Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2009

      This is a very good recipe. I, also ,added the tomato paste and cut my chicken into large chunks. I did use regular chicken broth and soy sauce as I am not worried about sodium. I used cider vinegar and added ground ginger, white pepper and Worcestershire sauce to the sauce. To the veggies, I added carrot chunks and green bell along with red , also a can of water chestnuts. I enjoyed that the sauce was neither too sweet nor too tangy, it was very nice- not overpowering like some sweet n sour recipes. My family enjoyed dinner very much-thanks. I served it over jasmine rice with egg rolls on the side. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Everyone really liked this dish. My son declared the chicken delicious; it was tender and not dry. I cut each breast into four pieces. The sauce was very flavorful. I thickened it with arrowroot. The recipe was well written and went together easily. Served it with white rice and sliced cucumbers and oranges. I added some green pepper for color. I will make this again. Nice recipe Annacia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This recipe is wonderful... I did use the advice of adding tomato paste and also I cubed the chicken for more of a chinese style on Basmati rice. Thanks!! No complaints here!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      Very easy to put together, smells divine while cooking, and serves beautifully! Oh, and it tastes DELISHHHHHious! Next time I would make it with drums and thighs OR bite-size pieces as I've found that whole breast meat tends to get dry in these sorts of preparations. Serve the meat on a bed of rice, and slop that sauce over like gravy. Mmmmm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      3.5 stars really - I threw it all in at once, cooked it for 8 hours, the flavours were great. At about 5 hours I added 1 tbs of tomato paste for colour and roundness of flavour. Very nice and will make again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I doubled the recipe for a crowd of 10 (5 of them children 10 and under) and everyone loved it. Most had seconds and there were two meals leftover. This is a good meal for kids. It was very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      This was good, not outstanding, but definitely filled our tummies without complaints...and EASY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. I was not able to get the sauce to thicken to his tastes...so we will try to work on that next time...but it was so good with a couple eggrolls on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (267 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.3
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    12%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 195.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 18.2 g
    72%
    Protein 24.9 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-sodium low-fat chicken broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes