27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my DH, and if the yummy sounds are any indication, then it is definitely 5 stars! I don't normally like things with cooked apples, but I really liked the mixture of the sour and the sweet here! I used turkey smoked sausgae. This was delicious! ZWT7 - Shady Ladies

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie June 29, 2011

I admit it - I wasn't sure how the apple juice, apple & brown sugar would affect this dish, but I jumped in with both feet and was so glad I did! I did do a few things differently. I always taste my saurekraut first, and if it has a strong taste (which it did) I rinse it until the taste is palatable. Since I removed a lot of the "tangy taste" I used only 1 tablespoon of brown SugarTwin in place of the brown sugar. This, along with the apple juice provided a wonderful taste sensation! Next time I make this, I will cut my apple in smaller pieces (it's a texture thing). Oh, I used white fingerling potatoes which I halved. I cooked this in a covered frying pan. Delicious! Made for Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook Tag-Feb'10.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet PQ? February 11, 2010

I really liked this recipe and will make it again, but with less sugar.
This sounds like a great recipe to cook for the 30 homeless men we cook for daily at my church.
I am going to try baking it after browning the sausage and onions.
Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
derek01 July 16, 2012

Fantastic recipe! This was so easy to make and it tasted great. I made it as written and really enjoyed the apple and brown sugar with the kraut. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7-Switzerland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 14, 2011

My dh & I loved, loved, this dish. It was awesome, so many textures and so much flavor. We really enjoyed the tart, tangy, sweet, vegetables and sausage. Made exactly as written, just cut in half for the two of us. I used wine sauerkraut and knackwurst sausage along with fresh ground sea salt and black pepper. Thanks so much for sharing a recipe that I will make often BakinBaby.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato April 12, 2011

I was not disappointed whatsoever, but I feel like the recipe was too sweet in general. I even reduced the amount of brown sugar by half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Virgo November 24, 2010

I made this for lunch today, but omitted the potatoes, as I served this dish with mashed potatoes on the side. I saute'd the thinly sliced onions in 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil for approximately 5 minutes. (I also seasoned the onions with black pepper.) I cut the smoked sausage into 2-inch pieces, and placed them over the cooked onions. I placed the sliced apples in and around the smoked sausage. Topped the sausages and apples with a home-made sauerkraut, (I used exactly 1 lb. 5 oz.) and sprinkled on a bit more of the black pepper. I then poured a 1/2 cup of the apple juice over the kraut. I sprinkled a 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar over the kraut, and then poured the remaining 1/2 cup of apple juice over all. The next time I make this, I will decrease the amount of brown sugar, and will probably just use 6 tablespoons. If using a home-made or store bought (bagged) kraut for this recipe, I think one would need to add a 1/3 to a 1/2 cup of the brown sugar, but if using a (14-15 oz.) can, I think one should cut back on the brown sugar quite a bit, as the canned stuff is less tart, and your adding less sauerkraut to the recipe. I cooked this for exactly 40 mins., but next time I will cook it for 30 to 35 minutes, so the apples aren't overcooked. Next time I will won't slice the apple too thin either. The end results, I really enjoyed this dish. Thanks for posting this recipe BakinBaby. It was very good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess October 24, 2009

I'm not a big kraut fan, but this was pretty good. A little on the sweeter side...if I make again, I'll probably go a little lighter on the sugar, maybe start with a 1/4 cup. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal W October 16, 2009

This was WONDERFUL!! DH really loved it... so much so, he asked for it to be a "keeper!" Thank you so much for an easy recipe with great results!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy October 13, 2009
Smoked Sausage, Apples and Sauerkraut