Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoked Sausage, Taters, Peppers and Onions Country Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoked Sausage, Taters, Peppers and Onions Country Style

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2011

      MY family loved these potatoes. I did not measure the sausage, I just kept adding until the amount looked about right for us. I did add a Knorr beef cube and some black pepper. This was an easy dish to prepare with great results. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      This was good. But, I also completely modified the recipe. I just up the potatoes, onions & added celery. I sauteed those while I cut the sausage and a red pepper. Add them to the sauteed veggies added 1/2 cup chicken broth and let it simmer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Thanks for such a great, easy recipe. I followed the recipe pretty closely only adding a couple of small tomatoes cut up and some garlic/pepper season salt (after checking the saltiness of the sausage). It was soooo good. This got thumbs up from both husband and daughter. This is one of those great recipes that is quick and includes ingredients I always have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      YUM! Absolutely delicious and couldn't be easier. I read the other reviews and noticed a couple people questioned the "1/4 cup" water, as I did, but because the reviewers said that amount worked, I used it. Just perfect! It didn't need a drop more water. I'm polishing off my second bowlful and it's so good! This recipe is definitely a keeper and satisfies all requirements for "good aroma, quick, comforting, filling, and delicious!" Thank you, smiley-face.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2004

      I started making this about 5 years ago, coming up with the combination on my own. And all this time I thought I was being original! Oh well. I did start preparing this a bit differently, tho, after a few too often complaints of "crunchy potatoes" from my DH. It seemed that there were always a few potatoes that were not quite "all the way done" inside. So I started parboiling the potatoes first. Then I drain them and add the rest of the ingredients and continue till everything's done. And of course, I have to make sure we have ketchup for this - my kids seem to think ketchup is it's own food group. Protein group, dairy group, grains group, veggie group, ketchup group. And they do their best to meet or exceed the Recommended Daily Allowance!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      A very easy (yet tasty) one pot meal. Made as posted and its delicious. Equally as delicious with a sliced jalapeno added. I like to slice the sausage and then slightly brown it before adding the veggies and add a chicken bouillon cube to the 1/4 cup of water. Make plenty, as this is even better the second day! Thanks for a fun and easy recipie, Smiley_Face !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      This recipe is a keeper for me! I put just enough water to barely cover the potatoes, which was over double the amount called for. Most of it simmered out, and I didn't think that affected anything, but next time I will try the 1/4 cup the recipe called for. I, too, added a bouillon cube (chicken), black pepper, and garlic powder to taste. I also waited until the last few minutes to add the peppers and onions to retain texture. My family loved it and only wished I'd made more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Taste good. Used chicken broth and seasoning. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      Absolutely delicious as is. I did have to add just a bit more water only because the pan that I used doesn't have a snug fitting lid. Had this with cornbread. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      I thought this was ok. I added some beef bullion and black pepper like another reviewer suggested as well as some cajun seasoning. I also added a can of diced tomatoes. I still think it could have used more seasoning. It was extremely quick and easy to put together. Nice change of pace from what we usually have. Leftovers tasted better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      Dang tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      Very good recipe!!! I have made this twice this week, once with bratwurst and once with chorizo; both are tasty and delicious. I also added some corn on the cob to the chorizo and it fit in perfectly. Thanks for a delicious meal that I'm adding to my regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Good dish-quick and easy! Definitely needs seasoning. I think next time I will make some country gravy to go on top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      This was good, not great though. I sauteed with a bit of olive oil and only seasoned with salt and pepper.
      It satisfied us though, and while not in a regular rotation will probably be repeated in a, quick I need something for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      It was quick and easy but that's about all I can say about it. I'm afraid I wasn't at all impressed with this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      So I thought I had a bell pepper when I started this... but alas, it went missing... so I added 2 jalapeno and 2 carrots instead... I also used chicken broth instead of water for a bit more flavor... and OMG! It turned out wonderfully!!! Smelled so good cooking... and DH just gobbled his up!! Thanks for a keeper recipe smiley_face!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This is really one of the easiest meals to make and has great flavor. Usually my green pepper and onion end up over done so I add them after 10 minutes. Also like to make sure whichever kielbasa I get isn't too greasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I used Prodohmes blackening steak magic on it, and swapped brocolli for green beans. It was superb! Thanks for a new meal for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      I agree with No Gluten 100%. Did the same, made it with Turkey Smoked Sausage and was amazed at how good these few items were together. Also great the next day with eggs and/or white sausage gravy and/or cheese. It's permanently added to my recipe tin. Thanks Smiley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Definitely a keeper - but seasoning is a must. I took other reviewer's advice and added Lawry's Seasoning Salt while cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoked Sausage, Taters, Peppers and Onions Country Style

    Serving Size: 1 (388 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 526.2
     
    Calories from Fat 291
    55%
    Total Fat 32.3 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 69.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 955.6 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites