Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Roasted Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Roasted Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2004

      This is a great way to make a BLT sandwich at the time of year when the tomatoes are far from their best! I scaled the recipe in half & had LOADS of the spice left. I set the timer for 3 hours in my first attempt at this recipe - it was too long! I then roasted another 4 tomatoes at 250F, checking them every 30 minutes and they were ready in 2 hours! (BTW, my stove is less than a year old).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2004

      Sweet and PACKED with tomato flavor which seems to be intensified with the roasting, even with wintertime greenhouse roma tomatoes. Can't imagine how good they'd be with summer garden tomatoes. We had them topping some very special burgers and as a side. Wonderful! The spice mix makes enough for a summer's worth of tomatoes. You may want to divide it in half. You'll still have leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Yummy! I also used Roma tomatoes, cutting them in half through the stem and blossom end. I sprayed each one with my Misto Olive Oil sprayer and added the seasoning mixture. I also added fresh basil and drizzled balsamic vinegar on each one. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      I think I must've had this same Martha Stewart recipe at one time, but I made some adaptations for California. I use 'salad size' or Roma tomatoes and cut them in half through the stem- and blossom-end. That means there's skin on the bottom of each one, which holds in the juices. I include fresh basil in the seasonings, and use a lot less salt. Olive oil spray makes it easier. It seems like Martha said to roast 3 hrs at 250, turn off the oven, and leave in the rest of the night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Great and deep flavor. I use plum tomatoes and much less sugar. I also reduce the thyme. It's a matter of taste. Oregano is good too. And, yes, I take them out at about 2 hours because I don't them too dried out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      This is an amazing recipe! I used these tomatoes to make the Cream of Roasted Tomato Soup recipe. We loved it and froze the leftovers to enjoy this fall and winter. I am going to slow roast most of the rest of my tomatoes from the garden & freeze them seasoned this way for soups. I did tweak the pepper & Thyme amounts to what my kids like. Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      These are great! Three hours made for a very oven-dried intensely flavored tomato, similar to a sun-dried tomato. They will be perfect in dips, tossed with pasta, etc. If you want more of a plump, wilted tomato, i'd start checking after 1.5-2 hours. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I've made this twice. The first time it was too peppery, but nonetheless delicious. The second time I cut the pepper by a third and it was not too spicy (my toddler also eats this). I added basil, oregano, and a small amount of pressed garlic as well. On both occasions, we used all of the spice to roast the tomatoes, then poured both sauce and tomatoes into a large bowl of fresh pasta and stirred. The best ever - and no need to add other seasonings. It is a major hit. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      AWESOME, I used roma tomatoes from my garden, as I had way too many, and needed to do something with them. They turned out delicious...will do this every year now. I plan to make lots of red sauce to use in the winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2004

      Yummy! Especially when slightly charred. It was a bit too thymey for me, though a slight adaptation of the recipe is easy enough. Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2004

      The taste on these was so delicious! Intense, and sweet at the same time. I did reduce the time, to adjust for my oven. Excellent recipe, Mirakle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      Yum! This was tasty and very easy to throw together. I can't wait to make this during the summer with fresh tomatoes and making a BLT out of them is a wonderful suggestion! Thanks for a great recipe, MG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      Very, VERY good. I wasn't sure if I would like the sweet flavor but it actually inhanced the tomato flavor. Definitely makes plenty of spice mixture. Thank-you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Roasted Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (1639 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 32.5
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    36%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1166.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes