9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm not sure if it was the caraway seeds or the apple, but it took away the bitterness that I really love, so I pulled half of the sauerkraut from the crock and put a new batch in the pot halfway through the cook time. At that point that pork tenderloin was just falling apart. can't wait to enjoy this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craigstrang December 31, 2010

This was simply delicious, we really enjoyed it. Our sauerkraut burned a little on the edge due to a lack of liquid but the majority of it was great. We added apple which added a nice sweetness and I'd add more next time. I served with boiled buttered carrots. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO November 15, 2010

We had this for new years. Great recipe, I used 1/4 cup of the caraway seeds and subbed applesauce for the green apple. I also added hot dogs for the last 15 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jen #1 January 02, 2009

Delicious -- even my sauerkraut hating husband loved it cooked this way. I included the apple and served this with sourdough bread. We will be having this again. Thanks again for posting this keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ August 07, 2008

Very simple and tasty! Made it as the recipe called but added a little water to make sure was OK overnight. The pork was moist and tender! I added a little brown sugar at the end to take away the tartness of the sauerkraut and it got rave reviews! Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ricearoni161 July 03, 2007

I made a 2 1/2 lb pork tenderloin with 2 lbs of kraut and added 1/2 cup of water to the crockpot and cooked on low for 9 hours. I left out the seeds, garlic and apple, due to preference. We enjoyed and I served this aside of homemade mashed potatoes; we also enjoyed the leftovers. The kraut was a smidge tart, but next time, rather than adding the apple as suggested, I just may add more water to the crockpot, by 1/2 to 1 cup more, due to preference. Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook November 16, 2005

Very good!! I thought it seemed like a LOT of caraway seed to be adding, but it really complements the flavor of the sauerkraut nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie Dangerous January 04, 2010

This was the first time I didn't brine my tenderloin, and the first time it was a bit dry. I almost followed your recipe exactly: I didn't use the apple because DBF took it for his lunch; I did add two pinches of dried thyme; and I did pinch a quarter block of cream cheese in, because I needed to use it up. The sauerkraut and cream cheese made a wonderful gravy to go with JanS's Mashed Potatoes with Horseradish Cream Mashed Potatoes with Horseradish Cream, and some green beans with some dill. This was very easy and I will make this again. Thanks, Norellaura, for sharing your father's recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sidMILB May 03, 2006

I absolutely adore this wonderfully simple recipe. It's simple yet very tastey. I used half the pork loin but all of the saurkraut because I am only one person but I love saurkraut. Next time though I would make it exactly as written. Very good. Julie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Budgiegirl January 12, 2006
Slow Cooker Sauerkraut and Pork Tenderloin