Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoked Sausage, Green Beans, and Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoked Sausage, Green Beans, and Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2011

      This was a staple meal for me growing up in Indiana. It has a delightfully simple taste. Works well with fresh, frozen or canned green beans, and various kinds of sausage, though I prefer a smoked sausage. It is well complemented by a little apple cider vinegar or sourdough bread, as well as parsley and dill.

      When I prepare this for friends in California, I usually make it as a soup or stew, replacing the water with stock and bouillon and allowing the potatoes to cook until they begin falling apart, adding enough flour (mixed with cooled broth before adding to the pot) to obtain the desired consistency. Quinoa is also a delicious addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      This was very good and easy to make. It also makes great leftovers. I drained most of the juices right before serving. I did use onion powder instead of onions as I don't care for onions (but, I always do that) Otherwise made to specifications. Great kid friendly dish! I also froze 2 servings (with juices). When thawed and reheated I removed juice. It was just like the first day! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      We loved this but I did change it up a bit. I used a pound and a half of smoked sausage, 2 28 ounce cans of green beans with potatoes, a cup of diced onions and used the juice from one can of the beans. I browned the sausage and then added the onion and then the rest of the ingredients. I let it simmer on the stove for about two hours. The longer it sat, the better it got.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      I grew up in Indiana, and I also grew up on this recipe. My mom made this about once a month or so when I was little. I make it for my family now. Great, easy and very filling ....=-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      I remade this recipe on 2/26/11,for mine and my SO's dinner, and I have to say" It's just as good if not better than when I first made it in May 2006 ".This time around I used sliced canned potatoes and 1 14.5 ounce can of green beans. It was pure " Comfort Food " that still makes me think of my Mom. Thank again for the wonderful memories.:)
      Original Review May 11, 2006:
      when i saw this recipe i knew i had to make it, this is the same sort of thing my mom used to make.i did change the way it was cooked though. since there was only two of us i used half of the sausage and potatoes and the full amount of the green beans,i diced the onions instead of slicing them. i browned the sausage and onion in a little canola oil in a large skillet,after they were browned i added the green beans, i used the bean juice for the liquid, instead of the water.then i turned down the heat and let it simmer until almost all the liquid had absorbed,added the potatoes and about a 1/2 cup of water.i covered it with a lid a let it simmer for another 20 minutes.total cooking time for me doing it this way was about 1 1/2 hours,but it was so well worth it.i served this with Kfc Biscuits.
      this will be made again and again.thank you so much for posting.and thank you for bringing back a few memories of my mom :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This was simple and very good You can't much more simple. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      This was extremely easy to make, just felt like it was lacking something. Didn't taste quite like I remember having growing up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      This was a great meal! Since it was my first time making it, I made it just as the recipe states. I loved it just as it is! I used smoked turkey kielbasa and I served mine with corn muffins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      This is a nothing fancy, but a very comforting and hearty meal! Like other reviewers, I don't think this is a Midwest thing....we didn't use Kielbasa, but had this often using Conecuh County Smoked Sausage. I think everyone in the south just used the closest and best sausage maker for their sausage! After all, the fresher the better! I used fresh green beans and conecuh sausage. This came together very quickly for a weeknight meal. Thanks for sharing! Made for Fav's of 2009 Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This is a great, easy, comfort food! Tagged in Kid Friendly and all my kids loved it. This is similar to another recipe I tried, Old South Green Beans and Potatoes, with the addition of the kielbasa. I used frozen gr. beans and added chopped garlic, butter (after drained) and sometimes we like it with Ranch dressing. My 9 yo said, "You have to keep that one." UPDATE: This made it into my Top Fav's of 2009 cookbook. Original Review 2-23-09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      I don't know about the Midwest thing I grew up in Charleston SC, and my grandma made it, and she had grown up in PA. Though my grandfather was in the navy and she could have picked it up during the time they lived out that way. Either way this is the kind of recipe that when you walk in with the house smelling of this no matter where you are you are home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I think you are right about this being a Midwest thing. My Grandmother and Mother made this for us as kids growing up. Every summer when the green beans came on and the new potatoes were ready to be dug, we'd have a big pot of this. I saute my smoked sausage to brown it good, then throw the onion in to sweat. If using fresh green beans, you need to trim and snap them into inch long pieces and add enough water to come up about halfway to the beans. They'll release moisture as they cook down. Mom and Grandma always added beef bouillon (I use beef base) for seasoning. Add some freshly ground black pepper and maybe some sprigs of time. Add your potatoes about 20-30 minutes before you're ready to eat so they can get tender. We always serve this with Worcestershire sauce on the side so you can sprinkle this over your green beans and taters. That puts this over the top! And if you are using commercially canned green beans, just add the liquid from the beans. No need to drain. Thanks for sharing this wonderful meal Amanda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Best feature: easy to make. Used frozen green beans. Probably would brown potatoes a little before boiling. Serves way more than 4 people! Could you make in a slow cooker?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      We have this at our house often. With one addition to the recipe. We top ours with shredded cheddar cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This was wonderful. I did cook the green beans separate from the potatoes and the sausage because i don't like the way they taste straight from the can. I added them in once the potatoes were close to being done. Very good and quick meal on a cold winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Quick, easy and really good. My boys devoured this one and really loved it. I did make some minor changes, added carrots, chopped the onion rather than slice, and I used a can of chicken broth instead of water. I also added just a pinch of red pepper flakes for a little kick. Served with hot biscuits, this was definitely a keeper!! Thanks for sharing this one :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This was super easy for an after-church lunch, but it was lacking flavor. I used half chicken broth and half water and I added garlic, but it was still bland. Maybe we will experiment with it a little more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      A BIG hit with me!!! I scaled it down to half as there is just me and had no problems.. it was wonderful.. it is a supper I would of thrown together for myself (all separately) and thought WOW what a GRAND Idea all in ONE pot!!!!!! I didn't drain the green beans though just used less water..and just because I am me..had to add a wee little garlic..1 small clove that I sliced thin..& I left the onions the same amount if I hadn't halved it) it was WONDERFUL my house smelled so good...and it took less than 1 hour from beginning to end... so I feel you times are right on the money & I'm not the fastest in the kitchen anymore.. I did take a dish to my neighbor lady's home..(she is a widow) and she loved it too..so a 5 from both of us + she said even though she "hates cooking for 1" (too much waste) she would do this recipe so I wrote down exactly how I did it for 2 (and the 2 are a very nice sized serving) and she was thrilled..told her of your idea of serving potatoes to the side BUT she loved the idea of 1 pot too..easier for us "older" ladies to clean up ANYWAY I thank you for this quick and delicious recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      This was one of those rare recipes that everyone(picky husband and 5 kids) loved and said to make again. I doubled the recipe and added some garlic while it was cooking. I cooked the potatoes just a touch too long and will shorten the cooking time next time. I also added a good tablespoon of butter after draining the juice off. I made biscuits to go with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Comfort food at its best! Yum! So easy to prepare and delicious with biscuits! I used the full pound of kielbasa, cut into bite sized pieces which I browned first in the skillet. Then I drained off a little of the fat, but not too much since that is where that flavor comes from... Then I sauteed the onions in with the sausage and added the liquid from the green beans. After that simmered for about 20 minutes, I added 3 med red potatoes with the skin on and about another cup of water. I put the lid on and let it simmer for another 20 minutes or so... I smelled so good on the stove that it drove my BF crazy, as I caught him trying to sneak some samples before dinner. I did not add any extra salt as the liquid from the green beans was quite salty, but I did add almost a full tsp of pepper. I will be making this again and again... But next time I think I will add another can of green beans ( no salt added ) since I love green beans and there didn't seem enough to go around for us! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoked Sausage, Green Beans, and Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (545 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 583.9
     
    Calories from Fat 284
    48%
    Total Fat 31.5 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 74.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1049.5 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 22.1 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes