9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Okay, this one is different. I don't even know how to discribe. It is tasty, but lacking at the same time. used a combo of walnuts and hazelnuts. Make sure you press them in well, so when you pour on the topping they don't scatter everywhere. You know, maybe it's a big dollop of ice cream it needs! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth February 21, 2007

I made this for my book club, and since there is a gal who is allergic to nuts I used a mixed berry blend instead. WOW! Everyone was just raving about it!! I did have to bake it a little longer than stated...coulda just been my oven or the fact I added berries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cybill August 18, 2006

I made it with sliced almonds so it wasn't as good as I think it is with pecans. I think it needs the stronger flavor of the pecans. I'm going to try it with the pecans for the next church potluck. It was really easy and you can't beat that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 June 09, 2006

LOVED IT! I'm in Missouri and it reminded me of St Louis Gooey Butter Cake, with a Pecan Pie in the middle which is my fav.I was in heaven, very rich, and very good. Everyone loved it. Thanx for the wonderful addition to my cookbook, I will be taking this to potlucks and family functions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Chevelle May 27, 2006

Great recipe! I only had like.. half of a bite, but the little bit I did have, was WONDERFUL. It was so easy to put together! I baked it for about 37 minutes... so the time is right on... Thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtly May 24, 2006

I have to admit I didn't actually taste this recipe, but I did prepare it. (Due to diet reasons). I made this for my soup lunch dessert his week, and it was well received by my co-workers. It was very easy to prepare. I was able to make this while chasing a 3 year old. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right January 05, 2006

Intrigued by name and technique, I couldn't resist. What a delishious dessert...DH and I tried to decide if it was more like a pecan cheese cake, pecan gooey butter cake, or cake like bakalava. Does that give you all an idea of the flavor here?...LOL. Hope more try and then let us know what you think?...We gave it five stars for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg629 December 12, 2005

Fantanstic!!!!! I got rave reviews from everyone!!! I used a white cake mix since I didn't have a yellow one on hand, and it turned out fine. This was really easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hockey_mom July 07, 2005

You won't even believe how fantastic this dessert is. It's rich and positively addictive. I have been making the very same recipe for many years. In fact, I had it on my list of ones to post. Thanks homegirl for saving me the trouble.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pepina Rae July 06, 2005
Smash Cake