7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I prepared this dish for the first time about a year ago for a smoking/barbecue day with friends and it was very VERY successful. One friend in particular called it "The best thing he'd ever put in is mouth" and everyone just agreed with him while carrying on munching away, and I have had requests to do it again several times now.<br/>I don't usually write any reviews for anything, but this is an outstanding recipe...I have just done it again for the 5th time and everyone just loves it.<br/>In my experience this quantity of brine will do double the amount of chicken without any problem. I prepare the brine in advance and freeze it as it is a lot of work (but well worth it). I usually buterfly the chicken but I have done it with just legs and it was just fine too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ludovic M. November 07, 2014

I cut the brine down to 1/2 gallon, and soaked 2 split game hens in it for about 8 hours.They came off of the smoker tender, juicy, and delicious! Often, I've had game hens get very dry after 2 hours of smoking, but these were perfect. The mop also kept the skin for getting hard and tough. The flavor of the meat was wonderful, and I would be very happy to use this recipe and method again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH August 07, 2011

Truly an outstanding recipe well deserving of 5 stars. The chicken was moist and well seasoned throughout. The brine and mop sauce was reduced by half and was plenty for a large chicken and 4 turkey drumsticks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 25, 2009

After hearing about this recipe on the Aussie/Kiwi forum, I had to try it. I halved the recipe, so I used 4.5 litres of water for the brine and I had the whole chicken sitting in the brine overnight. To cook the chicken I also used a rotisserie because I don't have a smoker. The chicken was so tender and very yummy. Thank you Pokey in San Antonio, TX

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer January 09, 2008

What a fabulous recipe that produces an amazing flavour. The chickens are so juicy and tender. We used this to cook two size 21 chickens on Christmas Day using the rotisserie on our BBQ and cooking as slowly as possible. I brined overnight. Thanks to Peter J for steering me towards this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies December 28, 2007

This produced an absolutely beautiful result using a smoker box in a gas grill. I used two whole chickens, unfortunately I had a flare up when browing on the rotisserie (nothing to do with the recipe) so can't comment on the glaze, but the brine and mop kept the chicken super moist while allowing it to take up the smoke really well. ETA - I made again on Christmas day and the glaze was beautiful as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J December 26, 2007

This is WAY too good. You are right, it tastes better than any chicken has a right to. My gracious, between the brine, the mop and the glaze.... Thank you so much. We will use this one again and again. When I used whole chickens I put them one the rotisserie to finish. Worked great and no sticking to the grill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dragon Mom April 20, 2007
Smoked Glazed Chicken