Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Stuffing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Stuffing

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2007

      AWESOME!! I made this for Thanksgiving and will be making it for every holiday from now on. I'm very picky about my stuffing and I was sure I wouldn't like this because I thought it wouldn't get nice and crispy in the slow cooker... but I was wrong. The edges browned really nicely and it was perfect. I put it all together the night before (and added 1 lb. cooked, crumbled pork sausage/cut back the butter and broth a bit) and just turned it on in the morning. Even my mother-in-law, who is very Bon Appetit, wanted the recipe! THANK YOU for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      I made this to accompany our turkey for our Christmas dinner this year and everyone really enjoyed it! It turned out great. I cut the butter down to half a cup instead of a full cup. The preparation time as posted did not include the 45 min, so it's actually 6 hrs., 45 min cooking time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Delicious! I made this as a side dish out of necessity since we moved back to our old home which has a 1920's Wedgewood Gas and Wood burning stove. The gas oven was just big enough to hold our 15 pound turkey, so when I saw the recipe for Slow Cooker Stuffing I said why not. I will make your wonderful Slow Cooker Stuffing every year. Everyone loved the taste, texture and my daughters were in awe at how delicious it turned out. I sprayed the Slow Cooker with cooking spray before placing the ingredients in the cooker. I stirred the stuffing several times throughout the cooking period to prevent over browning on edges and was very happy with the results. Overall the recipe was quick and easy to prepare. It would be a great recipe for a beginner cook. The recipe holds honor in our family cookbook and will be passed down to our children. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      You saved me too... there was no way I had room in my oven for everything.. I had never thought about the slow cooker. I did make a few changes to incorporate my recipe for corn bread stuffing.. the moistness was perfection.. thank you... Also, I make my stuffing the night before with everything but the liquid.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      I messed up on this but I will gladly take the blame! I thought I would add some uncooked chicken breast to this to make a complete meal. What I did not think about until I was at work was that I should not have added the butter because of the chicken grease! Sure enough, I came home to a greasy mess. However, the stuffing itself tasted just wonderful and was so easy to prepare and cook. Next time I will use the brain God gave me and not add the butter! This is a keeper! Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Yummy. I used brownberry herb seasoned bread cubes stuffing which wasn't quite enough so added a box of turkey stovetop stuffing. Also added 2 cans of mushroom stems and pieces with the liquid. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      This worked out great for our family dinner! I made this one in a large slow cooker, changing only in that I add cream of celery soup rather than celery, and I caramelize the onions before adding. I thought this was just a touch bland, but it's probably just that I added too many bread crumbs. I used about a bag and a half. I got the plain ready to make bag of dried crumbs, and next time I think I'll use the seasoned, or add some cornmeal. Made this and a sourdough stuffing to make sure everyone was satisfied, and this one got gobbled up just fine! I'll try it again next year, maybe with some sausage and the seasoned crumbs. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      This was great. I made it last year and the family was asking about it this year. I love having one less thing to worry about, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      I made this to go with my roast chicken dinner, I cut the recipe down to 4 servings and cooked it in my Crockett. I oiled it so as not to stick to the sides and I used wholemeal bread crumbs, and a red onion. I did feel it was a wee bit wet and next time I will use less broth, but I will make it again. I did like the flavour. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      I love this recipe. I also sprayed my slow cooker with oil spray, and mine was done quicker than the instructions stated too. I didn't have enough breadcrumbs, so I added some crushed tortilla chips for about a third of the breadcrumbs. It turned out just as delicious! I am adding this recipe to my Christmas turkey-dinner menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      What a nice surprise! I thought I would have a dense, loaf of bread chunks, but actually the result was almost fluffy - a flavorful dressing. I sprayed the crock-pot with Pam, stirred around the sides twice - no problem with burned edges. My husband loved it - he likes VERY moist dressing. I would have preferred it to be a bit more dry, but no matter what, it was fast (4 hrs & 45 min) and convenient - the only way I'll do dressing again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Made this to go with our Christmas turkey dinner. A huge success! I sprayed my crock pot with cooking spray, and stirred a few times to prevent too much browning on the sides. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of the whole amount. I also used packaged pre-seasoned bread cubes, so I didn't add as much seasoning as called for. I also had some dry cornbread with I cubed and added to the mix. Really delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I made this for thanksgiving of 09' and it has become my new stuffing for holidays quickly. Very savory and delish. Thank you for posting this, more people should know about it. On a side note I added a couple cups of mushroom along with it and didn't have any thyme or poultry seasoning and it still came out great. Made fresh white bread for it too. Definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Wow, this was excellent! I used homemade breadcrumbs and turkey stock, and sweated the vegetables as suggested in the reviews. Mine was done well before the six hours was up, and I ended up adding a little more stock for moisture. I will definitely add this to my holiday menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This was a very good recipe and so easy to throw together. I used one bag of Pepperidge Farm Herb Stuffing Mix and one bag of cornbread stuffing and it turned out awesome. I sprayed my crockpot well with cooking spray and I followed the rest of the recipe to the tea. I used the bag stuffing for convience. This is definitely a keeper and will be made at my house for all holiday get togethers from now on. Thank you so much Audrey for an easy delicious stuffing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Fantastic reviews from family. They requested I make it for Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This was excellent! We were cooking a small turkey at a high heat and were worried about the stuffing so we decided to try this. Perfect. I used the small bag of Pepperidge Farm Herb Stuffing and followed their directions for the butter and chicken broth. I did add an egg to the broth as this recipe suggested. I cooked 1 lb of Jimmy Dean Pork Sausage until no longer pink and sauted the onions and celery. I added the above and one peeled, cored and chopped apple and 3/4 cup of whole cranberries. Cooked exactly as this recipe suggested. I did rub the crock pot with a little butter. Wow, great as is but once you add a little gravy, you would never know this was not cooked in the bird. Thx. so much for posting this great, creative recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      This recipe didn't turn out very well. The stuffing burned on the sides after 4.5 hours in the crock pot. Everyone thought it tasted ok, but I wasn't real crazy about the flavor. I loved the simplicity, but didn't care for the end results. This was the worst stuffing I have ever had in my entire life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      What a great recipe. I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. I cooked up some sage flavored sausage the night before and then added it to the rest of the ingredients. Because there was so much, I had to put half of it in the crock pot and the other half was baked in the oven. Both versions came out great. I didn't cook the onions or celery beforehand and had no problems with it. It was a little moist but we like our dressing wet in the South. I'll be cooking this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This recipe didn't turn out very well. The stuffing had an almost grayish color and burned on the sides after 4.5 hours in the crock pot. My husband thought it tasted ok, but I wasn't real crazy about the flavor. I loved the simplicity, but didn't care for the end results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Stuffing

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 595.8
     
    Calories from Fat 201
    33%
    Total Fat 22.3 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 71.6 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1491.0 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.0 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sage leaves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes