17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks for a great, super easy slow-cooker recipe. My kids are crazy for drumsticks and they enjoyed this. I may take the suggestions of other reviewers and add a little more jerk seasoning and some lime juice, also more rum, as I couldn't detect the flavor. Thanks for some good cheap eats.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' February 25, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed this. It was nice and simple to prepare. I added extra seasoning cause we like stuff a bit on the spicier side. Also added a few veggies (mushrooms, peppers and onions) about an hour before it was finished and used the sauce over rice. This would work well with thighs too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura the novice May 06, 2009

I made this in my oven using thighs and browned them firstly in oil, I also increased the jerk seasoning for more heat, baked for about 1 hour at 325 degreesF, this has great flavor and I will make again, thanks for sharing Lainey!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 06, 2008

I made Finger Lickin Good BBQ Sauce (http://www.food.com/recipe/finger-lickin-good-bbq-sauce-19023) to use for this chicken dish. The meat was falling off of the bone when it was done?so tender and flavorful. We had a good amount of leftovers for jerk chicken sandwiches the rest of the week. Definitely making it again! I featured this recipe in my blog - http://danasfoodblog.com/?p=832.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaPNY June 14, 2013

This was a great recipe. It was nice to have something different. I served this with rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaimemcewen_12047910 April 20, 2013

5 stars for sure! Took another reviewer's suggestion, and increased the jerk seasoning to closer to 4 tsp. Slow cooked for approx. 8 hrs. then popped under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp up a bit. These were fall-off-the-bone-amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflower5656 March 05, 2013

DEE-LISH! I think my crock-pot is too big for most recipes, but this one worked out great! The jerk seasoning could have been a little more prevalent (I may use a little more, next time,) but it did come thru the spicy bbq sauce I chose to use. I put mine on low for 10 hours, tho they only really cooked for about 6. My package of legs had 5 pieces, which was just a little under 2 pounds; next time I may add a couple of extra legs. They were fall off the bone done - I did forget the scallions, sorry. Thanks for sharing a winner, Lainey6605!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl September 10, 2012

Delicious! Made as directed except I skipped the scallions. We had this with Coleslaw With Peanuts and Raisins and jello for a great barbecue in the middle of winter! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ March 01, 2010

Oops...I forgot the rum, but the recipe still turned out well. I used over 2 tsp of jerk but still wish I had used more. I think it depends on how hot the jerk spice used is. In the end, the BBQ sauce kinda liquefies and leaves mostly a jerk taste. I also used thighs with drumsticks and it worked well. <$10 of food made meals for 6 hungry med students.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Surgeon Chef September 06, 2009

This was good and very easy. It definitely was more barbecue than jerk, though. I'll make it again, but I'll increase the jerk seasoning and add some lime juice, and probably try to find a milder-tasting bbq sauce to use as a base, as well. This was really good with some Jamaican peas and rice and Pickapeppa sauce. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC September 24, 2008
Slow-Cooker Jamaican Jerk BBQ Chicken