17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As a Kansas Citian - I have a great appreciation for SmokeStack and they're Cheesy Corn Bake is no exception. I make the recipe as printed with a few minor changes. I increase the garlic to 1/4 tsp, add 1/4 tsp of ground black pepper and about 1 Tbsp. of heavy cream when folding in the corn and ham. Delicous!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillcomeau June 29, 2008

http://www.jackstackbbq.com/images/art/JackStackCheesyCornBake.pdf

4 tsp of all purpose flour

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anindependentthinker March 16, 2011

Very good and a nice side with ribs. I used Cracker Barrel sharp American cheese. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 14, 2012

The flavor of this recipe is right on target. However, the texture is a bit thick...I would suggest adding more milk to the recipe, perhaps a cup more. Otherwise, tho, it was quite delicious, and easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura floersch November 18, 2003

It is very close to what they serve in the restaurant. I made exactly as written and next time will make changes I think are missing. Salt & pepper - maybe 1/2 tsp. would be a huge flavor enhancer. Made this again and adjusted for our tastes. This is a very easy dish to make and great for taking to pot lucks. I did notice the last time I ate in their restaurant there were some green onions in the dish. I have made with crumbled fried bacon as well as the diced ham and both are equally good. Thanks again for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ February 03, 2014

I live in Florida, but one of my very best friends lives in KC. Every time I go to see her, she takes me for this very dish. It is soooo good. This recipe nailed it. The only changes I made was to increase the garlic powder to 1/4 tsp like someone else mentioned. I also added a few dashes of the hickory flavor of Liquid Smoke, since they use smoked meats in the actual restaurant. It was amazing! The company that was over ate a huge serving of seconds. The only problem with this recipe is the very high fat value. It is still nice as a splurging treat or for special occasions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myrab51 June 10, 2013

Jack Stack's catered my nephew's wedding this past weekend. This corn was amazing !! Thrilled to find it here to make for my family and friends. I know it will get rave reviews from them. I appreciate all the reviews with suggestions! I am sure it will be just as delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyDawn13 October 02, 2012

Made this the first time for Thanksgiving. It received a bug thumbs up from everyone in attendance. I made it pretty close to the original recipe since this was the first time. However, I did add a little cracker crust thing to the top. Melted some butter and crushed a bunch of Better Cheddar crackers into it. Sprinkledthe mixture on top of the dish with about 15 minutes left to bake. It was a very nice addition to our Thanksgiving table. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hskrguy November 24, 2011

Excellent recipe. Some people have commented on how close (or not close) this recipe is to the actual Jack Stack recipe. It is not the exact same. The main difference is that the Jack Stack recipe is gluten free so it does not use flour.

I wish there was a gluten free version since I know people who have a gluten intolerence, and I would love to be able to serve this to them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rablj5 November 23, 2010
Smoke Stack Cheesy Corn Bake