63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used a pound and a half of tomatillos instead of one, simply because I grabbed too much. Also, I cut the tomatillos in half and roasted at 500 degrees for about seven minutes instead of leaving them raw. Otherwise, followed recipe exactly, using two of the chipotles and only the cilantro instead of the three herb combo. AMAZING. Absolutely amazing! So good! Plenty of heat, but it doesn't hide any of the flavor. Kudos!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akittennamedrachel May 10, 2011

Fantastic coming from a salsa maker and a big salsa eater! My friends all loved it and I'm making it for the 3rd time. I didn't add any basil or other herb...only cilantro...that's the way we do it in Texas!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Crazy 4 Cooking Gal September 21, 2010

My sister warned me not to attempt tomatillo salsa, because it's usually too sweet, but this recipe sounded irresistible. And wow, is it ever!! I substituted the habaneros for jalapenos, so that those with low-heat tolerance could still eat it. It was so good that I frequently and embarrassingly had this snack as a meal. I'm making another batch today for friends who've declared it "amazing".

Thank you!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B H. September 20, 2010

I've made this a few times, and I have to say I love this salsa. It's so easy, quick and everyone who has tried it loves it! Although I haven't actually used the habanero pepper, since they're hard to find where I live, I've used jalepenos, serranos and anaheim peppers all with success! Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awestevez November 04, 2009

Okay Rita, I continue to share this recipe. I gave it to a friend who is the best mexican chef I know and he hasn't stopped talking about it or eating it. His kids eat it with chips like it is guacamole or something mild. At this rate I am going to start growing tomatillos and make a fortune sell them to him. I can't get enough myself. I make it exactly like your recipe calls for, I don't change a thing. Thanks so much for sharing. Since I wrote the review below in January I am afraid I have become addicted to this stuff and not only that I have spread that addiction to several of my friends. I eat it over everything from rice to scrambled eggs, salmon, chicken breasts etc etc and it is all better for having this salsa on it. I want to thank Rita for this recipe it is absolutely delicious. You can easily add more or subtract heat from it with varying the amount or kind of pepper but I love it just the way the recipe is written. Jan 29, 2009 I followed the recipe exactly. It is great. I may try my own variations later but for now this stuff is perfect. PERFECT!!! Not too hot don't be afraid of the Habenero.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doyle O. September 03, 2009

We have affectionately renamed this "Green Hell." LOL Everyone that has tried this salsa is hooked. It is very addictive!!! It is spicy, but even my 8 year old sweats the heat because it is so worth it! Just a warning... Don't play with the habanero seeds while making this salsa. My husband talked me into putting one on my tongue and I was sorry for an hour. Also wash your hand with soap and water after you make this recipe :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nica Chick January 18, 2009

Very good but spicy. I will definitely be adding just one chipotle chile next time :) they are spicyyyyyyyyyy!!! Also, I like my salsa slightly chunky so I pureed the garlic, pepper, chipotles and mixed it with the slightly chunky tomatillos, onion and cilantro. Served the salsa with sour cream and tortilla chips, and also used it to marinade my chicken. Thank you for the posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry January 28, 2007

Excellent! I've made this several times now. It freezes very well. I have added an extra habanero and it was really good...definitely had a bite, but was good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanT July 09, 2012

A very easy dish to prepare - I used a small Jamaiican pepper and one Chipotle - wow, was it hot. So I was very surprised when it disappeared so fast. Co-workers, family and friends really liked it. I also used combo of cilantro and basil. I enjoy growing the tomatillo plant for its unique papery husks. Well I believe I make this every year but only have my notes for this year 2011 batch so for the record used the habanero and 2 chipotles in adobo and 1 cup fresh cilantro and boy it was burning but everyone loves it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay October 02, 2011

This is really fantastic Salsa Verde. I couldn't find any habeneros, so I subbed 3 good sized jalepenos as well as the chipotles.I just used cilantro instead of all 3. Very good and pretty darn hot!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just starting out February 27, 2011
Smoky, Spicy Tomatillo Salsa Verde Aka Green Hell!