15 Reviews

Just in case other cooks aren't paying attention - 150 degrees Celsius is about 300 degrees Fahrenheit. I roasted my vegetables for an hour at the wrong temperature before realizing and starting over at the right temperature. Very good if you pay attention!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srogers August 27, 2006

Louise: It's started to feel like fall here so I tried your soup and it was so flavorful...roasting the veggies does wonders! I added zucchini and corn to the recipe. The consistency of the soup was a bit thick, more like baby food (see picture). Next time I think I'll cut in smaller pieces, puree only about a 1/4 of it and add the rest of the veggies. Thanks for sharing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench August 28, 2006

This recipe is the reason I like fall/winter cooking. Sorry, used yams for sweet potaoes (it's an ongoing battle with some folks here at Zaar. ;)) Next time I'll try your suggestion of crumbled bacon bits and cheese on top. Roasting really brings out the best flavor of root veggies! Thanks for posting! cg

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl September 27, 2005

I made this soup for our office "soup club". Got nothing but RAVE reviews. A delcious easy recipe to follow. I doubled the recipe for my luncheon and added an extra head of roasted garlic as mine were small. It has such an amazing texture, color and flavor. Definitely a keeper. The yogurt at the end is a nice addition. AMAZING!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bloemgirl February 27, 2012

This is the great soup,will make again,100 stars for flavour,thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lin1 February 10, 2011

Absolutely delicious! Made as directed other than used 4 enormous sprigs of fresh rosemary just 'cause I had them on hand. Definitely a keeper for my household. Also, incredibly easy to make - thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shazzie September 30, 2009

Honestly, so good. I also got confused regarding the temperature, and roasted them too low for an hour but that didn't seem to hurt them any.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rahrahmah October 13, 2008

Very good soup that's chock full of flavour. I love the roasting aspect as it brings out the sweetness of the pumpkin and red pepper. Crispy bacon bits are a great topping prior to serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luke.mansfield July 15, 2015

I make a similar soup with the following additional trick: When the vegetables are carmelized and done, I remove the pan from the oven and pour a quart of tomato juice into the pan. I then let the whole thing cool to room temperature and scrape the contents into a food processor for blitzing. No other stock or liquid needed. All the amazing carmelized bits are absorbed and people have been known to swoon when eating this soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joyceklein May 16, 2013

Very nice. The rosemary got too bitter for my taste, even at the low temperature. Next time I'll add some fresh herbs at the end, when I add the broth. This recipe is a nice starting point for other flavour combos using whatever veggies are in season.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl April 30, 2013
Slow Roasted Vegetable Soup