10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband and I thought this was excellent clam chowder. Very rich and creamy with the delicate flavor of the clams. A great blend of spices and nice smoked flavor that all went well together. Thanks for sharing this.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalie Z January 28, 2003

We really like clam chowder and thought it would be interesting to try this smoky version. Very nice indeed. The chowder base was extremely rich and creamy with plenty of clams. The little bit of liquid smoke gave a smoked flavor but it didn't overpower. Thanks Nurse Di for another great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerri822 October 30, 2002

I agree that the liquid smoke was a great addition without overpowering the dish. The seasoning is on point, as is the texture. Will definitely be making again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp December 29, 2011

This clam chowder was just fabulous. So rich and creamy. Very simple to make. Thanks for posting this tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn June 30, 2009

I looked through the recipes for clam chowder and liked this the best. It was great. I added some bacon at the beginning of the chowder, but other than that I followed the recipe. I found the 1/8 tsp of liquid smoke to be perfect! I will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 June 12, 2009

Made this exactly as posted. WOW! What a terrific soup. Rich and creamy with a hit of smokyness. Hit the spot of a cold winter's day. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH January 08, 2009

Thick, creamy and deeeeelicious! I made this just as written, but added a little extra liquid smoke (the 1/8 tsp really didn't flavor the chowder too much). The herbs added a terrific flavor, too. This was a big hit at our house. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* January 04, 2009

This is an excellent clam chowder recipe. I only made two changes -- I used half & half instead of cream and I added a little more liquid smoke. I will make this reciep often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear December 19, 2008

This is by far one of the best clam chowders that I've ever eaten (and I made it!!!). So easy, and so gourmet! It was perfectly proportional in taste and the liquid smoke gave it a decidedly different (but delicious) twist. This was just right and I wouldn't change a thing. Another reviewer was right on point when he said that the chef has really good taste. Thank you for this fabulous recipe, NurseDi. This one's definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrugalGourmet April 05, 2006

Excellent this chef has great taste have made this several times I add hot peppers also have used fresh clams

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love lake February 27, 2004
Smoky Clam Chowder