Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow-Cooker Jamaican Jerk BBQ Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow-Cooker Jamaican Jerk BBQ Chicken

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2010

      Thanks for a great, super easy slow-cooker recipe. My kids are crazy for drumsticks and they enjoyed this. I may take the suggestions of other reviewers and add a little more jerk seasoning and some lime juice, also more rum, as I couldn't detect the flavor. Thanks for some good cheap eats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      My husband and I really enjoyed this. It was nice and simple to prepare. I added extra seasoning cause we like stuff a bit on the spicier side. Also added a few veggies (mushrooms, peppers and onions) about an hour before it was finished and used the sauce over rice. This would work well with thighs too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      I made this in my oven using thighs and browned them firstly in oil, I also increased the jerk seasoning for more heat, baked for about 1 hour at 325 degreesF, this has great flavor and I will make again, thanks for sharing Lainey!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      I made Finger Lickin Good BBQ Sauce (http://www.food.com/recipe/finger-lickin-good-bbq-sauce-19023) to use for this chicken dish. The meat was falling off of the bone when it was done?so tender and flavorful. We had a good amount of leftovers for jerk chicken sandwiches the rest of the week. Definitely making it again! I featured this recipe in my blog - http://danasfoodblog.com/?p=832.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      This was a great recipe. It was nice to have something different. I served this with rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      5 stars for sure! Took another reviewer's suggestion, and increased the jerk seasoning to closer to 4 tsp. Slow cooked for approx. 8 hrs. then popped under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp up a bit. These were fall-off-the-bone-amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      DEE-LISH! I think my crock-pot is too big for most recipes, but this one worked out great! The jerk seasoning could have been a little more prevalent (I may use a little more, next time,) but it did come thru the spicy bbq sauce I chose to use. I put mine on low for 10 hours, tho they only really cooked for about 6. My package of legs had 5 pieces, which was just a little under 2 pounds; next time I may add a couple of extra legs. They were fall off the bone done - I did forget the scallions, sorry. Thanks for sharing a winner, Lainey6605!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Delicious! Made as directed except I skipped the scallions. We had this with Coleslaw With Peanuts and Raisins and jello for a great barbecue in the middle of winter! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Oops...I forgot the rum, but the recipe still turned out well. I used over 2 tsp of jerk but still wish I had used more. I think it depends on how hot the jerk spice used is. In the end, the BBQ sauce kinda liquefies and leaves mostly a jerk taste. I also used thighs with drumsticks and it worked well. <$10 of food made meals for 6 hungry med students.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This was good and very easy. It definitely was more barbecue than jerk, though. I'll make it again, but I'll increase the jerk seasoning and add some lime juice, and probably try to find a milder-tasting bbq sauce to use as a base, as well. This was really good with some Jamaican peas and rice and Pickapeppa sauce. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      GREAT!! made this with chicken tenders and added grilled peppers at the last 30 mins.. SO GOOD! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I loved the flavor of this sauce, it was so tasty. I used Jamaican Spice Mixture by ellie_ for the jerk seasoning and Kraft barbecue sauce. Myers Rum was our choice of dark rum. I set the crock pot for 8 hours, but will do either 6 or 4 in the future. The chicken was overcooked, which could be due to the size of the drumsticks were not really big

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      What a great recipe to try for my first ever crock pot meal. Super easy and super delicious. I used chicken breasts, and added red bell pepper and onion just to bulk it up a little. This worked perfectly when cooking for 8 hours. I have made this 3 times in the past 2 weeks. The only problem is finding another crock recipe that we can enjoy as much. So far this is by far and away the winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      This was good, I made it just as the recipe states although I am usually not fond of dark meat. I think next time I will try it with breasts. The meat was so tender though, it just fell off the bone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This is by far the best jerk chicken recipe I've tried. I was skeptical at first - I didn't think a recipe with BBQ sauce would make an authentic-tasting jerk chicken. It turned out better than the local Caribbean restaurants though, and my coworkers (made it for a potluck) agreed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      I cut this recipe way down and used a small (2 qt.) slow-cooker I got as a gift. My wife and I really enjoyed it. I'm going to try it again soon and "tweek" it like the first rater did. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      This is a wonderful base recipe. I made this this afternoon when I wanted something to thaw me out from all of the winter storms. I admit that I tweaked this a lot. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of drumsticks. I also combined three different types of barbecue sauce, added some horseradish and hot chili sauce, and used a Guavaberry Rum that I bought in Sint Maarten. I also added a pinch of cinnamon and grated on some fresh nutmeg. This was delicious and very easy. I served this with green rice and a red cabbage and apple slaw. Thank you for warming me up on a cold winter night. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow-Cooker Jamaican Jerk BBQ Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.3
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    37%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 118.2 mg
    39%
    Sodium 519.2 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 28.2 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    caribbean jerk seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes