62 Reviews

This was good. But, I also completely modified the recipe. I just up the potatoes, onions & added celery. I sauteed those while I cut the sausage and a red pepper. Add them to the sauteed veggies added 1/2 cup chicken broth and let it simmer.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY December 03, 2009

MY family loved these potatoes. I did not measure the sausage, I just kept adding until the amount looked about right for us. I did add a Knorr beef cube and some black pepper. This was an easy dish to prepare with great results. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada July 28, 2011

Thanks for such a great, easy recipe. I followed the recipe pretty closely only adding a couple of small tomatoes cut up and some garlic/pepper season salt (after checking the saltiness of the sausage). It was soooo good. This got thumbs up from both husband and daughter. This is one of those great recipes that is quick and includes ingredients I always have on hand.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taratoo August 08, 2008

Very good recipe!!! I have made this twice this week, once with bratwurst and once with chorizo; both are tasty and delicious. I also added some corn on the cob to the chorizo and it fit in perfectly. Thanks for a delicious meal that I'm adding to my regular rotation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
turbotess August 11, 2011

YUM! Absolutely delicious and couldn't be easier. I read the other reviews and noticed a couple people questioned the "1/4 cup" water, as I did, but because the reviewers said that amount worked, I used it. Just perfect! It didn't need a drop more water. I'm polishing off my second bowlful and it's so good! This recipe is definitely a keeper and satisfies all requirements for "good aroma, quick, comforting, filling, and delicious!" Thank you, smiley-face.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cakebaker21 January 01, 2007

I started making this about 5 years ago, coming up with the combination on my own. And all this time I thought I was being original! Oh well. I did start preparing this a bit differently, tho, after a few too often complaints of "crunchy potatoes" from my DH. It seemed that there were always a few potatoes that were not quite "all the way done" inside. So I started parboiling the potatoes first. Then I drain them and add the rest of the ingredients and continue till everything's done. And of course, I have to make sure we have ketchup for this - my kids seem to think ketchup is it's own food group. Protein group, dairy group, grains group, veggie group, ketchup group. And they do their best to meet or exceed the Recommended Daily Allowance!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatBobbieGirl October 27, 2004

I followed the recipe and did not alter it as other did. It was edible but that's about all I could say about it. I promised my kids I wouldn't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina H. December 29, 2015

This looks wonderful and as soon as I'm done typing I'm going to go make it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LN Grill October 23, 2015

A very easy (yet tasty) one pot meal. Made as posted and its delicious. Equally as delicious with a sliced jalapeno added. I like to slice the sausage and then slightly brown it before adding the veggies and add a chicken bouillon cube to the 1/4 cup of water. Make plenty, as this is even better the second day! Thanks for a fun and easy recipie, Smiley_Face !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueski January 27, 2014

This recipe is a keeper for me! I put just enough water to barely cover the potatoes, which was over double the amount called for. Most of it simmered out, and I didn't think that affected anything, but next time I will try the 1/4 cup the recipe called for. I, too, added a bouillon cube (chicken), black pepper, and garlic powder to taste. I also waited until the last few minutes to add the peppers and onions to retain texture. My family loved it and only wished I'd made more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetz917 September 26, 2012
Smoked Sausage, Taters, Peppers and Onions Country Style