Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow-Simmered Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow-Simmered Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2009

      Good sauce! I was surprised how much the family enjoyed it, and gosh knows it was easy. Only change I made was to run a hand blender through the sauce, the kids are fussy about chunks. Can't wait to try some leftover sauce, it's always better after sitting overnight. Look forward to having some leftovers for the freezer as well. I try to love my crockpot but rarely find things I'd make again. This definitely goes into the make again file. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Great sauce! I doubled the recipe and put it in the freezer in individual freezer bags. Now I have a quick and healthy sauce whenever I need it! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This sauce came out great. I followed it exactly. I have now adopted this as my standard tomato pasta sauce. I usually throw in some Italian sausages. I love how it makes so much. I use it to feed a crowd of 8 and still have enough left over for 5 dinners for my husband and I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Excellent sauce! Followed the recipe exactly and served over whole wheat spaghetti. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Very good, easy, basic sauce. I added a good handful of chopped Italian parsley, red wine, and a bit of sucanat to cut the acidity. The house smelt great, and clean up was a breeze. Texture was great for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I love your recipes, and this is a keeper! My bf likes a thicker sauce, though, so I think I will use more tomato paste next time. Me, I like it just the way it is! YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I almost feel guilty rating this recipe with only two stars because the other raters seemed to have loved it. My taste buds must be broken or something because to me, this sauce was not good at all. I increased all of the seasonings and it still was very bland. It wasn't bad it just wasn't good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I put my faith in the 32 previous 5* reviews and it was well-placed. This is excellent spaghetti sauce and I'm delighted to have it in the freezer ready to use. This one's incredibly easy and a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Very yummy. I cut back the herbs a bit because I used fresh and homemade Italian tomatoes I'd already had made. (If you read my ratings I use almost all homemade and fresh things when feasible, I'm a nut, I know lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      I made a half batch of this sauce yesterday for my dh & I. I have to say that I really enjoyed the combo of all of the flavors. I did add 2 bay leaves- and a bit of brown sugar because it was a bit acidic , but other than that, no changes. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      I added ground turkey, 3 Tablespoons of sugar and 3 teaspoons of parsley and turkey sausages to the mix. Very good sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      I agree with all the others, this is a fantastic sauce! It was easy to throw together when I stopped by the house at lunch, and boy was the house smellin' good when I got home for the day! We had it over spaghetti, but I bet it would be great over just about anything! Thanks for posting your recipe, we enjoyed it very much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      I didn't like the sauce at first, but doctored it with a bit of brown sugar, chili powder, cumin, and vegetarian "meat" crumbles. Then I found it quite delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      WOW!!! I will never buy sauce again. This was so easy and to die for. I did add some ground beef. Thanks so much for an amazing sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      This sauce is TERRIFIC!!!! So thick and delicious! I added about 1/2 lb of ground beef to mine because I had some leftover. :) It was GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2005

      Great Sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      I've made this twice in the last 2 weeks and it's absolutely wonderful. I omitted the onion but followed it exactly otherwise. I like it because I usually have these ingredients on hand. It makes the house smell so good. thanks for posting:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      This was a really great sauce, and very versatile for what veggies and/or meat you can add to it. I added some ground beef and TVP, next time I think I'll sneak some mushrooms in and maybe some zucchini. I'm going to use this as the sauce for lasagnas as well. Thanks for a great recipe! I froze the extra and had 2 more meals of this recipe, I just thawed in the fridge overnight, and then heated in the microwave. Freezes excellent! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      Very easy recipe to throw together and tasted wonderful. Thank You! NurseDi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      We loved this! Easy and delicious. I didn't have the dried red pepper so I threw in a pinch of chili powder to spice it up a little. I made it with garlic twists which I'll post later. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow-Simmered Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (2583 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.8
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    96%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4369.3 mg
    182%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.6 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 16.7 g
    66%
    Sugars 49.8 g
    199%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes