39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good and easy. I used up a ham bone that has been using up freezer space. I made on Saturday to eat on Sunday. It was VERY thick on Sunday, so I thinned it out a bit with some water. Not a problem-- that way it can be adjusted to everyone's liking. Very tasty and fragrant! Since I used the ham bone, I omitted the salt altogether, and did not miss it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
didyb June 30, 2012

Great recipe! I made a double batch, but added three times the Ham along with a very meaty Ham bone. The Ham turned shredded and every bite had delicious split pea flavored Ham. Cudos to the cook. This is better than the one taught to me in culinary school.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeffdal April 29, 2012

This is a great recipe. I omited the carrot because I didn't have any and added a sprinkle of ground red pepper, 2 boullion cubes and a slash of liquid smoke for a smokey flavor. A keeper and I will use the recipe from now on! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashleigh12 November 03, 2009

Delicious! I added lots more carrots, and substituted 2 quarts chicken broth for the 1.5 quarts water, based on the other reviewers' suggestions that it needed more liquid. Leftovers were even better than the first night.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen December 04, 2012

This soup was really good. I used home made beef broth instead of water. I found the soup to be really thick, and needed to add additional water to it. It may have been due to my cooking time- because I was worried it would not be done in time, I started with 2 hours on high, then about 8 hours on low. Using this method, the soup was ready to eat before 8 hours was up, probably only needed 6-7. I thought the soup had great flavor and liked that it did not need to be pureed or put into a blender. Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Island Girl 525 March 08, 2010

I made this yesterday. It was wonderful! I served it with Sweet Cornbread

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrigr January 06, 2010

Very good. I hate celery so i skipped that part. And i used a quart of the glaze off my ham and 2 cups of water. I dont think it could have tasted any better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 11, 2015

Yaaawwwzzzaa...........this soup is AWESOME! Only change I made was adding some cubes of russet potatoes - I didn't even peel the potato but I think it adds great texture...cooked it in the crock pot for about 6 hrs, turned it off when I went to bed and turned it back on in the AM on warm for about 4 hours - had some for lunch and OMG....it was amazing. Thanks for sharing- it was a great way to use up every last bit of my honey baked ham!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelster2 December 28, 2014

Made exactly as recipe stated. YUM!! This was so good, my husband says it's a definite do-over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamster888 July 21, 2014

I haven't had split pea and ham soup this good in a very long time. A very easy recipe to put together and the results were fantastic. If you're stuck for marjoram like I was try using a little poultry seasoning its got the thyme and pepper in it too. Wow parsely,sage,rosemary ,and thyme!! Added just a little more water and made it an even 6 cups..outside of that all is the same.Thanks for a great slow cooker recipe saving this one in the cookbook for sure !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrpaul February 23, 2014
Slow Cooker Split Pea and Ham Soup