Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow-Simmered Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow-Simmered Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2002

      YUMMY!!! This was great and the next batch I make, I think I'll add some stuff, green peppers, mushrooms etc. But the basic sauce was fantastic. Hubby, who is very very fussy when it comes to spaghetti sauce loved it too. We've had it twice since I made it last Wednesday and I was able to freeze a total of 4 meals. Love this recipe! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      BAM!! You just knocked us out with this one Nurse Di. I love my spaghetti sauce without any meat. The flavor of this was outstanding. Cooking it in the crock-pot just made it easy and really brought out the flavor of the herbs. I did like Cheryl and froze this for future use. So indebted to you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      Very impressed with your spaghetti sauce recipe. Has a full-bodied Italian seasoning flavor with nice tender chunks of tomato. I served it over angel hair pasta and sprinkled fresh grated parmesan cheese. We had a wonderful meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      If my stomach could smile (and maybe it can, who knows?) it would be smiling after eating this delicious meal. This sauce has a delicious fresh taste. I only had time to simmer in the crockpot for 4 hours, but it is still utterly scrumptious. (Probably just a little runnier than it would've been otherwise.) I added a chopped green and red pepper, and twice as much garlic. I also made some homemade meatballs (easy - 1 lb ground beef with 1/4 of an onion chopped, 1 garlic clove, minced, a bit of basil and oregano, 1 egg, salt and pepper and a handful of rolled oats.) which I sauted first and then added to the simmering sauce. They were delicious - tender and flavorful thanks to this sauce. :) Try this one for supper tonight! You'll love it. Thanks to NurseDi for a fantastic recipe I'll be making often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      This sauce was excellent! The flavor was zesty, with just a bit of a "bite," which I like. There were nice chunks of tomato, not that thin runny stuff you buy in the store. And I was able to freeze a ton for later use -- quite a savings over store bought! Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2002

      Great tasting, easy to make and made the house smell great! I cut this recipe in half, added 1/2 a batch of meatballs (used Kim's Italian Meatballs), and added a can of sliced mushrooms. I put the tomatoes in the blender to chop. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      This is awesome. I added 1/4 cup of red wine and it was delicious. Put everything in my crockpot and cooked on low for six hours. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      Wow! I made this today (I've been using my slow cooker alot lately), and it was fabulous. I used 3 cloves of garlic and I threw in some meatballs and it smelled so delicious while it was cooking my mouth was watering from it! Served with some good garlic bread and what a meal! This is going to be my slow cooker sauce from now on! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      Without a doubt, the best meatless spaghetti sauce I have ever tasted. This is so versatile, I have used it in any recipe that calls for prepared spaghetti sauce or marinara sauce. Incredible seasonings and deserves extra-credit points for how easy it is to make. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      This filled the house with an amazing aroma. It had a fresh flavor and reminded me of the homemade sauce I grew up eating. I followed the recipe except I only had 6oz of tomato paste and I used stewed Italian-style tomatoes that I chopped.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      Top notch spaghetti sauce. I added ground chuck, sausage, green olives and mushrooms and it was some of the best sauce we've had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2003

      This made such a delicious, rich sauce that no one believed it came from a crockpot! Threw in several meatballs and the crockpot was filled to the brim. After 5.5 hours, the house smelled wonderful. Plenty left over for freezing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2003

      This is really good. I especially like the fact, that there isn't any meat in this sauce. I did add more garlic, and some green peppers. I didn't know that "Italian style tomatoes" are, so I used diced tomatoes. There are lots of leftovers, that probably will last for a week. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      This was good. I will definately make this again and it made my house smell wonderful! TY

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2003

      This was fantastic. We loved it and my hubby NEVER liked any other sauce but mine. I added approximately 1/2 lb Italian sausage and 1/2 lb ground beef, plus a drained jar of mushrooms. Froze four portions for later use. This is a "keeper".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      Well this was great! I had used up my 2 cans of Stewed tomatoes and 2 cans of diced tomatoes, both with extra seasonings/vegetables in it. We really enjoyed this sauce and will definitely make it again! Thanks for posting it! EASY and GREAT TASTING, what more can you ask for?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      Another excellent recipe Nurse Di! So easy to make and made the house smell wonderful. Will be making this often. Thank You!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      This sauce had great flavor, especially if you like Marinara type sauce. It would also be great if you added some meat though, but I haven't tried it yet. Maybe next time. I would definately recommend this recipe to everyone. Also, my husband really liked it too, and he's usually a "meat and potatoes" kind of guy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      This is my new favorite spaghetti sauce! It tastes light and fresh and it's oil-free. In the last hour of cooking, I add a pound of zucchini half-moons, a pound of sliced mushrooms, and some handfuls of baby spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow-Simmered Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (2583 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.8
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    96%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4369.3 mg
    182%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.6 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 16.7 g
    66%
    Sugars 49.8 g
    199%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites