Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoked Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoked Turkey

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2004

      I have been doing this for years myself. Three suggestions: 1. Get an electric smoker, also by Brinkmann. Saves trouble with the charcoal. 2. Get a remote digital thermometer, so you don't have to open the smoker and let the heat out. 3. If it is cold outside, place smoker under an upside down garbage can with holes in the bottom to let the smoke out, and raised on low blocks to let the air for the charcoal in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      I do two 15 pound birds at a time in my horizontal Brinkman Pitmaster. I brine them for 12 or more hours first with brown sugar, sea salt, onion, garlic, sometimes maple syrup, and any other herbs I choose. I trade the second bird out for two frozen birds with no trouble to friends and family. I smoke turkeys all year long and freeze the meat in vac packs for sandwiches or tacos, enchiladas, and hot dishes. Apple smoke works well, too. If you've never done this, do it now! Incredible flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Toby, this one is not just a home run, it's a GRAND SLAM! The 8-pound turkey breast smoked all the way through. Took 4 hours in my Brinkman smoker using Kingsford's hickory chip charcoal. Easter dinner 2009 will be topic of culinary conversations for our family for years. - Clif

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      This is "slap yo mama" bbq invented by a texican. Good god, it makes me ashamed of being from georgia. On a scale of 1 (lo) to 5 (hi), this one is a 10.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      WOW! Fantastic! We'll be doing this again for years to come.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2004

      We smoked a turkey one year for Thanksgiving and it was awesome! My dad (being from Louisiana) usually takes orders around Thanksgiving to fry turkeys. This particular Thanksgiving, he had the bright idea to smoke his Cajun turkeys. The bird was so moist and juicy! It was his best idea yet! =o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      Outstanding recipe!!!! THE ONLY IMPROVEMENT that I would make is to list the optimal temperature for the smoker. I just finished a 14 lb. turkey in under nine hours, vice the 12 hours advertised. Outstanding result... bird is delicious.... just finished before my wife did with the veggies, stuffing and the like. (I did follow the directions closely, esp. the part about start the smoker, put in bird and go back to bed). I stayed away from the smoker and obviously "lost control" of the temperature.
      I smoke on the Cabela's 7 in 1 smoker/grill manufactured by Masterbilt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Although I'm not a turkey lover for Thanksgiving, or Christmas, this turkey came out good. My husband and family really liked the smoky flavor. Since my hubby was sick and couldn't keep up with it, I had to be the one to get up at all hours of the night to check on it. All I can say is "kudos" to all men who are bbq and food smokers, because as a lady, I hardly could see the point in all the work, besides the taste. If hubby wants to do this again, he can, but I would rather prefer the simpler method of baking it....lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoked Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (639 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1301.0
     
    Calories from Fat 603
    46%
    Total Fat 67.0 g
    103%
    Saturated Fat 18.4 g
    92%
    Cholesterol 540.2 mg
    180%
    Sodium 516.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 162.2 g
    324%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon & herb seasoning

    wood chunks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites