Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoked Salmon Spread (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoked Salmon Spread (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2013

      I found this recipe at Food Network and had to try it. Good stuff. You could dip anything in a recipe with a base of cream cheese and sour cream. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      This recipe caught my eye because the write up on the internet claimed it used ingredients you have around the house. I don't have smoked salmon nor fresh dill laying around the house so I had to substitute. I used a 5oz can of skinless boneless salmon. I drained it well and flaked it in to a bowl. I added a few drops of liquid smoke and let it set for about an hour. I used 1/2tsp of dill weed in place of the fresh dill. I added 1/2tsp smoked paprika and a few drops of Frank's hot sauce to add a little bite. The horseradish is a nice touch. It went over very well. I'll go by the recipe the next time I smoke a salmon and fresh dill is available.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Delicious! I particularly like the addition of the horseradish. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      Not sure how you say Yum in Scandinavian - but this was yum! Very simple to make and was great with crackers. I added a little more horseradish just because I really like the zing. Thanks cookiedog for a nice treat. Made by a fellow Unruly Under the Influence for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      Creamy, rich tasting and with just that little bit of zip from the horseradish floating around in the background. I appreciated there not being any onion in this as raw onion is one of the few food items I just can't bare to eat and it features in so many dip and salad recipes. I used the reduced fat versions of both the cream cheese and sour cream to allow most of the fat in the dip to be from the healthy fats in the smoked salmon. I had this spread on some rice cakes for my lunch. Made for Zee Zany Zesty Cookz for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This was very good and enjoyed by everyone. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      I am in love with this spread. Seriously. Made it exactly how it is listed. It's even better the longer it sits in the fridge; the flavors mingle together really well. Now my mouth is watering...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Absolutely beautiful in color, taste, and treat. After a long hot day, this was so good to sit down and enjoy. I used Nova Scotia thinly sliced smoked salmon, which sat beautifully on cucumbers, capers, red onions and dill. I added fresh horseradish, and wonderfully homemade cream cheese. Mine sat for the day, until evening when all the flavors had come together, and it was a bite from heaven. Thank you so much, cookiedog! Made for *ZWT4* June 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Great spread! Easy to make. I didn't let it sit as recommended but we still really enjoyed it! Thanks! Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      I made the spread without the smoked salmon.I serve Pacific smoked salmon on the side and added a bit on each cracker as well as capers and chopped onions. Turned out so good; the horseradish surprised me but added a nice flavour.Thanks for posting. I made this for WT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      I love this! The horseradish really gives it a nice flavor. I love the lemon and also added a little lemon zest. Very creamy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      delicious, simple, but always impresses. the horseradish is crucial, and I think it could use bit more lemon mysef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Can this really get better after 2 days?! Mixed this up tonight for a wine tasting party on Wednesday. I can barely hold myself back from licking the bowl! Already it smells and tastes soooo good. Great combination of flavors! I am so glad I found this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      I had this at a friend's house and it was great...and I am neither wild about smoke salmon or dill. We had it with corn chips which may not be to the gourmet standards of the Contessa but is very yummy. My friend's father has a smoker and supplied the salmon giving the dip a leap in quality, IMHO. Easy to prepare, my kind of recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I made this for a baby shower, and everyone loved it, even children! I served it with cucumber slices and mini bagel halves, and it got all eaten. I did adjust the salt, since salmon can be salty, and I added 1/4 tsp. more black pepper, but after that, it was really good! Thanks for posting this recipe, because I noticed it has expired off of the Food Network website.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Honestly, I'm not a fish person, but I had a gathering at my home with about 40 women so I decided to try it. Unfortunately, it was the only appetizer that was left on the table and the only one that no one asked for the recipe. I followed the directions exactly as written and made it two days ahead as instructed. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I'm so happy this is on here-thank you for posting! This dip really is the bomb dot com. I get so many compliments on it. I serve it with crustini, but I'm hosting an elegant appetizer party so i'm going to try putting it into cucumber cups. It has beautiful flavors..the lemon, horseradish and salmon together are perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      Another winner Cookiedog, this was sooo good. We enjoyed it very much. I made this during the Christmas holidays, it was such a hit that I will also be making this tasty tasty spread for New Years' Eve. I let the spread sit for two days before serving. What a delicious intense flavour. The cream cheese, smoked salmon, horseradish and lemon juice really blend well together and the kosher salt, really enhances the flavour. I added 3 tbsps finely minced sweet onion for a garnish. I served this with flatbreads, grain crackers, pita chips and small pieces of sesame bagels. Thanks Cookiedog for sharing this new family favourite that I will be making often. I have made this several times now and I must say that we never get tired of it...gets better with age, if it lasts that long...Its a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      I love smoked salmon, this dip is very tasty. Ive made others but this one tops them all. I think its the lemon juice and the horseradish that makes it sooo good. I chopped the salmon up and then put everything in the food processor nice and easy. Thanks Cookiedog my family really enjoyed this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoked Salmon Spread (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten

    Serving Size: 1 (481 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 759.4
     
    Calories from Fat 632
    83%
    Total Fat 70.3 g
    108%
    Saturated Fat 38.7 g
    193%
    Cholesterol 223.9 mg
    74%
    Sodium 1733.5 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 24.5 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes