Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smothered Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smothered Chicken

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2012

      Super easy, super delicious! Perfect for when you are exhausted and just want to stick something easy in the oven....perfect for me tonight! Didn't get home from work until 8:30, and I've already gobbled up my half a breast! I'll save this for other "awful work days". Thanks so much for sharing this recipe....its a lifesaver!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Delicious!! Will definitely make again!! The whole family loved it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      If you need quick, easy and delicious, this is it! We loved this creamy chicken, in fact, couldn't stop eating it! Perfect with rice and fresh green beans. Winner!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      This was so simple, and the onions on top added another level of flavor that make this so much tastier than mine. I did sear my chicken breasts before baking them, and that made a big difference, too. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      This was delicious. Since I started with frozen chicken breasts, I cooked them for about an hour and then added the onions and cooked another 20 minutes. The onions were still a bit brown. I would probably add them for the last 10 minutes of cooking time. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      This is so amazing, especially for as easy as it was. This one is definitely a keeper and going into my Best Of Cookbook. Thanks so much Loof! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      This is a great recipe! I used cream of chicken instead of mushroom and added some canned mushrooms to the dish. It has a great flavor! Made for Best of 2012 game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      I halved this and used a 2.8 oz can of onions so it was extra onion-y. Also used low fat, low sodium mushroom soup and light sour cream. Very easy, moist and tender chicken. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      So awesome! So easy! Will definitely be making this again and again!!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      5 stars for ease of making and taste. So quick and easy, but so yummy! I used light sour cream and added a small can of mushrooms, only used a 2.4 oz can of onions as that was what I had and it was plenty to cover my oval baking dish. Used 3 large breasts and there was plenty for me, DH and 5 year old with leftovers for lunch! Served over homemade buttermilk biscuits and slow cooked green beans on the side. Perfect for a cold, damp fall night. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      So good, and quick to make too! I did make with cream of chicken soup since I was out of cream of mushroom. Will add more fried onions to the top next time; I can never get enough of those! :) Made for Football Pool 2012 Win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Pure comfort food that is so easy you'll want to make it often, it was a 10 fingers up recipe for DH. It's creamy and rich tasting even though there is not a lot of fat and all of the flavors play beautifully with each other. I've printed this to keep in my personal cookbook, in other words it's a true keeper. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      Goodness me, easy-peasy and delicious, I had made the full recipe for just two of us, so DH enjoyed leftovers and wants this again very soon! Since we don't get canned onion rings here (not that I've seen), I thickly sliced an onion, lightly fried it and used that to top the chicken, worked well. We had this with rice and a medly of roasted zucchini and butternut squash. Thank you, loof, delicious! Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      this is easy and like all of your recipes ,very tasty . try this one when your pooped with baked potatoesit worked for me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      One word...FABULOUS.

      For such a simple dish this sure does pack some flavor. A definite great find.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      Good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written and we all enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      This was such an easy supper! I didn't feel like cooking last night, so this was the perfect recipe. I didn't have quite 8 oz. of sour cream, but otherwise made as directed. It was super tasty. My husband really liked too. Thanks so much for posting loof! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I did the recipe only with 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts. I used fat free sour cream. And omitted the salt and pepper. Yummy! Thanks Loof :) Made for Zaar star game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Very good, will enjoy this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Mmmm, yum. Didn't change a thing. We thought it was a little bland and added some table spice to our own servings. Most of my kids liked it. We served with rice and french style green beans. I will make this again, probably using thighs in place of the breasts. I think it would be very good with some mushrooms added as well. Made and Reviewed for I Recommend Tag - Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smothered Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 380.0
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    48%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 144.3 mg
    48%
    Sodium 751.1 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 40.0 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French fried onion rings

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites