15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolute best bean soup ever. Made about half, with the following things:
48 oz. jar great northerns
2 T. truffle-flavored olive oil
1/2 lb. hungarian sausage
1 c. chopped onion
3 garlic cloves
1 bay leaf
1.5 t. dried thyme
4 c. chicken broth
1/2 t. black pepper
1/4 t. cayenne

Brown sausage (5-6 min); remove. Soften olive couple minutes; add garlic 1 min. Add broth, spices and sausage. Bring to boil; lower heat. When simmer, add beans. Simmer 30-45 min. Smash a few of the beans before serving.

I think the truffle-flavored olive oil added some nice depth, as did the Hungarian sausage.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. January 24, 2013

5 stars for sure! I cut the recipe in half, used 4 cups of stock and 1 cup of water. I like our soups to be kind of thick so I also scooped out some of the beans, pureed them, then stirred them back into the soup shortly before serving it. It smelled wonderful while cooking, and I did let it sit on the stove and simmer probably for 3 or 3 1/2 hours, so the beans were nice and soft & the meat was super tender and tasty. This will definately be made again in our house- even my 1 year old liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly November 11, 2010

I made this recipe on 10/11/10 for mine and SO's dinner. I did make a couple of changes, but I don't think the changes affected the end result. Here's what was done to the recipe, instead of using navy beans great northern were used. I used 1 /12 to 2 teaspoons of ground thyme instead of the sprigs. Also like some of the other reviewers, I used only 5 cups of chicken broth. Other than the changes stated,the recipe was made as it was written. This was so good, and the broth was nicely seasoned. Since it was way more than two people could eat, the rest was frozen for another yummy " Comfort Meal ". Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � October 12, 2010

SUPER yummy! I used 2 Eckridge smoked turkey sausage links, sliced (did not brown) <br/>Followed recipe using 2 cans of beans > smashed some to thicken the soup, used half the cayenne and that was plenty of heat for my heat loving family. Made for a great lunch the 2nd day. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour February 26, 2014

I adjusted the recipe to cook all day in the crock pot. The onion was sauteed in a touch of olive oil and a carrot, celery and bell pepper added to the pot. The sausage was lightly browned and added about an hour before serving time. The soup was served with cornbread, green onions and a dash or 2 of Tabasco.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 11, 2011

Excellent! Used canned great northern beans and a sweet chicken sausage from Trader Joe's...we finished it off entirely! Reduced the broth a bit and then added some water later to thin out how salty it was (but that may have been the particular sausage). Overall, a fantastic easy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Captain's Lady September 11, 2010

Good! I added some cut-up fresh tomatoes I had on hand and next time I'm going to add some cut-up carrots. I will not add salt next time and add some canned white beans (garbonzo and white beans) to stretch the recipe. I loved the spicy flavor the garlic and cayenne pepper gave the soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
100% me February 13, 2010

I just made this and it was Awesome! The broth is so flavorful. I did use 2 cans of great northern beans instead of dried beans. I simmered the soup for 30 min. I used 7 cups of broth to dilute all that pepper. Everyone loved this and I will be making this again for sure, thanks for posting Wendy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z December 19, 2009

used 5 cups of stock as suggested by 4QTpies and it was perfect

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
olivia.varnell December 19, 2008

This is a delicious soup! I was looking for something different to serve my family and this one definately delivered on the taste. I didn't have navy beans, so I took a suggestion here and used a can each of baby butter beans and garbonzo beans (stayed with the "white" beans in the title). For the liquid, I only used 5 cups of chicken stock and this was plenty for us. I can't wait to make this one again...and again...and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4QTpies October 09, 2008
Smoked Sausage and White Bean Soup