10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been meaning to write a review on this for a while now. I found this recipe last year and made it for the guys at deer camp. Everyone loved it. My one friend who is a chef thought it was so good that he traded me his lox recipe for this one. This brine is the absolute best. So much flavor. For smoking I used cherry wood. Made it about 5 times now and I will continue to use. Thanks for the great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grill Sevyn November 10, 2011

I've done this recipe several times using various salmon types. It's awesome. We settled on omitting the salt, as the soy sauce has enough of it. Thanks much for posting this...amazing recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Craigster November 26, 2010

Used this on Steel head and Sturgeon. Omitted the Tabasco. A great change from the usual. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diggerdo2 April 30, 2010

Really good recipe. Let friends and co-workers try some and had many requests for more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khill29 May 24, 2008

I didn't read the directions well before smoking so didn't dry the fish or let it rest for an hour. I'm not sure if that made a difference as the salmon was excellent despite my mistakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 June 16, 2007

Excellent marinade! I only smoked a 1-lb piece to test out the recipe and it only took about 2 hours in my smoker.. We had this with roasted asparagus and hollandaise sauce.. I will definately do this one again, it's really delicious! Thanks for posting..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve in FL April 21, 2007

My husband took some of the leftovers salmon to work and the next time I plan to smoke salmon I have been asked to do extra. I have also used the leftover salmon in other dishes and received great complements. The salmon was very moist and tender. I purchased the salmon in the morning therefore it was mairate in the brine for 4 hours. My smoker remained at 170 degrees and it took the 3 hours to smoke the 2 fillets (6 1/2lbs). Thank you for share this recipe it is the best salmon I have had. Sherie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherie_cda September 10, 2006

I subbed 1 tsp of worchestershire sauce in place of tabasco, as I cannot have any tabasco. Because we have not tasted it with tabasco we didn't know the difference. The taste was great. In our gas smoker it only took 1 1/2 hours. Will do again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fancy Free August 09, 2006

I only had 2 hours to let my salmon marinate and STILL it was wonderful. I can't wait until I can actually let it sit overnight. It was the most delicious, moist, flavorful salmon I have ever had. That's saying alot. I highly recommend this recipe! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food of the Gods! July 10, 2006

AMAZING! I only marinated for about 8 hours and then I cooked at 200 instead of the recommended 165. Well, as fantastic as it was the way I did it, I'm certain it will only be that much more amazing to make as written, which I will definitely do next time. Thanks for posting, I will be making this again and again! Oh yeah, I also omitted the salt because I thought the soy sauce would be enough and I'm glad I did, it was perfect :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle April 22, 2013
Smoked Salmon