Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoky Refried Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoky Refried Beans

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2012

      I've been making these for years but I always have roasted garlic cloves on hand as well as cilantro pesto that I make and freeze in ice cube trays. So what I do is put a cube of thawed cilantro pesto and a few cloves of roasted garlic in the pan, flatten the garlic with a spoon and then continue from there as directed. Then I top with queso or Mexican 4 cheese and heat in the microwave until the cheese just melts. This ia a simple and yummy recipe. I like the mixture of whole and mashed beans. If you want a tip for mashing, try a potato masher rather than a fork. These can be so easily adapted to different tastes just by adjusting spices. If it's too mild, you can always add jalapenos or even hot sauce to taste. Personally I like the amounts of cumin and chili powder, but I think my cilantro pesto and the addition of cheese adds more dimension.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      I used dry beans so I adapted things alittle bit. Canned beans never digest very well for us. This recipe was wonderful and I really like the addition of lime juice. The beans were great as listed but the DH loves spice so we added some jalapenos and onions for good measure which they wouldn't need depending on what you would be serving them with. Thanks Groovy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This was excellent! So quick and easy it was ridiculous- the hardest and most time consuming part was mashing the beans. My arms got tired. I drained the pinto's completely (bean liquid is what gives you gas!) and added about 1/4 cup water with a sprinkle of Vegeta granules.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      I had high hopes for this recipe, but the only reason it was any good was because of the onions, cheese, and salsa that I served with it. On its own it would've been inedible. I used pintos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      Very good recipe. I added double the amount of garlic cloves. In addition to the juice from the beans I also used 1/2 cup of the broth from Simpy's Carnitas (Simply Carnitas) and they turned out great. I loved the freshness and kick that the lime gives it in the end. Will be using this recipe again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      These were pretty good! I used black beans and halved the recipe. It was a little dry, so you may need to add in chicken broth or bean liquid, but overall it was great! Sure beats the heck out of beans in a can!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Great recipe! I followed it to the T except for salting to taste I simply added a packet of Sazon Goya seasoning packet when I added the chili powder and cumin. Perfection. And you are right, I will Never go back to the can again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      I made this as directed, but it seemed to be lacking something for me. I used the smashing with a spoon method, and think maybe I should have blended them instead in my blender. Perhaps they were just a bit too chunky for me. Everyone did still eat them, especially my 2 year old who happens to love refrained beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Very good. The first time I made them I used twice as much lime as I was supposed to and they did not taste good. This time I made them I forgot I was out of cumin. So I'm having trouble actually doing this recipe as written! I subbed 1/2 paprika and 1/2 curry for the cumin and that tasted different, but good! I slowly added lime this time... and I prefer it with 1/2 tbsp - 1 tbsp lime only. I think this would be tasty even just with a little bit of oil and the garlic. I will probably reduce the amount of oil in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Love it. This is super fast & easy. I used black beans that I rinsed thoroughly because that's how I roll. I added 1/4 cup of water. This was ready to mash before I was ready. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Okay, I have been using dry beans and cooking them all day and this recipe is sooooo much better! Since I have an extremely sensitive digestive system, I rinsed the beans and added a quarter cup of veggie broth. I read somewhere that the bean liquid can cause upset stomach. Anyway, this was awesome and this will certainly be my new go-to for refried beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Wonderful! I've made this twice with black beans now. My partner was very unhappy that I only made a half recipe last time. He loves them so much and there were no leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      quick recipe!! i was outta refried beans and had tons of black beans in the cupboars. otherwise did this recipes about the same except i added some onions, cheap saffron i had acquired, used bottled lime juice as i had no limes, omitted the cumin, and added some 'Rock & Roll BBQ Jalapeno Dust' Rock & Roll BBQ Jalapeno Dust as i didn't feel like running to the store for a jalapeno. next time i will add a little salt and try armymomx2's idea of using bacon grease instead of oil.... can you believe we didn't have any bacon grease!!!?? what a sin! thanks groovyrooby!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Wow, these are freakin' FANTASTIC! I threw some diced jalapenos in while browning the garlic for some extra spice. Then when I opened the cans of beans there was no liquid? Must have been the brand I bought. So I used 1/4 c chicken stock for the liquid. I just realized I forgot to put the lime, but these are still sooo good. I made the beans for the bottom layer of my mexican layer dip and I might have a hard time saving them until tomorrow. Thanks, groovyrooby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Yummy! The only change I made was I used bacon grease that I keep in the freezer instead of canola oil...that's how a local Mexican restaurant makes theirs...and I love their beans. Oh, I and I forgot the lime and they are still super good and 10x's better then canned refried beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Made these tonight and it was the first time I've ever made refried beans. This recipe was fantastic and I would not change a thing. Thank you very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Thank you so much! I will never buy refried beans again. These are so much better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Thank you so much for posting this groovy! I am learning how to make beans from scratch and I am trying to be creative with them and these are PHENOMENAL! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I had to do things a little differently because I used dried beans instead of canned, but it still turned out great! It just needed a little extra sugar in there. Very yummy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Yum! Very good beans. I really liked how quick it was and the flavor was great. I used one can of red beans and one of white beans because that is what I had on hand and it is great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoky Refried Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.6
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    20%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 13.0 g
    52%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes