17 Reviews

Just now getting around to reviewing this wonderful recipe. DH and I love the orange chicken served in a local restaurant in town, so when I found your submission, I decided to give it a try. Your recipe is better than the restaurant, and DH requests it often. The only thing I subbed was I used 1/2 tsp of ground ginger instead of the 1 tsp of minced ginger root, and we loved it. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarshHen May 07, 2010

Wow! Simply unbelievably good. I made it exactly as written, including the grated fresh ginger root. For the chicken I used Coleman Organic boneless, skinless, chicken thighs. Note: if you have never bought Coleman's organic chicken, please try it if you have the opportunity. It's really special, just like this GREAT recipe! Many, many, thanks for posting this.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruby #2 June 21, 2010

This was hit with my husband and I. I used an Asian style barbeque sauce that we had in the fridge. So yummy and easy to put together.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueSapphire November 08, 2009

Not enough sauce to cover anything unless you have a tiny slow cooker!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cubbie220 February 18, 2010

I made this for dinner tonight - wonderful! I had all of the ingredients on hand. It was scrumptious and easy to make! My DH loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TraceyMae October 28, 2009

I hope I dont affect the rating of this by asking a question before i attempt it. I see no mention of anyone saying or the recipe saying to cut the chicken into peices, or to leave whole? I would think cut up the chicken would absorb more of the flavor. AGAIN im sorry if i affect the rating, if anyone knows how to ask a question in the future differently please tell me. Im cooking this tomorrow so a response would be great today if at all possible, Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffrey M. September 25, 2015

6 hours was WAY too long. Chicken was beyond overdone and all the sugars in the bar-b-que sauce and the marmalade burnt. Uneatable, we ordered pizza.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabbyZ September 13, 2015

Thisd was excellent! I added garlic and left out the flouring the chicken step (running late again!). I added 1 tablespoon of corn flour and 1/3 cup of fresh orange juice (and mixed) to the last 15 minutes to thicken. I served it with steamed rice, broccoli and carrots - yum! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom September 08, 2013

Awesome. Tender chicken and the sauce thickens itself. Highly recommended by us. Used homemade BBQ sauce with chicken thighs with bone in - skin removed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marcoandrita February 10, 2013

This was good. Didn't taste like Asian food...more like orange barbecue chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 February 12, 2012
Slow Cooker Orange Chicken