19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was absolutely wonderful -- and surprisingly not that bad in terms of calories/fat! We had it as a main course, and it was more than enough. I used leeks instead of shallots (because that's what I had on hand); reduced-fat smoked gouda from Trader Joe's, and spinach; I threw in a quarter cup of first-rate grated parmesan/reggiano. Absolutely delicious. I will absolutely, definitely make this again -- my husband would be too unhappy if I didn't! Thanks for posting this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts March 12, 2008

This also was my first time making risotto and I was definitely intimidated, but the directions were very clear and my attempt was a great success. I love the addition of smoked gouda and spinach. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone who had been hesitating making risotto. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp May 12, 2012

I can see why this recipe has so many positive reviews. The arugula, shallot and gouda combo is incredible. Some crisp crumbled bacon on the top would make it the perfect breakfast, lunch or dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen June 16, 2014

This was the first time I attempted to make risotto. It took quite a while to stir, but it was well worth it. I had a very difficult time stopping myself from getting a third helping! I am eager to try other types of risotto now. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
p_lesli April 12, 2010

This was pretty gooe, but didn't have the flavor that all the other reviews talk about, IMHO. I thought it could use some garlic and maybe some more shallots and fresh herbs perhaps. If I try this again I will modify, thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Cook Therefore I Am October 27, 2009

Awesome recipe! The smoked gouda cheese gives the risotto the best flavor! I cut up a handful of spinach leaves instead of using 5 cups, and loved the final flavor. Definately worth the time to make -- but allow yourself more time, it took me alot longer than the indicated 35 mins!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R24Manny September 28, 2009

I cut this down to one serving, and that may have been my mistake. The falvour was WONDERFUL, but either I didn't take long enough to cook the rice, or because the pan was large the moisture evaperated too soon, in either case, the rice was not al dente, but still rather crunchy. I even added an extra half cup of water near the end to see if I could cook it longer. Next time, I would make this for a larger group, and cut out the extra salt, there is enough with the broth. UPDATE 3/09: Made half a batch and it was PERFECT. Still don't need the salt, but did add 1/4 tsp. Mrs. Dash. As a serving idea, used green peppers, and stuffed the Risotto like a meat stuffing then baked 20 minutes covered at 350 to soften the peppers. Served with salad, and mango sorbet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauren4372 March 15, 2009

The flavour here was very nice. However, the texture was a bit stickier than I'm used to... though I think that was MY fault. Next time I won't cook it so long after adding the last of the stock, and I may decrease the amount of cheese as well. I'll definitely have to try this again, we all loved the taste. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
getoutofmygalley April 18, 2008

Really, REALLY good. Instead of 5C arugula or fresh spinach, I thawed and drained a 10 oz. pkg. of frozen chopped spinach, and added/mixed it in thoroughly BEFORE adding the cheese (would have clumped). Added 1 cup of Parmesan at the end - can hardly wait for an excuse to make it AGAIN! Thanks a bunch 8-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pellerin May 23, 2007

Love any kind of risotto, so enjoyed this dish. I took another reviewer's advice and used more shallots (about 8 small ones - maybe double what's called for). I made this with the Oven-Baked Risotto (Several Variations) method, which never disappoints. Smoked gouda makes this recipe unique and lends a nice flavor to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 08, 2014
Smoked Gouda Risotto