Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2009

      Delish! I made a few small changes. I added black beans and omitted the green pepper. I also did not have any salsa so I used a can of diced tomatoes and added Mexican seasoning (cumin, garlic, onion powder). We ate them in tortillas. Definite crowd pleaser.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This is always a hit at my house. I serve it over rice, then eat the leftovers with tortillas. I find it only needs to cook about 3-4 hours on low. Any longer than that and it starts to burn around the edges of the crock pot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      As written, I'd have to give this only three stars, mostly because 3 hours on high is going to reduce cut up chicken breast to dry, tasteless mush. I substituted bone in skinless thighs, and they were just falling apart at the 3 hour mark. Once the cooking was over, I took the meat off of the bones, shredded it, and added back to the pot. I only had 1 cup of salsa, which was fortunate, as I thought there was a bit too much liquid when the cooking was done. I added a can of drained pinto beans at the end, just to thicken things up a bit and add a bit more substance. I also added a teaspoon or so of ground cumin to add a bit of smokey flavor. This was great over chipotle rice, and would also be good as enchilada or burrito filling. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Sooooo let's just say I would have submitted a picture had there been something to take a picture of. The family literally annihilated this tasty dish from the moment I lifted the crockpot lid. There were no leftovers. A definite new favorite and keeper! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      My husband and I ate this over tortilla chips with some cheese and sour cream. It was good however we were expecting more of a meal not a dip or nacho topper. I do plan to make this again. I think it will be great for super bowl parties. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      We just finished having this for supper and everyone raved about it. I omitted the red peppers though, only because the ones I had on hand were spoiled and I also had no cheese, but for sure, next time I cook this I will have the cheese and red pepper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Super easy to make! We wrapped it in tortillas like fajitas and absolutely loved this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Very easy to prepare and my DH thought it "slid down easy". Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

    • on July 12, 2008

      I made this for our friends while they hosted us on vacation. All 6 kids loved this recipe, and the adults all enjoyed it. I doubled the recipe, and added an onion to feed all 10 of us, and it still worked very well. The veggies turned out crisp tender, not mushy and the left-overs worked very well as a fajita-like filling in tortillas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      This is a very tasty crock pot dish that I will be adding to my regular menu line-up. So quick & easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This meal was very easy to prepare and tasted delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (352 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.0
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    31%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 107.2 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1449.6 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 36.1 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites