Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2013

      Wow - we just loved this soup. I made this exactly as posted, except I used a 15 oz. can of diced fire-roasted tomatoes in place of the fresh tomatoes. I did use the vodka and I stirred the chives into the soup. I thought the amount of lemon juice was just perfect, but I did add some freshly ground sea salt for flavor. Made by a Tasty Tester for the ZWT9 Scandinavian Seafood Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      This is fantastic...I wasn't sure how it would come out but we really liked it. We had a bit of trouble getting the cream cheese to incorporate into the soup, next time I might get the whipped cream cheese instead of the bricks. I also used low fat cream cheese to take away some fat. Rather than water I used all chicken broth for the liquid. Made for ZWT #9!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Delicious! I changed the recipe slightly to add a bit more richness by making the broth from 3 cups of skim milk and 3 cups of water rather than the 6 cups of water the recipe asked for. Soup turned out remarkably light still, but with a good creamy texture. The Old Bay I had on hand had blackening seasonings in it, but still tasted very good. I also used 1/2 cup of dill rather than 3/4. Big hit with everyone in the house. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Totally decadent and divine soup, and so quick and easy to make. I had to make Old Bay Seasoning (we can't buy this ingredient in Australia). I used 120 grams of fresh baby spinach (which equalled two loosely packed cups), and had only 200 grams (7 ounces) of salmon. I used one bunch of dill, which was about a half a cup loosely packed. The proportions were totally fine. I'll admit that I was too impatient to let the cheese melt ounce-by-ounce, so towards the end of cooking I buzzed it all up with my stick blender. Our luncheon guests loved it. Thanks for posting. As an aside, I couldn't find this recipe in my first Silver Palate cookbook, so it must appear in a later volume.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      This recipe is from the Silver Palette cookbook. It is an excellent choice as a starter for an elegant evening. Definitely use the vodka.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I am sitting here eating this soup as I type. I have never eaten/cooked with much smoked salmon. Now that I live in Alaska..things have changed a bit. I didnt have fresh or canned tomatoes so I used half a can of spaghetti sauce and added elbow mac to the end result. This is a new favorite! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I really enjoyed this soup, however I found the dill a bit overpowering. Next time I make this, I will surely cut the amount in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      This was possibly the most savory soup I've ever tasted. Substitutions I made were dried dill for fresh, Sherry for the vodka, and broccoli for spinach. Wonderful! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      We liked this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      BEAUTIFUL presentation. A bit lacking in flavor for me (I used an aniseed type vodka, it's all I had in the house) and a bit on the watery side. But looks just BEAUTIFUL. This could be rectified by doubling the amount of smoked salmon and using a veggie broth/chicken broth or more flavorful substitute. Perhaps some garlic tossed into the onion sautee would help. I don't know, but it was still missing something for me. Note that the fish will get opaque/white in the cooking process. Gives it a bit of a meaty flavor. I can't help but think this would be delicious with clams. Since I keep kosher, I can't try that though. But it seems like the right consistancy for that. This may have been closer to 3.5 stars for me on flavor, but a definate 5 star presentation. 4 stars overall.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      This recipe was really great! It had a very satisfying, creamy texture (even though I used low-fat cream cheese) and the perfect amount of smoked salmon flavor. I made a half-recipe, and it yielded four large bowls of soup. By the way, I used the vodka and thought it worked very nicely. Thanks so much for sharing this; it made a great meal with a loaf of soda bread. I'm sure I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      My roommates and I really enjoyed this! I had to use dried dill and I opted for the white wine in place of the vodka. I would like to try using chicken broth in place of the water, and also using less than 8 cups because I like my soups ultra-thick. That being said I really didn't think it was lacking anything! I would also like to try broccoli in this. I can't wait to make it again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (419 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.6
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    74%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 16.7 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 92.3 mg
    30%
    Sodium 436.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites