12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delish! I made a few small changes. I added black beans and omitted the green pepper. I also did not have any salsa so I used a can of diced tomatoes and added Mexican seasoning (cumin, garlic, onion powder). We ate them in tortillas. Definite crowd pleaser.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennK August 06, 2009

This is always a hit at my house. I serve it over rice, then eat the leftovers with tortillas. I find it only needs to cook about 3-4 hours on low. Any longer than that and it starts to burn around the edges of the crock pot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penni J. October 24, 2009

As written, I'd have to give this only three stars, mostly because 3 hours on high is going to reduce cut up chicken breast to dry, tasteless mush. I substituted bone in skinless thighs, and they were just falling apart at the 3 hour mark. Once the cooking was over, I took the meat off of the bones, shredded it, and added back to the pot. I only had 1 cup of salsa, which was fortunate, as I thought there was a bit too much liquid when the cooking was done. I added a can of drained pinto beans at the end, just to thicken things up a bit and add a bit more substance. I also added a teaspoon or so of ground cumin to add a bit of smokey flavor. This was great over chipotle rice, and would also be good as enchilada or burrito filling. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH September 16, 2012

Sooooo let's just say I would have submitted a picture had there been something to take a picture of. The family literally annihilated this tasty dish from the moment I lifted the crockpot lid. There were no leftovers. A definite new favorite and keeper! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adrienne in Reisterstown January 01, 2010

My husband and I ate this over tortilla chips with some cheese and sour cream. It was good however we were expecting more of a meal not a dip or nacho topper. I do plan to make this again. I think it will be great for super bowl parties. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adymommy December 08, 2009

We just finished having this for supper and everyone raved about it. I omitted the red peppers though, only because the ones I had on hand were spoiled and I also had no cheese, but for sure, next time I cook this I will have the cheese and red pepper. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
turtlelicious June 27, 2009

Super easy to make! We wrapped it in tortillas like fajitas and absolutely loved this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindsayC00 April 06, 2009

Very easy to prepare and my DH thought it "slid down easy". Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds November 06, 2008

I made this for our friends while they hosted us on vacation. All 6 kids loved this recipe, and the adults all enjoyed it. I doubled the recipe, and added an onion to feed all 10 of us, and it still worked very well. The veggies turned out crisp tender, not mushy and the left-overs worked very well as a fajita-like filling in tortillas

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffin-maker July 12, 2008
Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken