Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoky, Spicy Tomatillo Salsa Verde Aka Green Hell! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoky, Spicy Tomatillo Salsa Verde Aka Green Hell!

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2014

      amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2014

      Great recipe. I always serve it with my brisket tacos. The only changes I make are to roast the tomatillos on the grill in an aluminum foil pan coated with cooking spray while the brisket is slow cooking to the side. I roast them whole and the is no need to cut them up before blending. I also double both the habaneros and chipotles (my family loves very spicy fare). I also always serve it as Infierno Verde (Green Hell).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2014

      Absolutely amazing and so easy to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Except for using a Habanero, I used a Jalapeno (Yeah, wimpy. I know) and this was gobbled up in minutes!! Great recipe! Nice post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      One of my favorite salsas of all time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      this stuff is amazing and exactly what i have been searching for! my husband and son are big fans of "green" salsa i always make a fresh (red) one so thought have to try this type overall its inexpensive to make as I always have cilantro/limes/garlic etc. in my fridge all i have to buy is tomatillos which in our stores go as low as .69 cents a lb so man I can make tons of these for cheap! the chipotle makes a nice smokey flavor - I didn't have the haban. pepper - a jalapeno but didn't seed it and included the membrane and holy cow that was hot enough! this will be a weekly staple in our house at all times... THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      This salsa is goooood. Instead of the habinero and chipotle pepper, I used two jalapenos. I only used 1/2 lime because I don't like the lime to overpower the flavor. Awesome dinner with homemade tortilla chips. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Although at first taste I thought this salsa was too hot, I kept wanting more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      This was great. I added 5 serrano peppers because Meijers did not have a habanero.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This was fantastic! I added extra garlic and used plenty of the adobo sauce, so it came out more reddish and smoky than the pic. I also threw in a couple of picked jalapenos with the carrots and a little of the juice. Wonderful- a big hit with my husband and people in my office. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      I made this as written, I used all cilantro instead of a mix, but I did not use the chipotle pepper b/c I didn't want the smoky flavor. This is a good salsa, but mine turned out quite sour. I'm not sure if the tomatillos were tart, or if I should have used less lime juice, or both. I did remedy this for the most part by adding a little sugar. Next time I think I'll omit the lime juice until I taste the salsa. I was looking for a recipe to mimic a tomatillo salsa served in my local mexican restaurant, and this is a pretty close match. I was scared the habanero would make it too spicy, but we used the whole thing (without the seeds) and the heat level is just right for us (I think next time i actullay may throw in a few seeds to kick the spicyness just just a little higher). Thanks for sharing, we will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      This turned out wonderful. Although I did not have a habanero, I did use 2 jalapeno's (seeds included) along with the chiptoles. Very spicy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I love onions and garlic but this was a bit too strong for me. I think next time I'll cut the onion and garlic in half and it will be perfect for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      I made this for my BF and I thought it would be WAY to hot for me.....WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. It is DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!! The only thing I did different was to use 6 jalapenos because I didn't have the habanero pepper. Used 2 chipotle chiles and all three herbs. I agree with everyone else, this stuff is addictive. I'm glad I've still got plenty garden stuff left, I'll be making this till everything is used up! Wonder if I could freeze it? Thanks for a top notch recipe Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I consider myself to have very educated palate when it comes to Mexican food. This salsa verde is superb. I used tomatillos from our garden which were sweet, rather than tart, and cilantro, parsley, basil from the garden, too. My only change was using chipotle powder rather than chiles in adobo. I keep dried chipotles on hand and also ground ones so I can always add that smoky flavor without having to open a can of chiles just to use a couple. One habanero, seeds and all, was perfect. This salsa is fresh tasting and wonderful and the color is a lively green.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Awesome recipe! Simple and great tasting! It was hot, but it was so good I couldn't stop eating it. It was real good in a cheese quesadilla! I only used cilantro in the batch I made... I may try it with half basil and half cilantro next time... Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Excellent! I loved the touch of basil and parsley! Easy and simple, tastes better the longer it sits in the fridge. Thank you for a staple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Great salsa recipe. I made with one jalapeno and one chipotle. It wasn't spicy so next time will add more. We had it with tortilla chips and look forward to putting over enchiladas, cheese torte, chicken, fish etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      I have made this twice now. Both times to serve with Stuffed Pork Tenderloin With Cilantro Lime Pesto. The first time it came out a beautiful green color, the second time it came out brown. Grimm's & I are curious as to why this is. My theory is the tomatillos aren't ripe enough or not dark green enough? Any how it still is tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoky, Spicy Tomatillo Salsa Verde Aka Green Hell!

    Serving Size: 1 (33 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 23.5
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    19%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes