Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoky, Spicy Tomatillo Salsa Verde Aka Green Hell! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoky, Spicy Tomatillo Salsa Verde Aka Green Hell!

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2009

      Loved it! I halved the recipe and used parsley and it tasted great. My mexican boyfriend was really impressed too. We had it on quesadillas and it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Wonfderful salsa- a bit different from your regular salsas. Men seem to like this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I made this fantastic salsa to serve at a backyard barbeque . I served it with chips, but my guests even put it on their burgers. It was a hit. I could not find a habanero pepper so I used a jalapeno pepper instead. Great recipe. Thanks for posting it Rita. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

    • on October 17, 2007

      This is different than any other salsa I've tried. It was a little bit bitter, so maybe I'll cut down on the lime next time. Not bad though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      We used this for our dinner party last night. Very good. My dh even liked it (which suprised me, because he usually only likes tomatoe salsas). Thank you very much. I have included this & all the other recipes I used in my menu "Mexican Dinner Party"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      *Made for ZWT III* Yummy! This salsa goes together very quickly and easily. I used 2 chipotle chiles and it was the perfect amount of spicy. I did add a little bit of sugar to cut the tartness of the tomatillos, other than that I made it exactly as written. Thank you for sharing this delicious salsa...it is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Great salsa recipe. I used jalapeno in place of the habanero because I had it on hand. I like the unexpected flavor from the chipotle in this- its different from most salsa verdes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Made exactly as you instructed. Yummy and spicy and perfect! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      My husband and our friends loved this salsa. Their first reaction was that the flavor was oustanding. My husband thought that the lime flavor was a little strong but I was ok. I didn't add the habanero but the chipotles added mild heat. We provided the recipe to one of our friends who found almost all the ingredients foreign. I recommended that he take the recipe in the store and ask for help with the less familliar items. Fanstastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      This was excellent salsa! So far, I've only had two problems with it. First, it didn't last nearly long enough becuase I couldn't put the stuff down. Second, I can't bear to go back to eating the store bought stuff after having made my own. I think I can solve both problems by making a double batch next time. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      We didn't care for the taste of this salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      DH & I are in Dallas visiting SusieQusie & we co-hosted a dinner party for 14 last nite. She made this for our combo of appy's, so I can only address the taste. It was delicious! IMHO it has the perfect balance of flavor & heat & makes most salsa I've tasted seem very ordinary. Great recipe! Thx for sharing it w/us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Just made this without enough cilantro and using chipotle sauce cause I was out of chipotle peppers. It was lovely even so. I added it to cooked shredded chicken and stirred in some cheese to make the best green chile chicken burritos. Lots of heat but not harsh. Just amazing. Thanks so much. I can't wait to make this exactly as you wrote it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      I love most salsa verde anyhow, but this was excellent! It complemented our carne asada tacos beautifully!I really liked the uncooked tomatillos (I typically boil or roast them before making salsa). I didn't have any habaneros around, so I used one green jalapeno and one orange serrano instead. I used half cilantro, half parsley (no fresh basil around, either). I opted for both of the chipotles, just because I love them (I'm happy just to smell them even lol). Much quicker to make than my usual salsa verde fallback, because the tomatillos and peopers weren't precooked - not that any salsa takes terribly long to make, but every minute counts sometimes, y'know? We'll definitely be having this again, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      I made this to take to a BBQ but... it was so darn good it never made it between Dugan and I pilfering from the bowl all night. Tomatillos are one of my favorite thing along with cilantro and this dip is as good as it gets. It will be a loooong time before I make a red salsa again. Terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      Wow! Knock your socks off spice. Truly for spicy food eaters and all who enjoy a good salsa. I only used 3/4 of a habanero with out the seeds. I did used 2 chiles in adobo. I used this in a recipe for Chile Verde Meatballs #110680 and it was outstanding. I will use the remaining for a marinade for grilled steak. Once again a winner Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      This is a true 5-star. DH .. who will NOT eat 'green stuff' was eating this with a spoon. He loved the smoky taste. So did I! I did fire-roast the tomatillos under a broiler, rotating every 5 minutes or so for about 2 minutes to get the juices flowing, which I think added to the desired outcome of a 'manly-man' salsa! Thanks Rita!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      DH thought for sure I was going to collect on the life insurance tonight!!! I grilled the tomatillas and habanero...so got some good black flecks in salsa also!! I used cilantro and this recipe was a perfect specimen of salsa verde!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      Muy Caliente! My husband made this recipe and loved it. Very hot and tasty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoky, Spicy Tomatillo Salsa Verde Aka Green Hell!

    Serving Size: 1 (33 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 23.5
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    19%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites