Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Pinto Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Pinto Beans

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2012

      @Closet-Chef...If you read the note on looneytunesfan's page it says she saw this on Paula Deen's show

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      This is Paula Deen's recipe...not looneytunesfan's. You can find it at FoodNetwork.com. It is a good recipe. Go easy on Paula's House Seasoning...once you've added too much you can't undo. Better to add...wait 20 min and then taste to see if the pot needs more added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      These were very nice slow cooker pinto beans. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Cooked a big ole' pot of these up for a crowd. They were delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Unbelievable!!! My family loved these more than any I'd ever cooked before. Hubby thinks he's a great bean cook and no one can compare - until I found this recipe!!! I cooked on high in my very OLD crock pot - put them on when I went to work and they cooked all day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      This bean dish is so tasty and so easy to make. I substituted smoked neck bones instead of ham hock, and added cayenne pepper. After simmering for about 7 hours, they were PERFECT! Soo incredibly good and saucy, perfect for serving over rice as well. This makes a great budget meal! Thanks for sharing - Chick

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Nice, subtle flavor. It was a really nice change. I used a pork shoulder bone and boiled about 20 min it in the water with a few spices (oregano, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, liquid smoke) for some extra flavor then poured it over the beans in the crock pot and cooked with the listed spices. We served it with cornbread. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      I knew if anybody had a good beans n hocks recipe, Paula Deen would!!!!! These are the beans I remember from growing up, the ones your grandma and mama made!!! I really love the secret to these beans and that is soaking the hock, I had never done that before and that really gets a good base stock in there for flavor!!! After pouring the hock water in there, I covered the rest of the way with chicken stock. I shook in my salt, pepper, and garlic powder and tasted it to my liking before I left the crockpot for my day of Saturday shopping. When I came back home, the house smelled so good and made you so hungry!!!! These are the only beans I will make now, they are perfect!! I served this with Paula Deen's Layered Mexican Cornbread which was also fabulous and the only cornbread I will ever make now with beans too!!! Thanks so much for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      These were very good - my husband said they were almost as good as his granny's and that the recipe is a keeper. I couldn't find any ham hocks at my grocery so I ended up using about 1/2 lb of salt pork instead. I also didn't make up the house seasoning but added 1/4 tsp of each ingredient. I think I added too much water to mine, but we just used a slotted spoon to scoop them out. Will definitely be making again - can't wait now to try my luck at homemade refried beans using the leftovers. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      These were very good. I would have never thought to put chili powder in pinto beans. After the 5 hour cooking time I tasted them and found them kinda bland so added an additional teaspoon of chili powder, some oregano and a bay leaf and cooked them for about 2 hours longer. I added extra salt and lots of fresh ground pepper. (I didn't make the houe seasoning, just added in some salt, pepper and garlic powder) I couldn't really tell that adding the ham hocks to the water overnight did much for the flavor. All in all a nice recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Pinto Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 53.2
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    81%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11397.4 mg
    474%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites