Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smothered Cornish Game Hens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smothered Cornish Game Hens

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2010

      This is a great recipe! The sauce was delicious and could probably be used for many different meats. My only issue was the massive amount of butter involved; the end result was a bit oily (from the butter and the birds). I may experiment with using less butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      Very good! I did add some chopped onions and minced garlic otherwise I followed your recipe the way you wrote it. Very moist and so tender. I served this with green bean casserole and rice. Next time I'll add some carrots and potatoes. Thanks Ranger Rover for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Very good recipe; the hens were perfectly cooked and so moist using this method. I used white wine instead of sherry, and tucked some carrot chunks and red potato wedges in with the hens to make a complete meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      We eat cornish hens at least once a week; my DH loves them, so this was a great change from the ordinary way that we always make them. I cut up some potatoes and carrots and placed them around the hens...dinner in one pot...LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      I was looking for something a little different and good. This turned out to be exactly what I was looking for. I didnt change anything just followed directions as shown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      delicious! I haven't made cornish hens in years and hubby loves them. was looking for an easy & tasty recipe and this was really spot on! the only thing I did was to add a little garlic powder to the gravy along w/ the s&p and then after I browned the hens rubbed them with a little salt/pepper as well. Will definitely be making this one again!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This is the best recipe for cornish hens I've ever seen. It's delicious! Thank you so much for sharing it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      This receipe was wonderful!!!! I usually flop at preparing gravy but it turned out great!!! The hens were tender and juicy and very flavorful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      This was delish!!! I added about 1/2 cup marsala and baked the hens on top of chunks of carrots, potatoes, rutabagas and parsnips. All together, the flavours were incredible. The baking time was over 2 hours all together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      3 words. Mm Mm Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2003

      Yummy! The family loved it. It was so easy to make. I did leave out the sherry, didn't have any,it still tasted wonderful. This recipe is also adaptable, I added sliced onions to the top of the hens and they cooked down so wonderfully. I dusted some seasoned salt for color and taste, rubbed the hen with olive oil and browned hens in it instead of butter. Will add to cookbook. Great recipe Drago!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smothered Cornish Game Hens

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 415.5
     
    Calories from Fat 250
    60%
    Total Fat 27.7 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 169.7 mg
    56%
    Sodium 1240.2 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 27.5 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites