Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoked Sausage and White Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoked Sausage and White Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2013

      Absolute best bean soup ever. Made about half, with the following things:
      48 oz. jar great northerns
      2 T. truffle-flavored olive oil
      1/2 lb. hungarian sausage
      1 c. chopped onion
      3 garlic cloves
      1 bay leaf
      1.5 t. dried thyme
      4 c. chicken broth
      1/2 t. black pepper
      1/4 t. cayenne

      Brown sausage (5-6 min); remove. Soften olive couple minutes; add garlic 1 min. Add broth, spices and sausage. Bring to boil; lower heat. When simmer, add beans. Simmer 30-45 min. Smash a few of the beans before serving.

      I think the truffle-flavored olive oil added some nice depth, as did the Hungarian sausage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      5 stars for sure! I cut the recipe in half, used 4 cups of stock and 1 cup of water. I like our soups to be kind of thick so I also scooped out some of the beans, pureed them, then stirred them back into the soup shortly before serving it. It smelled wonderful while cooking, and I did let it sit on the stove and simmer probably for 3 or 3 1/2 hours, so the beans were nice and soft & the meat was super tender and tasty. This will definately be made again in our house- even my 1 year old liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I made this recipe on 10/11/10 for mine and SO's dinner. I did make a couple of changes, but I don't think the changes affected the end result. Here's what was done to the recipe, instead of using navy beans great northern were used. I used 1 /12 to 2 teaspoons of ground thyme instead of the sprigs. Also like some of the other reviewers, I used only 5 cups of chicken broth. Other than the changes stated,the recipe was made as it was written. This was so good, and the broth was nicely seasoned. Since it was way more than two people could eat, the rest was frozen for another yummy " Comfort Meal ". Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      SUPER yummy! I used 2 Eckridge smoked turkey sausage links, sliced (did not brown) <br/>Followed recipe using 2 cans of beans > smashed some to thicken the soup, used half the cayenne and that was plenty of heat for my heat loving family. Made for a great lunch the 2nd day. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      I adjusted the recipe to cook all day in the crock pot. The onion was sauteed in a touch of olive oil and a carrot, celery and bell pepper added to the pot. The sausage was lightly browned and added about an hour before serving time. The soup was served with cornbread, green onions and a dash or 2 of Tabasco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      Excellent! Used canned great northern beans and a sweet chicken sausage from Trader Joe's...we finished it off entirely! Reduced the broth a bit and then added some water later to thin out how salty it was (but that may have been the particular sausage). Overall, a fantastic easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Good! I added some cut-up fresh tomatoes I had on hand and next time I'm going to add some cut-up carrots. I will not add salt next time and add some canned white beans (garbonzo and white beans) to stretch the recipe. I loved the spicy flavor the garlic and cayenne pepper gave the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I just made this and it was Awesome! The broth is so flavorful. I did use 2 cans of great northern beans instead of dried beans. I simmered the soup for 30 min. I used 7 cups of broth to dilute all that pepper. Everyone loved this and I will be making this again for sure, thanks for posting Wendy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      used 5 cups of stock as suggested by 4QTpies and it was perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      This is a delicious soup! I was looking for something different to serve my family and this one definately delivered on the taste. I didn't have navy beans, so I took a suggestion here and used a can each of baby butter beans and garbonzo beans (stayed with the "white" beans in the title). For the liquid, I only used 5 cups of chicken stock and this was plenty for us. I can't wait to make this one again...and again...and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      wonderful soup. I served it with crusty bread and dipped up all the good "soup" juices

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Love this!!! Great comfort food. The only things I did different were reduce the amount of liquid by 8 cups to make it more of a stew, used dried thyme in the place of fresh, and used great northern beans because they are what I had on hand. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      I may have changed this recipe too much to fairly rate it. We really liked this soup. I used northern beans due to what I had on hand. I also boiled off a turkey carcas that we had smoked earlier in the day and used the broth from that as well as the meat that fell off the bones. I also used dried thyme and I did not have cayenne pepper so I used chipolte chili powder instead. So with all that said the soup has great bones and too many cooks did not spoil the broth. Thanks Wendy for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      I felt the amount of liquid was way too much as the broth was really thin and excessive. Next time I'll either cut the water out and still use the dried beans or use Bev's suggestions for a quicker version and cut even more of the liquid. It was a bit spicy but still very good. I served with grilled cheese sandwiches. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      Simply wonderful for a nice hearty bowl of soup! I had to abbreviate this recipe slightly discovering I needed a soup in a hurry. I used canned butter beans to replace the dry navy beans, shortening the cooking time, but not the flavor of this delicious soup! I served with corn bread. Thank you, Wendy@TN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoked Sausage and White Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (7307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 7081.2
     
    Calories from Fat 3884
    54%
    Total Fat 431.5 g
    663%
    Saturated Fat 139.0 g
    695%
    Cholesterol 893.5 mg
    297%
    Sodium 18078.5 mg
    753%
    Total Carbohydrate 481.7 g
    160%
    Dietary Fiber 71.1 g
    284%
    Sugars 57.3 g
    229%
    Protein 307.2 g
    614%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites