27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a staple meal for me growing up in Indiana. It has a delightfully simple taste. Works well with fresh, frozen or canned green beans, and various kinds of sausage, though I prefer a smoked sausage. It is well complemented by a little apple cider vinegar or sourdough bread, as well as parsley and dill.

When I prepare this for friends in California, I usually make it as a soup or stew, replacing the water with stock and bouillon and allowing the potatoes to cook until they begin falling apart, adding enough flour (mixed with cooled broth before adding to the pot) to obtain the desired consistency. Quinoa is also a delicious addition.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IncorrigiblyCorey April 08, 2011

This was very good and easy to make. It also makes great leftovers. I drained most of the juices right before serving. I did use onion powder instead of onions as I don't care for onions (but, I always do that) Otherwise made to specifications. Great kid friendly dish! I also froze 2 servings (with juices). When thawed and reheated I removed juice. It was just like the first day! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefcrystal March 12, 2008

We loved this but I did change it up a bit. I used a pound and a half of smoked sausage, 2 28 ounce cans of green beans with potatoes, a cup of diced onions and used the juice from one can of the beans. I browned the sausage and then added the onion and then the rest of the ingredients. I let it simmer on the stove for about two hours. The longer it sat, the better it got.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol August 08, 2011

I grew up in Indiana, and I also grew up on this recipe. My mom made this about once a month or so when I was little. I make it for my family now. Great, easy and very filling ....=-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
april418_10378342 April 27, 2011

I remade this recipe on 2/26/11,for mine and my SO's dinner, and I have to say" It's just as good if not better than when I first made it in May 2006 ".This time around I used sliced canned potatoes and 1 14.5 ounce can of green beans. It was pure " Comfort Food " that still makes me think of my Mom. Thank again for the wonderful memories.:)
Original Review May 11, 2006:
when i saw this recipe i knew i had to make it, this is the same sort of thing my mom used to make.i did change the way it was cooked though. since there was only two of us i used half of the sausage and potatoes and the full amount of the green beans,i diced the onions instead of slicing them. i browned the sausage and onion in a little canola oil in a large skillet,after they were browned i added the green beans, i used the bean juice for the liquid, instead of the water.then i turned down the heat and let it simmer until almost all the liquid had absorbed,added the potatoes and about a 1/2 cup of water.i covered it with a lid a let it simmer for another 20 minutes.total cooking time for me doing it this way was about 1 1/2 hours,but it was so well worth it.i served this with Kfc Biscuits.
this will be made again and again.thank you so much for posting.and thank you for bringing back a few memories of my mom :).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � March 04, 2011

This was simple and very good You can't much more simple. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stiles July 07, 2010

This was extremely easy to make, just felt like it was lacking something. Didn't taste quite like I remember having growing up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley65 May 11, 2010

This was a great meal! Since it was my first time making it, I made it just as the recipe states. I loved it just as it is! I used smoked turkey kielbasa and I served mine with corn muffins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly #5 February 09, 2010

This is a nothing fancy, but a very comforting and hearty meal! Like other reviewers, I don't think this is a Midwest thing....we didn't use Kielbasa, but had this often using Conecuh County Smoked Sausage. I think everyone in the south just used the closest and best sausage maker for their sausage! After all, the fresher the better! I used fresh green beans and conecuh sausage. This came together very quickly for a weeknight meal. Thanks for sharing! Made for Fav's of 2009 Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 02, 2010

This is a great, easy, comfort food! Tagged in Kid Friendly and all my kids loved it. This is similar to another recipe I tried, Old South Green Beans and Potatoes, with the addition of the kielbasa. I used frozen gr. beans and added chopped garlic, butter (after drained) and sometimes we like it with Ranch dressing. My 9 yo said, "You have to keep that one." UPDATE: This made it into my Top Fav's of 2009 cookbook. Original Review 2-23-09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead January 04, 2010
Smoked Sausage, Green Beans, and Potatoes