Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smothered Pork Chops Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smothered Pork Chops

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2007

      very good. loved the flavor of the sauce. followed everything exactly and i didn't think at all that the brown sugar made it sweet as other's mentioned. so glad i went w/ my gut and followed the recipe to the T. i'll make this again but next time w/ out the mushrooms. taste preference...but sauce is yummy...great recipe! thanks chia! =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Definitely a different taste for chops, which I certainly appreciate as pork is boring me lately. I liked the taste of the sauce although the consistency was very thin. I added a cornstarch slurry to thicken it at the end of the cook time. I also had to drain quite a bit of fat from the sauce. My chops turned out on the tough side so maybe they should've cooked longer to make them more tender. The next time I make this, I think I will try boneless pork and cut it into cubes as it would be easier to serve over the pasta in my opinion. I'll also decrease the chicken broth to 1 1/4 C. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      We have white sweet onions that weighs 17 oz each, a bag of yellow strong cooking onions that weigh 4 oz each, and another bag of yellow cooking onions that weigh 6 oz each.

      What type of onion is used in this recipe and what total weight of onions used in the recipe?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      Excellent! Imade the recipe as directed using 2 boneless pork choops. It made a ton of really nice gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      Wow, it truly is a surprise of a dish! Thank you for this, Gail Ann - it's a recipe that will be made for many years to come. I made it with four chops but otherwise followed just as written and it was perfectly savory. It was so good in fact, that my husband said he needs the recipe to bring to the firehouse. He takes very few recipes to work so you know this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Doubled the amount of coating for the chops, and also doubled the sauce, because I like a lot of gravy! My bone-in chops were a little over an inch, so I cooked them for the full 60 minutes and they were perfect. The only negative comment I have is that the dish was too greasy. I would definitely de-fat the chops before browning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      I found the taste of the tomato paste overwhelming. I followed the directions exactly (I think). My sauce came out very red which is much different from the examples in the pictures. I think I might try this in the future and give it a second chance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      This was a great recipe!! was looking for something different and this was just it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Melt in your mouth tender pork chops with a delicious sauce! The mushrooms were my favorite as they especially soaked up the flavor of the sauce. I used 1.5 times the amount of rub because I ran out of the original amount after 4 chops. We enjoyed the sweetness very much, it was not too much even with the extra rub. The only other thing I changed was that I omitted the onion (personal preference). The sauce was very liquidy and never turned into a gravy, but I'm guessing it's because there was no onion to soak up some of the liquid. So next time I will decrease the amount of liquid or add some cornstarch to make up for it. The only other thing I might change next time is to add some cayenne and increase the garlic if I'm in the mood for a little heat, but it is also delicious as written. Thanks for a keeper! Made for Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Absolutely delish! Made this tonight with preseasoned Italian "Fit-n-Easy" chicken breasts and some spaghetti. The sauce was just wonderful! Will try on pork chops as intended, and maybe some chicken thighs as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Just delicious Gail Ann! I made this for my parents dinner this evening. They absolutely loved it! I did cut amount of brown sugar to 1/2 T and that was just right. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe! Made for KK Chef's Pick Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Wow! What wonderful flavor! I printed out the recipe and noticed a previous member saying the sauce was a little sweet,so I only used half of the sugar.I also noted that meatloaf was mentioned. So I doubled the sauce, made the pork chops, and the next day I made meatloaf. Talk about good! The sauce's flavors were even better than the first day! This is a fabulous recipe! I also used fat free half and half.Thanks so much for posting Gail, a real winner!Made for KK's forum event!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      with a few amount adjustments this was really enjoyed, I may even give it a try using chicken breasts next time, I also added in 1 heaping teaspoon of cayenne pepper to the flour mix and used seasoned salt, I also increased the garlic way up, thank you for sharing Gail

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I love the tomato gravy! The pork chops really turned out flavorful and tender, nic and juicy. I agree with Andi, I think this sauce would be great over meatloaf. Made for Best of 2009 Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I'm always looking for new ways to make pork chops and this recipe sounded good and had great reviews. That said, I am going to chalk DH and my not caring for it much up to different tastes and not the recipe itself. I found the sauce very think and rather bland and the chops were tough, very over cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      For right now, the rating is for the *Tomato Gravy* as I have been hankering like a wheetle bug on the side of the long alfalfa stem to taste this. I have seen review after review and with this in mind, I thought this gravy would go perfectly ladled atop a meatloaf that I had put together earlier in the day. This was such an excellent addition, I am thinking that this will be my "go-to" sauce for meatloaf! Again, wonderful, soul-giving, and stomach filling recipes from this author. Bravo! Made just because I wanted to. August 2009 Will come back with pork chops too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Wow! This was so good! 2 out of 4 kids loved it, 1 cringed because of the mushrooms, and 1 didn't like it at all. I say that's a great outcome. DH and I loved it. The sauce was so different from anything else. I normally don't like tomato sauces, so I was pleasantly surprised. The cream helped to ward off the heartburn I'd normally get from the tomato too. I think I'd leave out the brown sugar from the rub next time, just because I like my chops a little more savory. We served it over white rice with green beans. I want to try this again with pork steaks. Made for I Recommend Tag - Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Wow, this was great. I often find pork chops a bit "chalky" but not tonight; ours were melt in the mouth tender and really tasty. I followed your recipe to a T except for using about a teaspoon of fresh sage leaves (pork and sage are sooo good). I found the sauce a bit thin at the end, so removed the lid and reduced it on the stove top. We ate the chops with crushed potatoes and steamed veg rather than pasta and that was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I made this last night and really enjoyed it. I served it over egg noodles. The chops were very tender. This will be made again. Made for 123 Hit Wonders. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      We made this last night and really enjoyed it! This was something like we've never tasted, which is a good thing in my book. The pork chops came out incredibly tender. We'll definately make this again. THANKS! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smothered Pork Chops

    Serving Size: 1 (376 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 509.8
     
    Calories from Fat 283
    55%
    Total Fat 31.5 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 176.4 mg
    58%
    Sodium 531.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 44.8 g
    89%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites