Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2010

      This was very easy to make and the house smelt so good. The only thing was I had put it to 10 hours slow cooking but I checked after 6. Glad I did cause mine was cooked to the point of over cooked. I didnt have to puree anything as it was very soft. I used 2pork hocks and pulled the meat off and added it to the pot just before serving. Nice crusty bread went along with it. The rest was frozen into containers for future lunches Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      We made this today, with just a few modifications: -Added a pinch of dried thyme -Added about 1/2 tsp minced garlic -Added 1 bay leaf (removed before eating) We used a ham bone with a decent amount of meat on it. Our slow cooker is probably only 3.5 or 4-quart, and was quite full once we got all the ingredients in. I thought it wouldn't cook properly, but we cooked on high for about 7 hours, and it was fabulous! So simple, and yet so tasty. I added a good bit of black pepper after the fact, since I like mine that way. Thanks for a great recipe! This one will stay in our rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      This was one of the first recipes I reviewed on Zaar. I noticed that when I reviewed it originally, I left off the stars. It definately deserves 5 stars! It is something I have made several times since. I omit the salt because the ham bone usually adds enough. These is an excellent crockpot soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      This is my kind of recipe--super simple, makes a ton and healthy to boot! I'm a vegetarian so I substituted the ham with some cubed fake ham pieces and as others suggested a couple of bay leaves. It turned out very yummy and filling--even the meat eating hubby liked it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I've made this several times now and for some reason forgot to rate it. This is the best recipe for split pea soup that I have ever used. I love the slow cooker method, especially in hot weather. We eat a lot of soup year round and this is my go to recipe. The only thing I add is garlic and a bay leaf. I have used both meaty ham bone and smoked ham hocks. Both turn out great. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      This recipe is extremely easy to put together and tastes wonderful. I found I had to drain a bit of liquid but then I did have a large ham bone with meat. I think next time I will put in 6 cups of water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2014

      Very easy, flavorful recipe. We don't eat meat, so we made it vegetarian by omitting the ham and adding a teaspoon of smoked paprika and natural liquid smoke. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      I modified this recipe based on other recipes I found to combine to perfection! I subbed fat-free, low sodium chicken broth for 8 cups, and then did 2 cups water. I added one large russet potato, peeled and medium diced, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1tsp oregano, kosher salt, pepper, 1 bay leaf. I cooked in slow cooker on high without stirring for first 4.5 hours, then stirred, let cook 1 hour longer, removed ham hocks, cut off fat and skin, chopped ham and put back in soup. AMAZING! I gave only 4 stars because if you don't know what to do with the ham hocks, you will not know to take off fat and skin and that alone can give you some serious weight gain and the sodium may kill ya! Other than that, great base recipe for this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      A great recipe for an old bachelor up here in Connecticut, especially during winter. I usually use the bones from a smoked shoulder and throw in whatever veggies I have hiding out in the fridge along with a couple squirts of rooster sauce just to give it a little "bite."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      Made this today using smoked hocks. I also added some garlic and fresh ground pepper since we season almost everything with those flavors. With the slow cooker liner it was as easy on cleanup as opening a can of soup but sooooooooooooooo much tastier and healthier. This recipe made the best split pea soup I've had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Super easy, very fast and very delicious! It smelled so good while it simmered in the crock pot. An excellent follow up for the Easter Ham! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      I love this recipe as a template -- the proportions and cooking times are right on. One of my favorite changes is to leave out the meat altogether and add about a tablespoon of curry powder, along with a bay leaf. The flavor is awesome! (Added bonus: less fat and fewer calories, too!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This is really good and simple to make. I used a couple of cups of chopped up ham that I had leftover. I usually wait to add the salt when it is done cooking, since the ham is sometimes salty enough. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      Excellent flavor and so simple! Used hambone and some meat....my family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      Absolutely the BEST!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Loved it! Absolutely delicious to come home to after a busy day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Next day leftovers are great too. Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      "This split pea soup is almost as easy as opening a can, and twice as yummy. Hope you enjoy it!" We did enjoy this soup very much. Not really as easy as opening a can... but definitely tasty enough to bother with the prep of fresh ingredients. Added a bay leaf (remove before eating) and a couple of shakes of Original Mrs. Dash. I had to scale the recipe down to fit in the 2.5 Qt Crock Pot we have which makes PLENTY for the two of us. When the soup was done, I took out the ham (to shred) & the bay leaf. I decided to "stick blend" the soup to make it more like canned rather than leave it chunky... I added 3t of xanthum gum and pureed the veggies... then returned the shredded ham to the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Great recipe- I recommend using 6 cups of water or add more split peas if you like your soup a little thicker. Also, i used a large ham bone and this made it almost too salty. I highly recommend not adding any salt until the very end. The soup still came out rather yummy and everyone helped themselves to seconds and there were hardly any leftovers. We also added a couple of potatoes in the last 30 minutes which added some nice texture to the soup. Even my 2 yr old loved it. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Good proportions and tasty basic pea soup. Mine took more time to cook than called for. After 8 hours on low the peas were not yet tender, so I put it up to high on the crockpot for another couple of hours. I used diced ham instead of the ham bones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.0
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    21%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 329.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 15.5 g
    62%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 14.3 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes