Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow-Simmered Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow-Simmered Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2013

      Can't wait to get started on this! My mom made simmered-all-day spaghetti sauce with cans

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Excellent recipe..made it on the stove instead of the crockpot. I was afraid that the crockpot would make it too runny. It took about an hour on the stove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      Unfortunately i have to diverge from the group. This did not turn out well for me. The oregano was overpowering. Besides the oregano the flavor profile was bland. Nobody in the family cared for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      I made this today for dinner. It was so easy! I had to thin it out some and also ran my hand blender through it since we like our sauce a bit more smooth. I added some frozen turkey meatballs about 90 minutes before serving time and it was a quick and delicious meal. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Awesome recipe!! I did change some of the portions because i also made it for pizza sauce. I used a bigger can of tomato sauce to make the spaghetti sauce and the smaller one for the pizza sauce. Also my kids won't eat anything that has onions in them (if they can see them anyways :) ) so when the sauce is cooked i puree it with a hand blender. This will be put in my keep box Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      Love this simple recipe! Changed the measurements a bit to suit my small me plus bf sized crock pot. Added a bay leaf and a bit of olive oil. Makes a great spaghetti, fantastic pizza, and delicious eggplant parm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      This sauce was fantastic! Cooked it for about 10 hours on low because it worked better with my schedule and added some frozen meatballs for the last hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I decided I wanted to make sauce from scratch to put over chicken parmesan. I doubled this recipe (I put some sauce in the freezer). I was short one can of tomato paste and I decided to leave out the salt, as it was salty enough for my liking without it. It came out great! I also puréed the sauce as it was a bit thin (probably due to the lack of the tomato paste). Other than the one can less of tomato paste and salt I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great! It was also my first time making sauce from scratch. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

    • on February 28, 2010

      This was very good sauce. I made it the other day and we all enjoyed it very much. My family devoured it, even sopping up whats left with the bread. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      I don't rate too often, but this recipe was very good! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Nice quick sauce that we enjoyed spooned over linguine along with some garlic sticks and salad. Nice meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      I'll use this recipe often - it's easy to put together and tastes oh-so much better than store-bought. I softened my chopped onion in the microwave for a minute or two before adding, cut the red pepper by half, cut the salt to 3/4 tsp, and in the end stirred in a little bit of sugar to cut the tomato-y sharpness. I served over ravioli and it was delicious. It makes a lot, so I froze leftovers and am looking forward to using them. Glad you posted this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Yummo! Excellent! I added canned mushrooms, green pepper, and now I think I need a little more crushed red pepper! What a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      This recipe is awesome. I did have to add a little sugar to tone down the tomato tang, but that is just MY preference. Plus, DH loves meat in his sauce, so I added some ground beef. This is a great sauce. Thanks ratherbeswimmin for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Awesome sauce. I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. I added about 1 pound of frozen ground beef. It was great. I will diffently make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Oh now, this is terrific! I will be using your recipe for a lot of different meals! I cut the recipe in 1/2 and didn't have tomato sauce, so I used the full can of paste and added a cup of water. It's still simmering, but I had to take a taste and it's perfect! I'm making baked spaghetti with it tomorrow and will save the rest for another meal at the end of the week. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I tried it and it was wonderful! All my guests went back for seconds and couldn't stop saying how great it was!! I browned a mixture of spicy and sweet italian sausage and put it in the crock pot to simmer along with the other ingredients. YUMMY!! There wasn't anything leftover! Also, for my pasta I used angel hair. Fantastic!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      I loved this spaghetti sauce. It makes a lot, however, if I don't keep my spoon out of it, there won't be enough left to use for meatball subs. "Great recipe". Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      This sauce is good and super easy. I had it with fresh linguini and meatless "meat"balls. Froze left overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow-Simmered Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (2583 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.8
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    96%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4369.3 mg
    182%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.6 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 16.7 g
    66%
    Sugars 49.8 g
    199%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites