12 Reviews

Wow - we just loved this soup. I made this exactly as posted, except I used a 15 oz. can of diced fire-roasted tomatoes in place of the fresh tomatoes. I did use the vodka and I stirred the chives into the soup. I thought the amount of lemon juice was just perfect, but I did add some freshly ground sea salt for flavor. Made by a Tasty Tester for the ZWT9 Scandinavian Seafood Challenge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! August 11, 2013

This is fantastic...I wasn't sure how it would come out but we really liked it. We had a bit of trouble getting the cream cheese to incorporate into the soup, next time I might get the whipped cream cheese instead of the bricks. I also used low fat cream cheese to take away some fat. Rather than water I used all chicken broth for the liquid. Made for ZWT #9!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan August 02, 2013

Delicious! I changed the recipe slightly to add a bit more richness by making the broth from 3 cups of skim milk and 3 cups of water rather than the 6 cups of water the recipe asked for. Soup turned out remarkably light still, but with a good creamy texture. The Old Bay I had on hand had blackening seasonings in it, but still tasted very good. I also used 1/2 cup of dill rather than 3/4. Big hit with everyone in the house. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy D Petals June 07, 2010

Totally decadent and divine soup, and so quick and easy to make. I had to make Old Bay Seasoning (we can't buy this ingredient in Australia). I used 120 grams of fresh baby spinach (which equalled two loosely packed cups), and had only 200 grams (7 ounces) of salmon. I used one bunch of dill, which was about a half a cup loosely packed. The proportions were totally fine. I'll admit that I was too impatient to let the cheese melt ounce-by-ounce, so towards the end of cooking I buzzed it all up with my stick blender. Our luncheon guests loved it. Thanks for posting. As an aside, I couldn't find this recipe in my first Silver Palate cookbook, so it must appear in a later volume.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy June 06, 2010

This recipe is from the Silver Palette cookbook. It is an excellent choice as a starter for an elegant evening. Definitely use the vodka.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimpaul December 22, 2009

I am sitting here eating this soup as I type. I have never eaten/cooked with much smoked salmon. Now that I live in Alaska..things have changed a bit. I didnt have fresh or canned tomatoes so I used half a can of spaghetti sauce and added elbow mac to the end result. This is a new favorite! Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catlady13 November 23, 2009

I really enjoyed this soup, however I found the dill a bit overpowering. Next time I make this, I will surely cut the amount in half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Cooks January 09, 2009

This was possibly the most savory soup I've ever tasted. Substitutions I made were dried dill for fresh, Sherry for the vodka, and broccoli for spinach. Wonderful! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karengrzena November 29, 2007

We liked this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alleycatb August 04, 2007

BEAUTIFUL presentation. A bit lacking in flavor for me (I used an aniseed type vodka, it's all I had in the house) and a bit on the watery side. But looks just BEAUTIFUL. This could be rectified by doubling the amount of smoked salmon and using a veggie broth/chicken broth or more flavorful substitute. Perhaps some garlic tossed into the onion sautee would help. I don't know, but it was still missing something for me. Note that the fish will get opaque/white in the cooking process. Gives it a bit of a meaty flavor. I can't help but think this would be delicious with clams. Since I keep kosher, I can't try that though. But it seems like the right consistancy for that. This may have been closer to 3.5 stars for me on flavor, but a definate 5 star presentation. 4 stars overall.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel June 14, 2007
Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese Soup