Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smothered Hamburger Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smothered Hamburger Steak

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-57 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2005

      I used the raw onion in my ground beef. I have made these before using the onion soup mix. I think I prefer the raw onion. The gravy was a new twist. My husband said next time double the gravy. These are very easy to make. Thanks mysonshine. Bullwinkle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

    • on January 04, 2014

      I made this yesterday and my husband ate it 3 times and one day and also is taking it to lunch today. It was a big hit with my family! I used the onion soup mix also 1/2 in the hamburger meat and 1/2 in the gravy. I will say next time to might not put any in the gravy because it was just a little to salty. But this was our favorite yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      good flavor! I cooked the lean ground beef patties that are preshaped in onion mushroom soup..Once browned I added cream of mushroom and mushroom gravy mix and a cup of water...I let it cooked down at least 40 minutes or so...The flavor blended well with the burgers..added in garlic potatoes and green beans and dinner was done...I will make it next time for my manfriend...lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      This was pretty good. I added a can of sliced mushrooms to the gravy and only used half a cup of milk. Think next time I'll try adding some seasoning to the meat to give it a little more flavor. Will probably make this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      This is exactly how I make my meatballs and gravy! Great recipe! We always serve over rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      Yummy! I used 2 lbs of ground beef and 1 packet of onion soup mix in the meat. For the gravy I used 2 bullion cubes and 1 can of water instead of the gravy mix. It came out awesome! Served with mashed potatoes and corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      Loved this Recipe!!!! Was nervous at first with the cream of mushroom since me & my husband dont care for mushrooms but went for it anyways & WE loved it!! Great Dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      The only thing I really did to this was use pre-made hamburger patties, and grill them so there would be less fat. Otherwise, this was a simple, tasty meal. Maybe 10 minutes from start to finish, which is perfect for work nights when I really don't feel like cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

    • on October 21, 2011

      5 stars! I added mushrooms to mine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      Very good recipe for quick, easy meal. I used the onion soup mix, perfect for me, as I'm usually too busy during the week to put much effort into dinner. I did also find it a bit salty, but it can be remedied with water or beef broth as another reviewer did. Next time, I'll also try another can of mushroom soup, since I like a lot of gravy. Great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      So very easy to put together. I used the onion soup mix option and loved it. As others did, I added 1 slightly beaten egg and 1/2 cup of bread crumbs to my HB meat then cooked the beef patties with about 1/2 of a medium onion. Used 15 oz can of cream of mushroom soup mixed with equal can of milk along with the brown gravy mix. Thinned the gravy out a little with some beef broth. Other than my hamburger being on the tough side, the flavors were excellent. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      I made this for company that came over. I wanted comfort food that was easy and not that expensive. This was it. The only thing I changed, I took the advice as above and added crushed crackers and 1 egg but I used Ritz crackers as that is all I had on hand. I didn't put any onion powder as I didn't have any of that either but I did have an onion but didn't want to add to meat due to the fact that all my guests didn't like onions. I just added onion to the gravy. I also only fried my burgers rare and finished cooking in the gravy which made them so tender and moist. This was an awesome hamburger steak. So easy and a great comfort food definitely a keeper in my recipe book. Oh and everybody loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      Absolutely delicious. Used recipe ##110331 for the onion soup mix; added 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup 2% milk to the soup mixture; substituted 1 Tablespoon beef soup base mix for the brown gravy mix. Served with mashed potatoes made with half and half cream and butter added, peas and carrots, and a green salad with cucumbers, tomatoes, and sweet onion. Love the iced tea idea which I will add next time I make this. Added to my favorite recipes binder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

    • on April 15, 2008

    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smothered Hamburger Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.4
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    48%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1486.1 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites