Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Slow cooker Hoppin' John Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow cooker Hoppin' John

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2003

      carole, my husband and I loved your Hoppin' John! I am a vegetarian so I elimainated the ham and added a ham-like flavoring. We really enjoyed this topped with hot sauce! Thanks for a great way to use those black-eyed peas and collard greens!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      Very delicious and soooo easy. I can also say that I have never put collards in hoppin john' before but it really worked. I held back on the thyme and only used 1 teaspoon. Had an excellent savory flavor that my family and I really liked. I will have to make this next year for New Year's. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      Did not care for these. Way too much thyme IMHO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      I have made it every New Year's Day for the last 5 years, so I can honestly say this recipe is a repeater. The red pepper flakes add just the right amount of heat, and the thyme, onions, and ham add a ton of flavor to the normally bland black-eyed peas. I love that this dish has collard greens - I had actually never had them before and this was a great introduction.

      I have a 4 quart slow cooker so I do 2/3's of a batch which fills it up just right. Seasoned cans of black-eyed peas (like Glory or Luck's) add a noticeable amount more flavor - so if using unseasoned/unsalted black-eyed peas, you may want to compensate by adding more salt and possibly some bacon or additional ham (you also may want more salt if you are using reduced sodium broth). I often use turkey ham instead of regular ham and it still tastes great (it is cheaper and low fat). My husband has never enjoyed black-eyed pea dishes on New Year's prior to this recipe and actually asks for this one multiple times throughout the year.

      I like to cut up the ham and all of the veggies the day before, so I can simply throw it all in the crock pot in the morning. It made for a very relaxing way to start out the New Year. This will continue to be my New Year's Day tradition!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      This is really very good New Year's Day recipe. The recipe was cut in half as I have an old original size crock pot. 1/2 of this recipe makes almost a full small pot, and it only needs to cook 3-4 hours at most.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      Actually, I agree about the amount of thyme but I enjoyed the dish. Never had collards in hoppin' john before and liked the addition. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Great! and very easy. Made as directed including Glory brand black-eyed peas. Cooked 6 hours on low in my large oval crockpot. Loved that it contained collard greens, but very surprised that all of my picky kids ate and enjoyed it (even the two who complained before they tasted it). Served with cholula and Louisiana hot sauces and PaulaG's sourdough cornbread for New Year's Day. Will make this again next year. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      We've enjoyed this Hoppin' John recipe every New Years Day for several years now. Even the kids eat it up. I searched for a long time to find the perfect recipe, this is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2013

      This turned out good. The family liked and will freeze the leftovers as it made a lot. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Left out the celery, but otherwise made it exactly as suggested and LOVED it! This was our first Hoppin' John, and will likely be our only recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I tried this recipe for New Year's Day & I was a little disappointed, sorry. The carrots did not cook all the way through and the other meat & veg cooked too much and lost their flavor. Next time I'll try this recipe in a large fry pan so I can control it better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Fabulous! Used frozen purple hull peas with snaps, left out the carrot and celery (picky kids), and substituted Conecuh sausage for the ham, then cooked on the stove top. Cut back on the thyme a little and added salt, pepper, and a little more red pepper. Nice big pot of food and amazing as leftovers the next day. Thanks for sharing, Carole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Delish!! I love it just the way it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Yummmmm!! Super easy and just great! We made this on the stovetop since we got a late start cooking. Only other changes we made were to throw in some sausage; also, we didn't have any celery on hand. The thyme and red pepper flakes season this dish just perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I made this a while back. It was really good, but I think next time I will cut back on the amount of thyme.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      wow, this was a really easy, really good recipe for hoppin' john. i tweaked it a little, used cubed turkey canadian bacon instead of ham, used celery salt instead of sliced celery and it was still delicious. My husband who does not like collard greens loved it. I did not make it for New Years Day, in Pennsylvania whre I lived (edited 1/28/08, sigh) pork and sauerkraut and mashed potatoes are the traditional dish. But, this will definitely be a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I am not a black eyed pea fan and I HATE collard greens, but my love for my spouse tempted me to try this dish. It is wonderful! I can't believe how much I liked it! My inlaws raved over it and took home leftovers. I used left over honey baked ham, left out the carrots and used extra celery. I cooked it on the stove, not in a crock pot. I served it over rice, like I would red beans. It will be a staple in our house. I am going to buy a honey baked ham and freeze it in portions to have on hand anytime I want to throw this together. I really think the sweet ham and greens together was an awsome combination. It was even better left over. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      VERY easy & VERY good! Hoppin John is a New Year's Day tradition in our family-can't ring in the New Year without a chance at good luck(black eyed peas), good health (ham or ham hock) and financial success (the greens)!! I also reduced the thyme and thought it was great that way, but probably would have liked it just as well with the called for amount too. The slow cooker is what makes this recipe better than others-no fussing over the stove. Just toss it all in & get back to your party!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      Great dish, Carole. I dearly love both peas and greens, but, never thought about combining them. This is a simple, easy to understand and use recipe. A definite keeper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow cooker Hoppin' John

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.1
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    11%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 14.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 906.4 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 14.3 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites