123 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made the following changes: Melted some smoked gouda cheese with the sharp cheddar. Used cream instead of milk for added smoothness. Dropped in a bit of Dijon mustard instead of dried mustard and a bit of red hot for some zing. Heavily salted the water when boiling the elbow mac which helped to develop the flavor overall. I used a liberal amount of salt and pepper when mixing cheese sauce for flavor. When adding the warm cheese mixture to the eggs, I tempered them first so that I didn't end up with scrambled eggs in the mac and cheese. Not much flavor when I made this prior to making these changes.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JohnnysMommy July 20, 2013

No need for an extra pot! I have made this several time now, and every time I dump all ingredients (except pasta) into the crock pot and stir well. Then add the pasta a little at a time and mix well to coat. It comes out beautifully every time! I have also dressed it up a bit by adding chunks of cooked ham, fried onion bits, chopped mushrooms, and a few dashes of hot sauce. My husband loves it, and it was a hit at a office pot luck. thanks for posting!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bubblette February 12, 2013

This is a great recipe for the crockpot! I made this recipe to take to a potluck. I par-cooked the noodles for 5 minutes, drained and cooled them, and then mixed all of the ingredients (minus eggs) in my cold crock and put it in the fridge overnight. Took it to work the next day and plugged it in-- 2/5 hours later, a party success! I decided to leave the eggs out because i was not cooking it right away. It was very creamy, and the noodles did not get mushy. I miss the crunchy topping that baked macs get, and I think the next time I'll add some paprika or extra pepper for a kick.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shanahoo September 05, 2010

I make this all the time! I omit the eggs also and I've also tried it with different grated cheeses such as Jack. When I use Jack cheese, I add some extra seasonings and once the macaroni is cooked, I mix in some crispy bacon, yum!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsM1021 February 27, 2012

I won't be giving up my regular macaroni recipe, but this was SO handy to have ready when we got back from swimming tonight. Three minutes after walking in the door, the kids were eating. Two out of the 3 really liked it, and the third (who believes only in Velveeta) was willing to eat it if it meant she got a cupcake. Made according to the recipe except I couldn't find ground mustard in the cabinet so I used brown mustard. You could definitely taste the mustard, so keep that in mind. Not all of the shredded cheddar melted nicely, so I will consider using a chunk of velveeta next time, but most of it melted just fine. I also didn't have time to do it all on the stove top, so I started it melting in the microwave, then just stirred it all together and called it good. I used 3 cups of macaroni, so I had one serving leftover. It wasn't as creamy as I was hoping, but it really didn't take any more time to put together than a box of mac and cheese, and yet was so much more real, so I'll keep it in mind. I also liked how it was a crock pot meal, but it didn't take all day to cook it. I frequently don't figure out dinner until mid afternoon, so this really worked for me.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy February 16, 2012

This tasted very delicious but had a weird fluffy texture (from the eggs?). I might try it without the eggs next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Rachel B September 03, 2012

This dish is absolutely delish and so easy to prepare. I brought it to my niece's birthday party and the crock pot was cleaned out in no time. Everyone wanted the recipe because of the taste and ease of preparing. The only changes I did was to use a full box of macaroni, use 4 cups preshredded sharp cheddar cheese and no eggs. Needless to say - I will be making this dish many times in the future.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daduk July 29, 2012

AMAZING....BEST MAC & CHEESE EVER! Last night I made this recipe for the first time. I omitted the eggs and while cooking the noodles for the few minutes I just combined everything else in the crockpot. Once the noodles were drained I just added them to the crockpot and stirred real good, with the hot noodles coming into the crockpot it pretty much melted the butter and cheese. I did not have Sharp Cheddar Cheese so I had to use Colby Jack, but I think I like it better then if I had the Cheddar Cheese.<br/>This turned out so good that between three people there was no left over. So this evening I made this again, this time I doubled the ingredients (still omitted the eggs) and once again used the Colby Jack Cheese. Its so delicious! <br/>Its creamy and just overall awesome comfort food. This recipe will be at the top of my crockpot recipes!<br/>*UPDATE* I was in a hurry to make this recipe for a potluck and forgot to omit the eggs. Big Mistake! The Mac N Cheese came out very mushy and the eggs curled everything. The eggs over rode the flavor of the dish. It was eatable but not enjoyable. So I won't be making the mistake of eggs again*

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prairiemoon May 26, 2014

I couldn't find the recipe I previously used with great success for a company pot luck, so I tried this one. After draining the pasta, I immediately knew I was going to have to double the recipe and jimmy the recipe a bit, since I didn't have double of everything. So, I made another 2 cups pasta, for a total of 4.5 cups uncooked. I used 5 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese, the same 1 can of soup, 1 stick of butter, 8 ounces sour cream, 2 eggs and double the seasoning. It came out so yummy and not grainy at all, but the pasta held their shape perfectly. I cooked the pasta for 6 minutes each time. I cooked on low for 2.5 hours as it wasn't quite hot enough for my taste at 2 hours. I won second place at the pot luck out of 20 dishes, and only lost to a yummy chocolate dessert. Will definitely make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassandra's Kitchen October 30, 2011

this is almost exactly the recipe i came up with on my own but i make it on the stove top... always gets rave reviews! so awesome to see it made for the slowcooker!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyFlour66 June 18, 2014
Slow Cooker Macaroni & Cheese