15 Reviews

I just made this today, and it was very quick to come together, and so full of flavor! Like several other reviewers, I made just a few changes, but kept the integrity of the base recipe intact. I used a 13 oz. box of Dreamfield's low carb pasta (because two of the people I made it for are diabetic. If you haven't tried it, I highly recommend it; it tastes exactly like regular pasta, but doesn't raise blood sugar) and substituted some julienned sun dried tomatoes (packed in oil) instead of the plum tomatoes. I added a couple pinches of crushed red peppers too. And topped it off with some shredded Parmesan cheese. The dish was colorful with the fresh spinach against the red of the tomato and sausage, and the browned mushrooms. I did increase the garlic to 3 cloves from 2. And deleted the basil. This recipe is definitely a keeper, and I'll be making it again, for sure! Thanks Amber!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imatrad March 08, 2011

Although I had to sub quite a bit , the end result was basicly the same and was very tasty.Had to use wide noodles, regular turkey sausage, canned stewed tomatoes and veggie spray instead of oil. Also had some spinach to use up which I added, all in all it made a very good one pan supper, I did cook the sausage first, then drained the fat from the pan, while draining the sausage on paper towel before cutting them up. Thanks for the basic idea, next time I'll try and use the proper ingredients.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf January 19, 2006

I was looking for something fast with what minimal ingredients I have on hand. This fit the bill. Chopped up about three roma tomatoes and grilled them with the sausage and basil. Skipped the mushrooms (I don't care for them). Threw in some fresh spinach and let it cook for a couple of minutes. Will probably add onions next time while cooking sausage. Love the ease and flavor of this recipe. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 February 24, 2012

I was at the grocery store and turkey sausage was on sale so I googled turkey sausages on my phone and found this recipe. I made it tonight and it was a big hit. I followed the recipe for the most part with a few tweaks for a true one pot meal: more garlic, more basil, Emeril's Essence, red pepper flakes, kale and I finished it with Parmesan cheese and a little olive oil. Also, the picture doesn't appear to be of this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama yaya November 12, 2015

I make something very much the same, but instead of basil I use arugula. I use egg noodles too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leftover___queen April 09, 2013

Very good recipe, I will make it again. I followed the recipe exactly. If you don't add the basil, this would not be so good, like many of the other reviewers omitted and thought it was bland.
Well, follow the recipe or don't rate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherieathan February 28, 2013

We really enjoyed this recipe. I doubled it, and added baby spinach along with the sausage and mushrooms. I did have to cook off a bit of liquid. I think I'll try fat noodles next time we make it. The angel hair pasta was a little hard to incorporate with the sausage-mushroom-spinach mixture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Cook! October 10, 2012

We just made this for dinner and loved it! We omitted the mushrooms (we don't like them) and used a can of diced tomatoes thrown in to simmer after sausage and garlic were cooked through. Delicious!! We also used a locally made fresh roasted garlic & herb linguini that added a great flavor!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ltaylor82@gmail.com March 11, 2012

I have made this probably three times now and it has turned out great every time. The first time I used fresh tomatoes and kind of a spicy turkey sausage, the next time I didn't have mushrooms so subbed zucchini and used canned tomatoes and turkey keilbasa, and the last time I used the turkey keilbasa again, canned tomatoes, and fresh mushrooms. I use quinoa spaghetti due to allergies and all the flavor of this dish makes any kind of pasta taste great! Loved it, and the leftovers are even better!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
howmanybites? April 27, 2008

This was a great, quick weeknight meal. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes and added some grated parmesiano reggiono when I served it. Everyone really liked it and I'm looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim12469 February 04, 2008
Smoked Turkey Sausage With Pasta