18 Reviews

Thanks for a great, super easy slow-cooker recipe. My kids are crazy for drumsticks and they enjoyed this. I may take the suggestions of other reviewers and add a little more jerk seasoning and some lime juice, also more rum, as I couldn't detect the flavor. Thanks for some good cheap eats.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' February 25, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed this. It was nice and simple to prepare. I added extra seasoning cause we like stuff a bit on the spicier side. Also added a few veggies (mushrooms, peppers and onions) about an hour before it was finished and used the sauce over rice. This would work well with thighs too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura the novice May 06, 2009

I made this in my oven using thighs and browned them firstly in oil, I also increased the jerk seasoning for more heat, baked for about 1 hour at 325 degreesF, this has great flavor and I will make again, thanks for sharing Lainey!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 06, 2008

Very good! I made this with a side of yellow rice w/ pigeon peas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFerns September 21, 2015

I made Finger Lickin Good BBQ Sauce (http://www.food.com/recipe/finger-lickin-good-bbq-sauce-19023) to use for this chicken dish. The meat was falling off of the bone when it was done?so tender and flavorful. We had a good amount of leftovers for jerk chicken sandwiches the rest of the week. Definitely making it again! I featured this recipe in my blog - http://danasfoodblog.com/?p=832.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaPNY June 14, 2013

This was a great recipe. It was nice to have something different. I served this with rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaimemcewen_12047910 April 20, 2013

5 stars for sure! Took another reviewer's suggestion, and increased the jerk seasoning to closer to 4 tsp. Slow cooked for approx. 8 hrs. then popped under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp up a bit. These were fall-off-the-bone-amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflower5656 March 05, 2013

DEE-LISH! I think my crock-pot is too big for most recipes, but this one worked out great! The jerk seasoning could have been a little more prevalent (I may use a little more, next time,) but it did come thru the spicy bbq sauce I chose to use. I put mine on low for 10 hours, tho they only really cooked for about 6. My package of legs had 5 pieces, which was just a little under 2 pounds; next time I may add a couple of extra legs. They were fall off the bone done - I did forget the scallions, sorry. Thanks for sharing a winner, Lainey6605!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl September 10, 2012

Delicious! Made as directed except I skipped the scallions. We had this with Coleslaw With Peanuts and Raisins and jello for a great barbecue in the middle of winter! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ March 01, 2010

Oops...I forgot the rum, but the recipe still turned out well. I used over 2 tsp of jerk but still wish I had used more. I think it depends on how hot the jerk spice used is. In the end, the BBQ sauce kinda liquefies and leaves mostly a jerk taste. I also used thighs with drumsticks and it worked well. <$10 of food made meals for 6 hungry med students.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Surgeon Chef September 06, 2009
Slow-Cooker Jamaican Jerk BBQ Chicken