Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Smashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on April 24, 2010

      Yummy! I used garlic powder, dill, salt & pepper. These were so easy, I will definitely make them again and again! Thanks for a great way to make potatoes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Loved this method.....used kosher salt and cracked black pepper....then decided to add a bit of garlic powder and a little season all. We will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      Yummo, crispy, crunchy & just awesome..I topped mine with a little ground salt & pepper & some chives from the garden..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      What a creative way to serve taters! Once I had boiled them, instead of using a potato masher, I put them on a plate. Then with another plate of the same size, I lightly "smashed" them to perfection! Instead of olive oil, I sprayed them wtih a butter-flavored cooking spray, sprinkled with salt and pepper and topped each with a pinch of fresh parmesan cheese. Baked for about 20 minutes, they were very impressive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Who knew that there was another entirely new delicious way to prepare potatoes! I discovered this method when one of my friends served this as a side dish. These potatoes have an awesome flavor, even with just a few simple ingredients. My friend served them without the herb topping, simply brushing them with the olive oil, and sprinkling kosher salt and cracked fresh pepper on each one. She 'smashes' each potato with a folded cloth napkin using the palm of her hand. I have made these several times since that dinner and they have always turned out well. I had to guess on the temperature and time, as she didn't mention that part, so it's nice to use this recipe as a reference. If I don't have a clean cloth napkin, I use a clean pot holder to smash the potatoes, as I don't want to use a kitchen towel, and risk transferring little hairs. Next time I make this, I might mince a clove or two of garlic, mix it with the oil, and brush this on the potatoes prior to baking. Thanks for posting this recipe, as I think it's such a delicious and elegant side dish to serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      Boom! This was PERFECT! Thank you so much! Better than the Cook's Illustrated method I've used. I think boiling the taters gives them the best flavor. Used small yukon golds and the recommended cayenne-carrway-cumin and the spice mixture was amazeballs. I smooshed the potatoes between two clean cloth napkins for the best control.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      These were so easy and so flavorful. I used two medium sized baking potatoes as that's what I had and Instead of boiling first I used the microwave and that worked great - then I used fennel seeds, then followed the suggested herbs with an added sprinkle of cayenne pepper as DH likes a kick to his food. He also topped his with some butter and a little sour cream. Me, I had mine as directed and loved it. Such a flavorful side to the baked tilapia I'd made to serve, this is going to be used often and is open to such a wide variety of spices. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Awesome recipe! My husband's addicted to baked potatoes but I'm kinda over it right now... It seems like every meat & vege meal I make these days has to have baked potatoes... yawn!! This recipe is a great alternative & so easy! They look really effective too! I spooned over some crushed garlic, chopped rosemary & sprinkled with lemon pepper & salt. They were wonderful. Thank you :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      wow the real star of our dinner party! they were a huge success, everyone wanted more. and the recipe. the touch of cayenne was perfect with the other herbs and spices. I will be making them again and often, they turned out lovely and crisp and sooo tasty! I used olive oil to drizzle on them before roasting. It was great to be able to make them the day before and have them ready to roast for the dinner. I used tiny new red potatoes. Thanks for posting !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      These are great and look impressive. I made these for a side dish with our steaks. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      These were fun to make and the kids got a big kick out of them on the plate. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

    • on March 09, 2010

      Great easy recipe and a good way of doing a quick tasty side with at hand ingredients. Served it with a pot roast and will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I originally came on here to find a recipe for smashed-mashed potatoes but I saw this and I had to try it. These were a nice compromise between baked potatoes/sliced-up roasted potatoes. I made it with yellow, petite red, & purple/blue potatoes. The ones I thought turned out the best in terms of both texture and flavor were the smaller reds that were more "exploded" smashed than those that smashed into a more compact/hockey puck shape- they had the perfect touch of crispness to them. What I didn't enjoy about a few of the bigger potatoes I used was that they retained a little too much moisture from the boiling and were smoother textured inside than I would have liked, though this probably could have been fixed by smashing them out more before hand and roasting a bit longer. Anyway, I really enjoyed this recipe. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I made these today with a filet & salad didn't want a boring baked potato. I cut it down since it's only the 2 of us & used small red skinned potatoes. I used a sprinkle of cumin, red pepper, salt & ground pepper on them, drizzled olive oil on them & baked them at 425* for 20 mins. They came out nice & soft on the inside & crispy on the outside. Thanks for a great recipe & will be making these a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      I made this using small red potatoes from the Farmer's Market using Salad Supreme Seasoning. Outstanding! There are so many different ways this can be made and I'm going to try a bunch of them! Thanks for posting this simple but delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      One of those recipes that makes you slap yourself upside the head and say "now why didn't I think of that?" These taters were delicious and will be made often...the possibilities are endless! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Great with onion and garlic powder, and rosemary! I loved the technique used and will change up the spices and herbs from time to time. Great basic recipe and idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Yay! I knew how to make these but wanted some directions, especially since I'm getting some easy recipes together for my husband to try out. My husband really really liked these! I used parsley and tarragon and served with blackened skin salmon, greens and hollondaise sauce. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Scaled this back for 3 of us and used 7 chat potatoes (2 for me and the DM and 3 for the DS). I used caraway seeds and fresh sweet basil. The DM wasn't going to eat hers (thought I may have that problem as she doesn't like potatoe in their skin) but I asked her to take a bite to give me an opinion and she gobbled up the lot) - don't think anything more needs to be said. Thank you Jewelies, made as a recipenap for Recipe Swap #28 - May 2009. UPDATE - we have had this several times now and it is the ONLY way I can get the DM to eat potatoe with skin on - a sure fire winner with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (685 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 559.3
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    82%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 41.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 119.7 g
    39%
    Dietary Fiber 15.6 g
    62%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes