Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow Cooker Orange Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooker Orange Chicken

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2010

      Just now getting around to reviewing this wonderful recipe. DH and I love the orange chicken served in a local restaurant in town, so when I found your submission, I decided to give it a try. Your recipe is better than the restaurant, and DH requests it often. The only thing I subbed was I used 1/2 tsp of ground ginger instead of the 1 tsp of minced ginger root, and we loved it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Wow! Simply unbelievably good. I made it exactly as written, including the grated fresh ginger root. For the chicken I used Coleman Organic boneless, skinless, chicken thighs. Note: if you have never bought Coleman's organic chicken, please try it if you have the opportunity. It's really special, just like this GREAT recipe! Many, many, thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This was hit with my husband and I. I used an Asian style barbeque sauce that we had in the fridge. So yummy and easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight - wonderful! I had all of the ingredients on hand. It was scrumptious and easy to make! My DH loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      Thisd was excellent! I added garlic and left out the flouring the chicken step (running late again!). I added 1 tablespoon of corn flour and 1/3 cup of fresh orange juice (and mixed) to the last 15 minutes to thicken. I served it with steamed rice, broccoli and carrots - yum! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Awesome. Tender chicken and the sauce thickens itself. Highly recommended by us. Used homemade BBQ sauce with chicken thighs with bone in - skin removed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      This was good. Didn't taste like Asian food...more like orange barbecue chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      This was my first slow cooker recipe so I'm rating it 5 stars based on the potential :) The sauce was delicious!! I'm not the biggest fan of barbecue sauce and was a little nervous especially because I doubled the ingredients for the sauce, but it came out SO good! My only problem was that my chicken was dried out, but, I used chicken breasts instead of thighs and, as mentioned, this was my first time using a slow cooker so I probably didn't get the timing or temperature right for using a different cut of meat. Will definitely try again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      This turned out one super, very easy, family-pleasing meal. I used KC Masterpiece Original BBQ sauce and loved the flavor of the fresh ginger. Thanks, will make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Not enough sauce to cover anything unless you have a tiny slow cooker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      This turned out wonderful!! It was quick and easy to make. THe only thing was the kids found the flavour a little too strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I apologize, I do not like posting low ratings so I will not give any stars for this one. To me, the recipe tasted like barbecued chicken, and it was too watery, no consistency or "stickiness" at all. Could not taste the orange. It was nothing like the orange chicken at the Chinese restaurants locally, which are typically deep fried nuggets smothered in a sauce. Perhaps in your area the Chinese families prepare their dish differently. Again, I am sorry for the low review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      This was quite tasty. I cooked it for 10 hours on low and it was very moist and flavorful. The orange flavor is a bit much...next time I'd do more barbecue sauce. I forgot to add the flour. But I did add some cornstarch to the sauce at the end to thicken it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I had picked this for the "O" is for October photo entry and made it tonight, but when I went to post my photo it had a photo posted today. So, I will review anyway. Personally I loved the flavor of this, very much like the restaurant style orange chicken. My hubby's only complaint was the bones in the chicken thighs, next time I will use the boneless chicken breast since her prefers them. I'm sure it will be just as good with them. Myself I love the flavor of the thighs but have to keep him happy, he's spoiled rotten, but worth it. Great recipe Chris.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I won't give this any stars because I knew we didn't like marmalade before I made it. But I thought the recipe sounded good. However, the taste of the marmalade came through loud and clear! I made just enough for us two (kept the sauce ingredients the same) and baked it at 350 for about 40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooker Orange Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.9
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    17%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 114.5 mg
    38%
    Sodium 812.9 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 21.6 g
    86%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites