Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smothered Hamburger Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smothered Hamburger Steak

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2010

      This was SO good, my favorite salisbury steak recipe by far. I put 1/2 a package dried onion soup in with the burger, and the rest in with the sauce. After browing the patties, I removed them then fried 1/2 lb sliced mushrooms in the drippings plus a bit of butter. (My ground beef was very lean.) I added the rest of the ingredients, simmered until thick, then returned the patties to the pan. I then topped each patty with a slice of colby cheese which finished it perfectly! I served on buttered noodles, but I think potatoes would go better with the gravy. All 3 of my kids enjoyed it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      My husband said that if this was/were on a menu in a restaurant he would order it every time! I did use 1 package of onion soup mix and I did add a jar of sliced mushrooms to the gravy. Served with noodles, steamed broccoli, and pickled baby beets. Thank you for a very good recipe. It is a "keeper".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      Easy recipe for simple comfort food. I used onion soup mix in the ground beef and probably more than 1 cup of water in my gravy. The meal was tasty, and we chose to ladle our gravy over buttered egg noodles. Roasted green beans were a nice side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      Pure comfort food! I had some pre-made hamburger patties that I wanted to use. So instead of making the patties using this recipe, I substituted the pre-made ones instead. I added a cup of water but it was quite salty. Maybe next time I'll add a can of water instead. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      On 6/29/10, I made exactly what Michelles3boys's was making for her dinner( Well, I actually stole her idea :) ).I took her suggestion and added an egg ,then added 1/2 cup of bread crumbs. I also used the onion soup mix.Other than those changes, the recipe was made as written. And if you are searching for " comfort food " that is quick,easy, and tastes good then your search is over. This will be made more times than you can imagine. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Pure comfort food. I served my with rice and sugar snap peas. Enjoyed by my two teenage boys.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      I really enjoyed this hamburger steak. The only thing different I did was use onion powder instead of onions (my kids don't like onions). I made rice as a side, and the gravy was sooo good poured over it. This recipe has a permanent place in my cookbook. *Update* The last time I made this I mixed 1 egg and 1/2 cup of crushed saltine crackers with the ground beef. It made the hamburger steak very tender. I also used cream of chicken soup (because that's what I had on hand), and it was wonderful! You might want to use the lower sodium soup, because the gravy is pretty salty. Thanks again for your great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      My husband and I loved this! It was such comfort food. I didn't have the pack of gravy mix, so I used 2 beef boullion cubes and a half can of water ( I think you need the water anyway) and it was delicious. I also put the sliced onions in the gravy instead of the burger. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Very easy and good! I used almost 2 lbs of ground beef to make extra hamburgers. I also used the healthy selects cream of mushroom soup. Next time I will add a small can of mushrooms. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Very tasty along with easy to prepare ... my two favorites. I added sliced mushrooms to the gravy mixture as well increased the water for more gravy - filled the soup can, only because I had 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef oh and we like lots of gravy too :) Thx 4 sharing =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This was so easy to make and very economical too. I didn't use onion, but onion powder in the meat and the gravy. Everyone really liked the flavor of the gravy. I will make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Really good and easy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      Delicious!! Used half an onion, and that was plenty. This is pure comfort food, and it was just what I needed tonight. Served it with baked potatoes, green beans, and sweet tea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This was incredibly easy and FAST! Dinner was on the table in 30 minutes. I used the onion soup mix instead of the onion. The only thing I did differently was before putting the gravy mix in the pan, I dumped the grease out. It was fabulous with white rice and green beans! Thanks for the great meal idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Ah, meat + onions + gravy = Yum! I love gravy!! A very rich gravy. I actually thinned it out a bit with broth to balance the flavors more for us. Next time I'd like to try the suggestions of the other reviewers just to see what I enjoy more. I love meatloaf and still prefer mine but I'm making this again when I don't have for the loaf :) Super weeknight meal!!! Leftovers heat well too. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      These were easy and flavorful, total comfort food. Even though there was just the two of us, I made 4 patties to have for lunch the next day. Came together very quickly, great for a weeknight, and pretty cheap too. I served with baked potatoes, but next time I think mac 'n cheese would be awesome!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Made this for myself & my kids & it was a BIG hit! It had a rich taste &the recipe made some hefty portions. I will make it again & again & again....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Yummy! My husband and I pigged out on this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      A very easy and delicious meal to make after getting home from work. I used a half cup of water, along with the cream of mushroom, and also added 1 can of mushrooms. It was really good with homemade horseradish mashed potatoes and green beans on the side! My husband said he would love to have it again! So it is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Delicious. I used a half cup of water in the gravy and sauteed my onions with the patties in the skillet. Great with mashed potatoes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smothered Hamburger Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.4
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    48%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1486.1 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites