Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoked Salmon Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoked Salmon Dip

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2010

      Great recipe! As with most recipes I use, I tweaked it a bit to get that taste that I was looking for. I used half cream cheese, half neufchatel cheese (lower in fat) and reduced fat sour cream. I substituted minced green onions for the chives. I only had a 4 oz smoked salmon fillet so when I added it and things didn't look salmon-y enough, I added a 5 oz can of salmon. Finally, I used a few generous dashes of Nature's Seasoning and Chipotle Tabasco to give it a bit more depth and kick. The chipotle hot sauce really enhanced the smokiness while giving a mild spicy undertone without any fire.

      I cannot express how fantastic it turned out. It was nicely smokey and salmon-y without being overwhelming and it was creamy without tasting too rich or fatty. It is kind of amazing how delicious it tasted immediately after whipping it up -- usually dips taste sort of bland until you let them sit for a while, but this one was incredible right from the get go. I don't think anyone would have been able to tell half the salmon was from a can! I cannot wait to see how much better it tastes tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      We really enjoyed this dip. I used the low fat version of the sour cream and cream cheese ingredients. I also used twice the amount of smoked salmon (removed the silver skin), blended all ingredients, then added the chives, and finally the smoked salmon. I pulsed the dip until the fish was in small bits about the size of green peas. The texture was good and the pieces were just big enough to get a small bite of the smoked salmon. Made it the night before and kept it in a vacuum sealed container. The flavors developed nicely overnight. Also, the dip was great on a toasted bagel the day after the party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Pretty good dip. Didn't really go over at poker night, but was better the next day. Served with celery and carrot sticks as well as crackers. Probably won't make again, mainly b/c I've discovered that smoked salmon's not really a favorite...Thanks for posting. It's a good recipe, just not really my taste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Easy to make. I also grated lemon peel to add a bit color in the dip. I didn't have chives or dill so I substituted with chopped onion and green onion. Black pepper is used. Turned out still good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      This is the best salmon dip I have ever had. I think it is because it used smoked salmon, not the salmon that comes in a can. Quick and easy to do. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      This is my new salmon dip recipe! Very much the best salmon dip I've ever had. With summer coming on, I'll be making this a lot. We love salmon, especially smoked salmon, so for us this truly was a dip made in heaven. And SO very quick and easy to make. I used fat reduced cream and cream cheese, which I've always found makes no appreciable difference to flavour. The only change I made was to use rather more than the specified amount of dill, and to use several grindings of black pepper instead of white, which I've never actually had in my pantry! Made for the Chef Alphabet Soup Tag game. Thanks evelyn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Russ just made this using our own home smoked fish. He used finely sliced green onion in place of the chives. It's excellent thank you Evelyn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      My sister sent us a 20 oz. smoked salmom for Christmas. This was one of the recipes we tried. Outstanding! Easy to make. We served it with buter crackers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      Pretty dang easy to make and ended up tasting really lush. Great for making a bit of an expensive item, such as smoked salmon, go a long way at a party.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I've made this twice for family gatherings. It's been a hit! I use light sour cream and light cream cheese. I've used fresh chives and the other time dry chives and both have tasted delicious. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      Great Dip!! I used the new Starkist Hickory Smoked Tuna packet, dried onions, and just a pinch of Old Bay Seasoning, because that's what I had here. My husband and I really enjoyed it, and will used it again. Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2003

      This was made in a few minutes and makes a wonderful dip/spread. The dill is a must, even the small amout used adds to the flavor. Used lime juice for the only reason that I was out of lemons. I served it pieces of celery sticks and toasted pita crisps

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      Our guests ate so much of this delicious dip, we thought they'd be too full to eat dinner! I used a hot smoked salmon filet because I prefer that texture more than lox. I'm making it again for Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Added a bit of salt, otherwise, great! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

    • on December 25, 2011

      I just loved this dip, and so did the entire family. It's rich and creamy, and showcases the flavor of the smoked salmon very nicely. I made this a few hours ahead of serving, and while it was great right away, it was even better after the flavors had a chance to meld. Definitely a go-to party staple. My only caution would be to blend very little after the salmon is added so the fish doesn't become completely pulverized- it looks beautiful when you can see small bits of the fish in the dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      I made this for our football get together and we loved this. I liked the dill in this as I've never had it in my salmon dip before. Really nice dip. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      This is the smoked salmon spread that I hoped I was making last year. That one fell short but this one was terrific! I did not add the chives or the white pepper and used much more salmon than called for but it was great. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      I decided to make this afternoon but unfortunately I had no chives! 1st mistake... Quick trip to the store and bought the chives. 2nd mistake was that I halved the recipe and wish I would have doubled it! This dip is fantastic **********. I added a little more lemon juice and used a little black pepper as I had no white pepper. I tried some on a cracker and then couldn't help myself. I ate it by the spoonful from the dish. Oooooooh heaven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      The husband begged for more of this. It really is fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoked Salmon Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (513 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 589.9
     
    Calories from Fat 481
    81%
    Total Fat 53.5 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 29.2 g
    146%
    Cholesterol 172.1 mg
    57%
    Sodium 1001.0 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 21.7 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites