8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everyone really liked this dish. My son declared the chicken delicious; it was tender and not dry. I cut each breast into four pieces. The sauce was very flavorful. I thickened it with arrowroot. The recipe was well written and went together easily. Served it with white rice and sliced cucumbers and oranges. I added some green pepper for color. I will make this again. Nice recipe Annacia.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 April 07, 2007

This is a very good recipe. I, also ,added the tomato paste and cut my chicken into large chunks. I did use regular chicken broth and soy sauce as I am not worried about sodium. I used cider vinegar and added ground ginger, white pepper and Worcestershire sauce to the sauce. To the veggies, I added carrot chunks and green bell along with red , also a can of water chestnuts. I enjoyed that the sauce was neither too sweet nor too tangy, it was very nice- not overpowering like some sweet n sour recipes. My family enjoyed dinner very much-thanks. I served it over jasmine rice with egg rolls on the side. I will make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 January 08, 2009

This recipe is wonderful... I did use the advice of adding tomato paste and also I cubed the chicken for more of a chinese style on Basmati rice. Thanks!! No complaints here!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ORBITZ November 05, 2008

Very easy to put together, smells divine while cooking, and serves beautifully! Oh, and it tastes DELISHHHHHious! Next time I would make it with drums and thighs OR bite-size pieces as I've found that whole breast meat tends to get dry in these sorts of preparations. Serve the meat on a bed of rice, and slop that sauce over like gravy. Mmmmm!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber April 05, 2007

3.5 stars really - I threw it all in at once, cooked it for 8 hours, the flavours were great. At about 5 hours I added 1 tbs of tomato paste for colour and roundness of flavour. Very nice and will make again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happygurl06 April 03, 2007

My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. I was not able to get the sauce to thicken to his tastes...so we will try to work on that next time...but it was so good with a couple eggrolls on the side.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kewpiecyster February 06, 2009

I doubled the recipe for a crowd of 10 (5 of them children 10 and under) and everyone loved it. Most had seconds and there were two meals leftover. This is a good meal for kids. It was very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmcilvoy January 03, 2011

This was good, not outstanding, but definitely filled our tummies without complaints...and EASY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy loves Dessert July 19, 2009
Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Chicken