Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smothered Pork Chops Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smothered Pork Chops

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2003

      This is very good! The flavor is wonderful. My hubby who never says anything is good. Said a couple times how much he liked it. My microwave does not brown. So I did it in a pan. I forgot the katsup... I don't think I would use the katsup next time. I wouldn't want to ruin the flavor I got...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      Simple ingredients that give a wonderful flavor to pork. I browned the chops in an oven ready skillet first, added the rest of the ingredients and stuck it right in the oven....easy! Especially appealing to me, too, was having all of the ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      I made this last night for dinner for my husband and myself and we both loved it! This sauce was so flavorful! I thickened up a portion of it to serve on the porkchops, and the remainder of the sauce I poured over brown rice--delicious!! I browned the chops on the stove-top and baked them for 45 minutes. They were perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      These were very good I did the same thing w/ the cornstarch as SoupCookie did,What a difference :) Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      These were very enjoyable! My sauce was quite runny as I made a boo-boo with the stock so after baking in the oven I put the sauce in a pot, added about 1 tsp of cornstarch and boiled it on medium heat for about 4 min.'s. I let the sauce sit for 5 min. and when it cooled it was perfect! I am looking forward to trying this out on the BBQ to!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      This was good. I browned 9 pork chops in a skillet, then baked them at 325 for 30 minutes. I doubled the recipe for the sauce and they were very moist on the inside. I'll probably add some cornstarch and cook some rice for leftovers tomorrow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I got a very large pork loin on sale which I had cut into 1 inch butterflied chops and had divided into packages of 6-8 chops. I doubled the sauce, used garlic powder rather than garlic salt, and added a little bit of balsamic vinegar to the sauce. I covered the pan with aluminum foil while baking, after 45 minutes, I then turned the chops over. Removed the foil and baked for the last 15 minutes. I then drained the sauce into a small saucepan and thickened it with cornstarch and served over the chops. It was very tasty and I will definitely be making it again. I served it with hashbrown casserole and steamed broccoli. I am sure the leftovers will be great, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      These were absolutely delicious. I did mine a little different. I put them directly in the casserole dish and poured the liquids over it. I baked it on about 275F for 2+ hours (I don't time it; I just test it to see when it's fork tender). The sauce isn't thick, but that works for me. I use the sauce to just put over the chops, and not rice, noodles, potatoes. This will be one I make over and over. Thanks for a delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      This sauce compliments pork perfectly and would also be good on chicken. I doubled the recipe too and decreased the cooking time by about 10-15 mins since I browned the chops well in a frypan. The result was delicious and tender. This recipe is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      Very high score for easy and tasty!! I left out the honey and ketchup since my partner is doing low carb and it was still excellent!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      since i often have to make dishes ahead and reheat later, this was perfect! the pork chops stayed very moist (unbelievable for pork chops i know)! i didn't have honey on hand at the time and tried making "sub honey" with sugar and water - but it just wasn't the same! to all - use the honey, it makes a difference, but good either way!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      Tasty sauce! I used only 1 boneless chop so I cut the ingredients down. I didn't brown, just put in the oven and baked for 30 minutes. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Wow, wow, wow... this was yummy. We had this for dinner last night and it was awesome. I browned the chops on the stove top before placing them in the oven. I used Soy Sauce Substitute #216380, mixed in all the other ingredients and tossed in the microwave to warm and blend before pouring onto the pork chops. They cooked in about 40-45 minutes. I thickened up the sauce with a little cornstarch and coated the pork chops well before serving and put the sauce on rice. Oh My Goodness!! To die for... I just might double the sauce next time. Thank you so much for a great recipe! Will be making this for company next week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Great recipe Moe!!! As you can see from the picture, we had it with vegies & rice. It was a little salty, but I think that may be the brand of soy I have, because most recipes lately have come out a tiny bit salty for us! We really enjoyed it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Made per directions except just substituted garlic powder in place of the garlic salt, since I didnt have the reduced sodium soy sauce. As many others, I browned the chops stove-top instead of microwave. Two suggestions I will use in the future from other reviewers (that I didnt do this time) is to double the sauce (it is really good) and thicken the sauce with a bit of cornstarch. I used 4 bone-in center cut chops which had very little fat, so I didnt bother to trim them. Also, I did reduce baking time since I had pan-fried longer than I probably should. All in all, the recipe gives you a very tasty, tender chop and this one will definitely make it's way to our table again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Made as stated and we really enjoyed our pork chops. Very nice change from the old soup on the chops recipes. I also thickened the sauce and it was fabulous over rice. Thanks for the recipe, we'll use it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      These were ok, I think if I was to make these again, I would add brown sugar, and maybe use pineapple juice too or sub it for the chicken broth....hadn't decided. they were super easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I pretty picky with pork recipes, but I found this recipe to be exceptional. It's flavor is strong and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      This was pretty good, and I'd make it again, especially the sauce. I used two large bone-in chops, which I browned on the stove-top and then finished with the sauce in the oven. I let them cook for 30 minutes, at which point they were completely cooked. While the chops rested, I aused corstarch to thicken the sauce for serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This was easy to prepare. Tasted great. The meat was tender. I did thicken the sauce with cornstarch before serving. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smothered Pork Chops

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 312.0
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    41%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 75.0 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1252.5 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 19.5 g
    78%
    Protein 25.2 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes