkey wings were falling off the bone. My family all had clean plates. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      this was ok. I was expecting something different like the picture I guess. it seems like the cooking time is way to long that is almost 2 hours for some wings! I also thought there is too much liquid in the sauce. My wings were a little dry and the sauce didn't stick to them at all since it was so thin. Maybe i will just try again without sauce next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      This recipe looked great. I changed around the recipe a little by adding about a tablespoon of jerk seasoning on the wings. To the sauce, I substituted 2 diced cloves of garlic for the celery and didn't add the milk and flour. It still came out great. My husband and kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I'm a Southern boy so I know Soul Food when I see and eat it!!! This is fantastic and is even better than what I pay $5.50 (one wing) and 2 sides and a cornbread muffin for....I add the leftover baking seasonings to add to the sauce (actually a cream of celery soup); added extra celery and used a couple of garlic cloves! Used 2 cans of chicken broth and a little salt....a nonstick pot would be helpful too. Right on, Hey Jude!!!! Best served over white steamed rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Absolutely delicious. I used 3 cloves of fresh garlic instead of garlic and onion powders, and oregano and rosemary (abundant in ur back yard) instead of poultry seasoning. In step 3, because I had run out of celery, I used 2 bay leaves, and again rosemary and oregano twigs; the flavour turned out to be supurb. Will definitely cook it again and would like to try it with other meats, such as chicken drumsticks (maybe bake less time), lamb, beef, or pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smothered Turkey Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (395 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 756.7
     
    Calories from Fat 470
    62%
    Total Fat 52.3 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 20.3 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 231.2 mg
    77%
    Sodium 1490.4 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 55.9 g
    111%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    turkey

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites