8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I scaled this recipe way back, so that I had just enough to accompany some chips as a late afternoon snack. It's a good thing I did, because it is tasty enough to just eat with a spoon. Thought there was still a brick of cream cheese in the fridge but I was mistaken, so I used some whipped cream cheese in place of the softened cream cheese...didn't alter the flavor, and was so much easier to blend. I omitted the milk, as I liked the consistency the way it was. I will be making the dip again as I think it would be wonderful on a toasted bagel topped with some ham. Thanks for sharing your recipe LP. Made and reviewed for AUS/NZ Swap #66.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate July 14, 2012

YUM, what a nice dip for raw veggies!!!! I really enjoyed the combination of flavours from the smoked paprika and roasted garlic, but wish the garlic had come through a little more. I used 8 cloves, so maybe next time Ill just use 10. The consistency was great for dipping without adding the milk, but I guess that always depends on what brand of cream cheese and sour cream you use. Due to an allergy I left out the lemon and found the dip was great without it, too. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your creation with us, Leggy Peggy. It will be made again here. Made and reviewed for Make My Recipe June 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula June 26, 2010

I didn’t add the milk electing to leave it thicker & use more as a spread. I really enjoyed the smokiness & the roasted garlic flavors. The lemon though overpowered things and we found the dip was quite tart. Maybe the lemon I had was too large & I would have been better with measurements to achieve the results the chef had in mind. I served with raw veggies & crackers and enjoyed the combination. The recipe is also very easy to prepare. Thank you for your contribution to RSC & good luck!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D March 07, 2010

This was just ok for me, certainly not bad but just didn't knock my socks off. It's super quick and easy to put together. Regarding the lemon, I started by only using the half of the lemon's juice, as it seemed like the whole would have been a lot to add, and glad I did. I could definitly taste a lot of citrus and I think with the whole lemon it would have been too much. And I wasn't getting a lot of the delicious roasted garlic flavor coming through and would have liked to have tasted moe of that. I tried this for dipping with raw carrots and it was good, and I used it to top the potato skins of the contest entry of Twice Baked Potatoes and it went nicely with that as well. Nice entry for the contest. Good luck!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly M. March 06, 2010

ZWT6: Very easy to make and the flavor is delicious!! Served with fresh bread, crackers and veggies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose June 21, 2010

This was enjoyed as a dip for baby carrots and crackers. I halved the recipe easily. Thanks and good luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 06, 2010

Made for RSC #15, this recipe proves that even the smallest detail in a short intro can have an impact. DH & I tried this recipe 4 ways .. as a dip, as a sauce for roasted potatoes, as dressing for a mound of baby shrimp on salad greens & w/baked fish fillets to replace the more traditional tartar sauce. As a dip, we liked the zesty lemon & garlic flavors, but would prob increase the garlic. It's use w/the roasted potatoes surprised us as our least fave. The latter 2 on the other hand were far & away our faves w/the addition of the sweet chili sauce mentioned in your intro. Thx for sharing your recipe w/us (+ the intro detail) & good luck in the contest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis March 06, 2010

This is very lemony, but the other flavors also shine through. I tried this first as a dip for raw vegetables, and then as a condiment on sandwiches. I think it would also make a good sauce for fish or cooked veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl March 06, 2010
Smoky Cream Cheese (As a Dip or for Many Other Uses)