38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

very good. loved the flavor of the sauce. followed everything exactly and i didn't think at all that the brown sugar made it sweet as other's mentioned. so glad i went w/ my gut and followed the recipe to the T. i'll make this again but next time w/ out the mushrooms. taste preference...but sauce is yummy...great recipe! thanks chia! =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies June 03, 2007

Definitely a different taste for chops, which I certainly appreciate as pork is boring me lately. I liked the taste of the sauce although the consistency was very thin. I added a cornstarch slurry to thicken it at the end of the cook time. I also had to drain quite a bit of fat from the sauce. My chops turned out on the tough side so maybe they should've cooked longer to make them more tender. The next time I make this, I think I will try boneless pork and cut it into cubes as it would be easier to serve over the pasta in my opinion. I'll also decrease the chicken broth to 1 1/4 C. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word March 26, 2013

We have white sweet onions that weighs 17 oz each, a bag of yellow strong cooking onions that weigh 4 oz each, and another bag of yellow cooking onions that weigh 6 oz each.

What type of onion is used in this recipe and what total weight of onions used in the recipe?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ross from Mason City September 15, 2012

Excellent! Imade the recipe as directed using 2 boneless pork choops. It made a ton of really nice gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac May 23, 2012

Wow, it truly is a surprise of a dish! Thank you for this, Gail Ann - it's a recipe that will be made for many years to come. I made it with four chops but otherwise followed just as written and it was perfectly savory. It was so good in fact, that my husband said he needs the recipe to bring to the firehouse. He takes very few recipes to work so you know this is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 21, 2012

Doubled the amount of coating for the chops, and also doubled the sauce, because I like a lot of gravy! My bone-in chops were a little over an inch, so I cooked them for the full 60 minutes and they were perfect. The only negative comment I have is that the dish was too greasy. I would definitely de-fat the chops before browning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter September 05, 2011

I found the taste of the tomato paste overwhelming. I followed the directions exactly (I think). My sauce came out very red which is much different from the examples in the pictures. I think I might try this in the future and give it a second chance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monique #2 August 02, 2011

This was a great recipe!! was looking for something different and this was just it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babydoll070409 April 08, 2011

Melt in your mouth tender pork chops with a delicious sauce! The mushrooms were my favorite as they especially soaked up the flavor of the sauce. I used 1.5 times the amount of rub because I ran out of the original amount after 4 chops. We enjoyed the sweetness very much, it was not too much even with the extra rub. The only other thing I changed was that I omitted the onion (personal preference). The sauce was very liquidy and never turned into a gravy, but I'm guessing it's because there was no onion to soak up some of the liquid. So next time I will decrease the amount of liquid or add some cornstarch to make up for it. The only other thing I might change next time is to add some cayenne and increase the garlic if I'm in the mood for a little heat, but it is also delicious as written. Thanks for a keeper! Made for Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway July 24, 2010

Absolutely delish! Made this tonight with preseasoned Italian "Fit-n-Easy" chicken breasts and some spaghetti. The sauce was just wonderful! Will try on pork chops as intended, and maybe some chicken thighs as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Sweet June 09, 2010
Smothered Pork Chops