Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoky Chicken and Chorizo Mexican Enchilada Baked Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoky Chicken and Chorizo Mexican Enchilada Baked Casserole

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2010

      The flavor on this was EXCELLENT - but adding the water to the salsa mixture made it like soup - the result was soggy tortillas and a weird mouth feel. Next time I dont think I'll add the water to the salsa.... Other than that it was fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      A great recipe ... used the Mexican chorizo and everything according to the recipe. It turned out perfect. And for those who mentioned soggy tortillas. Please be sure to read the intro which stated that her salsa was very thick. My salsa was average and I did not use the water and it turned out wonderful. I forgot to review this before but I'm making it again this week for a Lady I cook for and I know she will love it. She loves Mexican food. I served it with a small green salad tossed with black beans, cilantro, cucumber, and a light lime vinaigrette.

      It is a wonderful dish. I also added some diced avocado just as a side, it could be a garnish or just a nice side. Very simple.
      Excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      When I made this I bought all of the ingredients from my local mexican produce store..It was the best idea ever!!!! Usually when I make casseroles there are leftovers but with this there was nothing left. I bought the chorizo in sausage form but took it out of its casing. I really think that by doing this it added so much extra flavor to the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Had some left over smoked chicken from the previous evening and was looking for a fun twist to use it again. This was a fantastic recipe and both my 23 year old son and my husband thought it was FANTASTIC!!! as did I!! thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

    • on May 16, 2010

      I too altered the recipe slightly by using ground Chorizo, omitting the water, and using corn tortillas in place of the flour ones. It has become a family favorite of ours. Thanks French Tart for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      We altered this recipe very slightly by using ground Chorizo instead of links & did not use the water. That was the only change. My BH loved it, I personally feel that it would have been better if the chicken was grilled, then shredded and then sauteed in the spices for a bit to enhance the flavors. We used a salad of shredded lettuce with the guacamole', sour cream, a little extra cold salsa on the side and it added to the casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      The overall taste was very good, but I, too, had a problem with soggy tortillas. I will try making this again, but will probably omit the water altogether.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I have been looking for a new recipe to use left over chicken and the picture looked so good that I had to check it out. The recipe sounds GREAT and I can't wait to try it. My only problrm is I have no way to get the chorizo sausage, I can try with hot Italian sausage. Also my husband doen't like hot, so I will probably top mine with jalapeno peppers. Looking forward to this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      WOW!!!! i know, i know. ive been outta the game for a while but to come back to this!!! AMAZING!!!! my B/F and Daughter loved this SO MUCH! (of course for the lil one had to tone down the spicy) oh man, just thinkin of this a day later made my mouth water!!! keep it up woman!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      This was awesome! My husband already wants me to make this again. The only thing I changed was using corn tortillas (husband is allergic to wheat) and I added sliced avacado on top with the sour cream and cilantro. Awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoky Chicken and Chorizo Mexican Enchilada Baked Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (529 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 791.4
     
    Calories from Fat 388
    49%
    Total Fat 43.1 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 20.8 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 138.3 mg
    46%
    Sodium 2010.9 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.1 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 44.4 g
    88%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stuffed green olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites