38 Reviews

Just delicious Gail Ann! I made this for my parents dinner this evening. They absolutely loved it! I did cut amount of brown sugar to 1/2 T and that was just right. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe! Made for KK Chef's Pick Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom February 27, 2010

Wow! What wonderful flavor! I printed out the recipe and noticed a previous member saying the sauce was a little sweet,so I only used half of the sugar.I also noted that meatloaf was mentioned. So I doubled the sauce, made the pork chops, and the next day I made meatloaf. Talk about good! The sauce's flavors were even better than the first day! This is a fabulous recipe! I also used fat free half and half.Thanks so much for posting Gail, a real winner!Made for KK's forum event!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER February 26, 2010

with a few amount adjustments this was really enjoyed, I may even give it a try using chicken breasts next time, I also added in 1 heaping teaspoon of cayenne pepper to the flour mix and used seasoned salt, I also increased the garlic way up, thank you for sharing Gail

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 17, 2010

I love the tomato gravy! The pork chops really turned out flavorful and tender, nic and juicy. I agree with Andi, I think this sauce would be great over meatloaf. Made for Best of 2009 Tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 02, 2010

I'm always looking for new ways to make pork chops and this recipe sounded good and had great reviews. That said, I am going to chalk DH and my not caring for it much up to different tastes and not the recipe itself. I found the sauce very think and rather bland and the chops were tough, very over cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws November 15, 2009

For right now, the rating is for the *Tomato Gravy* as I have been hankering like a wheetle bug on the side of the long alfalfa stem to taste this. I have seen review after review and with this in mind, I thought this gravy would go perfectly ladled atop a meatloaf that I had put together earlier in the day. This was such an excellent addition, I am thinking that this will be my "go-to" sauce for meatloaf! Again, wonderful, soul-giving, and stomach filling recipes from this author. Bravo! Made just because I wanted to. August 2009 Will come back with pork chops too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm August 18, 2009

Wow! This was so good! 2 out of 4 kids loved it, 1 cringed because of the mushrooms, and 1 didn't like it at all. I say that's a great outcome. DH and I loved it. The sauce was so different from anything else. I normally don't like tomato sauces, so I was pleasantly surprised. The cream helped to ward off the heartburn I'd normally get from the tomato too. I think I'd leave out the brown sugar from the rub next time, just because I like my chops a little more savory. We served it over white rice with green beans. I want to try this again with pork steaks. Made for I Recommend Tag - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ August 08, 2009

Wow, this was great. I often find pork chops a bit "chalky" but not tonight; ours were melt in the mouth tender and really tasty. I followed your recipe to a T except for using about a teaspoon of fresh sage leaves (pork and sage are sooo good). I found the sauce a bit thin at the end, so removed the lid and reduced it on the stove top. We ate the chops with crushed potatoes and steamed veg rather than pasta and that was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS July 28, 2009

I made this last night and really enjoyed it. I served it over egg noodles. The chops were very tender. This will be made again. Made for 123 Hit Wonders. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mightyro_cooking4u July 18, 2009

We made this last night and really enjoyed it! This was something like we've never tasted, which is a good thing in my book. The pork chops came out incredibly tender. We'll definately make this again. THANKS! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Photo Momma July 07, 2009
Smothered Pork Chops