48 Reviews

I've always wanted to try a crocpot lasagna, but never quite made the time...yesterday I took this recipe as a jumping off point for my first attempt... I made several changes to suit both my diet and what I had on hand...first I subbed chicken breast meat for the ground beef, poaching it in low-sodium chicken broth before cooling and cubing it up...second, I had no italian seasoning so I used mrs dash...third I used a jar and a half of walnut acres lo-sodium/lo-fat tomato and basil sauce, omitting the water...fourth, I can't eat mushrooms so I subbed in chopped green pepper...fifth, I used a little more ricotta than called for (about 20 oz.)...sixth I had a cheddar/mozzarella blend instead of the plain mozzarella...i also forgot to plug the dratted crockpot in (lol) so I ended up cooking on high for 3 hours...i'm so very happy to have found this recipe because it gave me a place to start and it was simple enough for someone who didn't "get" how a crockpot lasagna is made...from here I can probably even attempt a vegetarian lasagna as well! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas March 11, 2009

What a great idea! My only complaint was that it was a bit dry. I even added extra water halfway through! That was surprising given other reviewers' comments about how runny it was. I will definitely make this again, but will use more than one jar of sauce. I believe I used a Ragu sauce, which was a couple ounces smaller than the recipe called for. It sure was nice to fix it in the crockpot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Ann D February 22, 2009

I was excited to try lasagna in the crock pot, but wasn't sure if it would work. It did, and it was very good! I made a light version with half the cheese and meat (also used ground turkey). I followed other reviewers and used red wine instead of water, and added an onion, some garlic and fresh parsley. I also doubled the mushrooms (fresh, sauteed), and actually wished I had added more. I made 4 layers, and the liquid ratio was good - it was done and not soupy after 4 hours. Maybe for the reviewers whose were soupy they made 2 layers per the directions? It was fun to try lasagna a new way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 16, 2009

I made this for my husband and his co-workers. 8 guys ate it and loved it! I added garlic, that was the only substantial change I made, other than using low-fat ricotta and mozzarella and whole-wheat lasagna noodles (oh, and doubled the amount of noodles.) No one knew the difference! It was really really good. Next time I might switch out the beef for a mix of hot and sweet Italian sausage, and I think it would be good with spinach instead of mushrooms (I like spinach better in my lasagna.) It didn't stick to the bottom even after four hours on "warm" and the little bites I got to taste were really really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ketchupqueen January 27, 2009

I couldn't believe that I really made lasagna is the crockopt. It came out good and mine was done in 4 hrs. I made some changes. I diced up green, red, yellow, and orange bell peppper to put in there. I also used two sausage links, mushroom, and sliced a little bit of black olives. I omited the ricotta cheese but next time I will put in there because my husband likes it. I will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel October 17, 2008

I have to admit that I was a little nervous about this turning out well, but was happily corrected. I loosely followed the recipe, adding in more diced garlic and green pepper, I mixed in some chopped fresh spinach with the ricotta and used an Italian blend of cheeses instead of just plain mozz. I cooked it the full time, but also took the lid off during the last half hour of cooking so that it wouldn't be quite as soupy. This is a real keeper and SO much easier to make than the real deal. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan May 07, 2008

I was torn between 4 and 5 stars. 5 stars for very easy to make. 4 stars because I think it needs a little more liquid as the noodles were not as soft as I thought. I made this simple dish even simpler by using two jars of spag sauce. Also, I have a new digital crockpot. This cooked on low in about 3 hours!! I had put it on and expected to have it cook for 4-5 hours. At three it was done and I had to turn off the crockpot, as the sides were getting burned. Beware of your crockpot.... Overall I loved the idea of not having to precook the noodles and a big mess..will use again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2cookinpa January 26, 2008

Very easy to make and tastes wonderful! This is a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Leeann January 03, 2008

"You can make Lasagna in a crockpot?" was the question I heard all day! I took this to work...it got rave reviews from all who tried it. I used a jar of garden veggie Ragu and a little more sauce from another jar instead of water...had to make my own italian seasoning (parsley, oregano, rosemary, basil, fresh thyme, garlic salt, pepper)I cooked 1/2 an onion with the lean ground beef I used. I am not partial to canned mushrooms but they were not bad in this dish. Last but not least, I thought I had mozzarella (which I adore) but infact discovered shredded Monterey Jack in the fridge after having come home with the groceries. I threw that in anyway! I don't recommended it strongly but it worked in a pinch and nary a sole was the wiser as they were tastetesting today! Thanks! PS-The pic doesn't do it justice! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Left Handed Chef December 09, 2007

Brilliant. This went together so easily, and tasted great. I replaced the ricotta with cottage cheese, and used fresh mushrooms with great results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bloomoon November 07, 2007
Slow Cooker Lasagna