55 Reviews

I threw this in my crockpot this morning. I made a few changes, I made this a beef stew instead of just meat. I threw in carrots, celery, potatoes, onions and london broil cut up. I topped it with the soups and 1/4 cup of red wine. Great dinner the meat fell apart and the gravy was just perfect for dipping homemade biscuits in. Thanks so much for posting Comet!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z January 20, 2010

this was delicious! I prepared exactly to the recipe, but added 3 potatoes, baby carrots and mushrooms. I wasn't sure there was enough liquid to cover it all, but when I got home from work after 8 hours of slow cooking it had morphed into a delicious stew. It was NOT too salty as other reviewers have said, to my taste. Highly recommend! So easy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leigh AH March 25, 2010

Delicious we were out of tomato soup we took another reviewers suggestion and used one 8 oz. tomato sauce. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef313633 January 25, 2010

I made this last night and it was a hit! I added an extra can of tomato and mushroom soup to make more gravy. I also added carrots and served it over baked potatoes.Tonight I am making rice to have with it. I will make this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ONTARIO FARMWIFE January 27, 2010

Used boneless sirloin steak pieces and cooked in the oven at 170, as my crockpot cooks too high. DH does not care for mushrooms, canned or otherwise, so used cream of chicken. Tender meat and a yummy gravy. Thanks for sharing. Update - tried again with London broil and that needed to cook at 250 all day or 300 for half. Still great flavor and easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mapaklenk January 23, 2010

The gravy in this is wonderful. I didn't have tomato soup, so I used V8 juice that I had. I didn't have any onion soup mix so I added about 1/2 of a beef bullion cube and added some chopped onion. I will definately make again. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine in Hawaii March 07, 2009

Yummy! I was really shocked at how good this is. With school starting soon I was looking for something simple and quick. As a side I cooked 100% whole wheat noodles which was great topped with that yummy sauce. Next time I may add an extra cream of mush. and tomato soup so I have more sauce for the noodles. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctech August 21, 2007

We really enjoyed this stew. My daughter is a meat-lover, she wants this again. I added potatoes, carrots, celery and onion. I omitted the onion soup mix and added onion powder instead to cut down on sodium. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkarooni March 08, 2006

Very easy and tasty! The only thing I changed was to use round steak (since that's what I had on hand)! I served this with mashed potatoes and broccoli and it was a hit with everyone! Thanks Comet!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fame26 February 25, 2004

Absolutely delicious! The meat came out so tender and the soups make a really delicious gravy too. This dish to me was very stroganoffish. I ate my first serving with some dry toast to dip into the gravy. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ February 23, 2004
Slow Cooker London Broil