15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is great! I used 3/4 c celery, 1/2 c carrots, 1/4 c onion. I used elftover baked salmon and 4c broth instead of 3, and left out the rice. Added black pepper and garlic powder and some leeks, and the insides of a leftover baked potato, and 1/4 c canned corn. FANTASTIC.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
castlesburning December 12, 2009

This was Heaven and so easy. My daughter loved it too! I had to use 1/2 TB dried Dill & 14 oz canned Salmon.I put all ingredients except the salmon and cream cheese in first. Turned out LOVELY!! Thanks Again! We will make this often :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissTiff16 September 23, 2007

This was very good! It took only 4 hours for the vegetables to cook. The only change I made was to use only 1 tsp. of dill in this (I used dried; if you use fresh, 1 tb may be a good amount). I left out the salt, because my broth was salty enough on its own. Thanks for posting; this was a nice use for canned salmon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie August 18, 2007

Excellent soup! I made some changes, however. Since I had 3 salmon steaks that I had thawed out and refroze, I chose to thaw them again use them in soup for fear the texture or taste may have altered to much to grill them. So I think I about tripled the salmon, I doubled everything else except: 1) the cream cheese - just used one package 2) the rice, which I did not use. I used two diced red potatoes instead, and (3) the water ; I used none. I also diced the carrots instead of using shoe-string ones. And I added a sprinkling of Trader Joe's 21 Salute Seasoning. (Kind of like Mrs. Dash without salt.) This soup is good enough for company and I will definitely make it again. Three cheers to yogiclarebear for a fine recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon P. February 02, 2015

This recipe came together well and smelled wonderful slow cooking all day. I didn't measure veggies, but just put enough in that they were completely covered by the broth. I added a bit of garlic, some black pepper, and used seasoned salt. After tasting, I added some liquid smoke to give it more of a smoked salmon flavor. While I think it was good, using the fat free cream cheese gave it a weird flavor to me. I did taste the cream cheese before putting it in, so I know it was this and not the recipe's fault, hence not giving a bad review. I just hadn't used it before and didn't realize that I don't like it. I'll try this again with low fat or regular cream cheese to splurge. I also didn't add the rice or the extra water at the end, but I used two full cans of chicken broth, so it kind of evened out. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie March 14, 2013

This was delicious!! The only thing I did different was I made it with fresh salmon, it turned out Great!!! Thanks for the recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C_Arreola March 12, 2013

I made this last night. It was really tasty. I did make a couple of changes though. I used 4c of stock instead of 3 and I used about 2 cups of diced potatoes instead of the rice. Nice hearty meal for those cold days of fall and winter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weasy71 November 17, 2012

Delicious recipe! I was so bummed when I realized I had given away the recipe booklet that had a great Salmon corn chowder recipe, so I came here... Even my boyfriend who really is the pickiest eater on earth loved this (the list of what he won't eat is amazing - no veges but corn, no fruit but apples, no eggs, no cheese, no pie... it goes on and on - it is a nightmare to cook for him). So if he loves it, you know its good. I did not tell him there was cream cheese in it or he would have never even tasted it :-)

I followed the recipe pretty close, but I left out the rice and added retangular slices of red potatoes and canned corn. The entire crock pot batch was gone in two days!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jencolvin November 17, 2012

We had this for dinner last night and it was quite delicious. I left out the water because we like chowder to be on the thick side. I prepared it by adding some minced garlic and cracked black pepper. Next time I make this I think I will add some sweet baby peas.
Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mitomopa May 01, 2012

This was very yummy. I wasn't sure about exchanging cream cheese for cream, but it was actually very good with that little tang. And I love salmon anyway. Deliscious and filling. Thank you yogiclarebear!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penny S. March 07, 2010
Slow Cooker Salmon Chowder