9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family loves this, I had the issue of the mag. it came from and have made it more then enough times, I am glad to have found it on here because during our move I lost the magazine. I don't put the broccoli in there because my husband isn't a fan but its still great without it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsTasha April 21, 2010

This was a great, quick meal for us on a busy night. I doubled the recipe, but used frozen spinach instead of brocolli, and omitted the peppers and onion (kiddos and hubby won't eat them). Everyone ate it up, and my 4-year-old said she loved it! One thing I would recommend is not over-boiling the sauce as I did, since it evaporated some and I would've liked it more saucy. Thanks for sharing this one, it'll become a part of our rotation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberlym480 February 23, 2010

This is such a joy to make for dinner after a day's work or shopping! DH and I love this dish. Made as directed with one small exception: to thicken up the sauce a bit, DH added a tablespoon of cream mixed with a tablespoon of arrowroot. Thanks, Hokieslady! Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 03, 2010

This is a great recipe! It is my son's favorite dinner. I always double it when I make it and add in yellow summer squash with the vegetables.I add minced garlic in with the sausage and water(I brown the sausage first, then add the water and garlic and simmer for the eight minutes). The sauce looks so thin at first, but after tossing it with the pasta and Parmesan cheese, if you let it stand for 10 minutes before serving, tossing it occasionally, it thickens up and clings to the noodles beautifully.Fresh ground black pepper and crushed red pepper flakes give this a yummy kick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 December 09, 2009

This is very good. I like the change from the usual primavera to using smoke sausage. It really gave the spaghetti and sauce a great flavor. I did double the sauce and used fat-free evaporated milk. Thanks for sharing! Made for Gimme 5 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 February 27, 2009

This was a nice, simple, hearty dish--easy and quick to throw together. I used a smoked turkey keilbasa, and I added baby carrots quartered lengthwise, some garlic and black pepper, and increased the cheese. I think it was enough to feed at least 6 people, depending on appetites; it filled a 3 1/2 quart saucepan almost to the top. Now, I must admit that I did not like it--but that was not the fault of the recipe, as I just disliked the kielbasa I used. As the flavor of the sausage permeates the entire dish, I really didn't like the taste. However, if I can manage to find a sausage that DH & I can both eat (nigh-impossible for kielbasa-type sausages), I think I'd love this dish. I'm not penalizing the recipe rating for the flavor of the sausage. Also, the sausage and butter added plenty of salt for our tastes, but we don't use much salt, so others may want to add a bit to taste. Overall, I'd make it again if I can solve the sausage problem (maybe I should just start making our own! ;) ). Thanks for posting, HokiesLady! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve January 17, 2009

this was really good. i did add extra parm chz, a good amount of salt and a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes like someone else suggested though. i realize primavera isn't supposed to be super flavorful but i thought it was missing just a little. thanks for posting, i'm gonna have fun adding new things to this already yummy dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cass and sam January 07, 2009

Quick and Easy! I did make several changes. I doubled the sauce, kept the pasta the same, used fresh broccoli, 2 cups, and cooked the onion with the sausage. I also doubled the sausage. I had to add some cornstarch and water to the liquid with the sausages, probably because I doubled the sauce. But it turned out quite tastey. Made for 123 Zaar Tag. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 23, 2008

What a nice easy and delicious meal! I like the way you just boil the vegies with the pasta. I used peas instead of broccoli as that is what I had on hand. Next time I think I will had some red pepper flakes to the sauage. Made for Camerless Chef #5. Thanks Hokieslady.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana June 09, 2008
Smoked Sausage Primavera