Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Split Pea and Ham Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Split Pea and Ham Soup

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2012

      Very good and easy. I used up a ham bone that has been using up freezer space. I made on Saturday to eat on Sunday. It was VERY thick on Sunday, so I thinned it out a bit with some water. Not a problem-- that way it can be adjusted to everyone's liking. Very tasty and fragrant! Since I used the ham bone, I omitted the salt altogether, and did not miss it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I omited the carrot because I didn't have any and added a sprinkle of ground red pepper, 2 boullion cubes and a slash of liquid smoke for a smokey flavor. A keeper and I will use the recipe from now on! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      Delicious! I added lots more carrots, and substituted 2 quarts chicken broth for the 1.5 quarts water, based on the other reviewers' suggestions that it needed more liquid. Leftovers were even better than the first night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Great recipe! I made a double batch, but added three times the Ham along with a very meaty Ham bone. The Ham turned shredded and every bite had delicious split pea flavored Ham. Cudos to the cook. This is better than the one taught to me in culinary school.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      This soup was really good. I used home made beef broth instead of water. I found the soup to be really thick, and needed to add additional water to it. It may have been due to my cooking time- because I was worried it would not be done in time, I started with 2 hours on high, then about 8 hours on low. Using this method, the soup was ready to eat before 8 hours was up, probably only needed 6-7. I thought the soup had great flavor and liked that it did not need to be pureed or put into a blender. Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I made this yesterday. It was wonderful! I served it with Sweet Cornbread

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2014

      Yaaawwwzzzaa...........this soup is AWESOME! Only change I made was adding some cubes of russet potatoes - I didn't even peel the potato but I think it adds great texture...cooked it in the crock pot for about 6 hrs, turned it off when I went to bed and turned it back on in the AM on warm for about 4 hours - had some for lunch and OMG....it was amazing. Thanks for sharing- it was a great way to use up every last bit of my honey baked ham!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      Made exactly as recipe stated. YUM!! This was so good, my husband says it's a definite do-over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      I haven't had split pea and ham soup this good in a very long time. A very easy recipe to put together and the results were fantastic. If you're stuck for marjoram like I was try using a little poultry seasoning its got the thyme and pepper in it too. Wow parsely,sage,rosemary ,and thyme!! Added just a little more water and made it an even 6 cups..outside of that all is the same.Thanks for a great slow cooker recipe saving this one in the cookbook for sure !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      Very easy to make had the help of chopping the carrots the onions and the celery cooking on high right now, cant wait to try i will write another review on how it tastes after i taste it .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      This recipe turns our DELICIOUS! I had an easter ham bone and meat in a freezer bad since April (lol, I know, don;t judge me), Made the recipe exactly as called for, except used chicken stock instead of water (I was going to get ham stock but they were out). Also, did not have marjoram, so I doubled the Thyme. My 16 year old daughter was surprised at how good it was cause she said it didn't smell too good at first (lol). I doubled the amount of vegetables it called for, but other then that it was the same. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      I made this as directed except didn't have any marjoram or celery. This soup is fantastic! Hubby loved that I threw ham and a ham hock in it. Served it up with cornbread. He has a rule that if it comes out of the crockpot it has to have cornbread. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      Unbeatable. An absolutely fabulous way to make Pea and Ham soup. I used 2 lts water and cooked for last couple of hours on high. It wouldn't have hurt if it had cooked for 10 hours as I had a rather large bacon hock that I used. However the meat was tender and pulled off the bone easily enough. I scooped some of the more obvious fat from the top of the crockpot before serving. I does need the additional salt, which I had wondered about. I didn't bother pureeing it. It was mushy enough without having to do that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      Wowzers! SO easy and SO delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, using yellow split peas. Truly excellent flavor! I was home most of the day, and the aroma, as it cooked, was wonderful. DH and I both liked it very much. I will make this one again. Thanks for sharing this, Dwynnie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      YUM YUM YUM!<br/><br/>I omitted the salt and pepper, but that's only because our ham had been dry smoked and was already very flavorful. Other than that I kept it as is!<br/><br/>Thanks bunches

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      What wonderful memories this soup bought back to me as my late dad used tto make this every winter. I made a half recipe as that is as much as the slow cooker would take, using a lovely meaty smoked bacon hock, though next time I think I will add more vegetables. When it had finished cooking I removed the bacon hock and the meat was just falling of the bone and had to scoop big chunks out of the soup pot and then I blitzed the liquid with a stick blender to smooth it out a little and bring the colour of peas out, thank you Dwynnie, made for Down On The Farm tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Great way to use up that holiday ham bone. Like another reviewer, I didn't add salt since the ham was plenty salty already. Nice flavor and very easy to throw together, wish I had made a double batch, but made plenty for 4 servings with leftovers for lunch today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      I love this receipe! I took this nice meaty ham bone from Christmas out of my freezer. This soup is divine, the only thing I added was a bit of chopped turnip because I ran short of carrots, and I added worchestershire sauce and bon appetit spice. This is my new favorite. It could win awards!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Excellent Flavor! I made two batches, in one batch I added about a tablespoon of turmeric to give it a slight curry taste....YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Really good! I made it exactly as written, and the only thing I would change is to add slightly more water next time. It turned out a little thicker than I expected, but was still great. Definintely a keeper. I used 2 cups of chopped cooked ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Split Pea and Ham Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.9
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    52%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 24.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1918.3 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 20.5 g
    82%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 29.5 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes